We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“??” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Warner Robins, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“??”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

I was very pleased with the hotel and the staff member that did serve me as I checked in. He was very cordial and gave me the best rate he could. I did have problems with the slow internet in the lobby as I did not desire to take my laptop out and set it up to do some work.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Walter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    142
    74
    39
    16
See reviews for
139
183
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shell Knob
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

This had to be one of the best experiences we have had at a best western hotel. The bed was plush with 5 pillows. Immaculately clean! Room quiet. Maggie the attendant at breakfast was very sweet & helpful. This was a enlarged breakfast menu. Maggie kept the dining room very clean.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 60slover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is a big property, several buildings. When we arrived, half the parking lot was roped off since they had just done asphalt. So parking was an issue. We were in town for the Route 66 festival, which seemed to be a big deal bringing tourists to the town, which they need, and the pool was still not open for the season? Two stories, outside access, no elevator. The room was clean, and had been updated, but the cleaning solution smell was overwhelming! All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. This was our first experience with having to go to the front desk and get a voucher to eat breakfast in the morning, The breakfast was very good, lots of hot choices, biscuits and gravy, hash browns, sausage, eggs. We were here two nights, overall a good visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbk117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

The price of the was a great value for the level of accommodations provided.. The breakfast always has a great variety of hot and cold foods. The rooms were spacious and clean like all Best Western locations. Too bad the pool was closed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

The staff hands down deserves 5 stars. They were welcoming and accommodating. The rooms however leave little to be desired. They appeared clean just run down. Beds were lumpy and worn out. Pillows flat. Noise of the highway and people opening and shutting doors. ALL. NIGHT. Left us weary travelers even more haggard for the next days drive. The pool is closed and in repair so if you are lucky to have a room overlooking the pool you will hear them working away on it. The bathroom was similar to one that you would find at a truck stop or fast food restaurant. Not very inviting. Breakfast was also decent. It's your typical reconstituted eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, hash browns, the ever popular belgian waffles, along with a few cereal selections, yogurts, juices, milk and coffee. The internet/wifi was an absolute joke and really didn't work at all. Apparently it was due to the rain the day before?! If you are in dire need for a hotel and everything else is booked then I suppose it will do in a pinch but I would not recommend this particular property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Easy access from the interstate. Had made reservation ahead of visit directly with the motel. Check in was a breeze, staff very professional and helpful, facilities very clean, room immaculate. Hot breakfast was very good. Highly recommend this facility.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stopped here without a reservation on a trip across the southwest. It looked clean and was right off the highway. Staff was helpful and we were wanting a pool for the kids to play in but they said the pool was closed for renovation. We opted to go ahead and stay even though the pool was closed. Wish the hotel could have opted to remodel the pool in the offseason not the summer when people will be coming with children who want to swim. The room we were given was down a dark open air hallway (even in the daylight) and clear at the back of the complex. The hall was not very well lit even at night. Room was adaquate at best. We had to turn in coupons for breakfast in the morning to show we were actually staying at the hotel and the breakfast was your typical hotel free breakfast with biscuits and runny gravy, fruit and dry cereal. Overall, stay here if you need an average place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the front of the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HPDRoy711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#5 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#9 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 22 in Tucumcari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#11 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
Address: 200 E Estrella Ave, Tucumcari, NM 88401-4227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Discovery Hotel Tucumcari
Best Western Tucumcari
Tucumcari Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing