We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quite place for the night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Discovery Inn
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Rockport, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Nice quite place for the night”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

The room was very large - I've had smaller apartments when I was single. The room was quite and comfortable. There is a steak restaurant next door, a McDonald's near, and I had a great cheese and green chili burger. The hotel is easy to get to and easy back on the highway, but there was no highway noise.
Met the owner at breakfast- very nice people who were eager to show off their property. The owers and the manager made the overnight stay enjoyable.
Nice hotel and enjoyable staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solar-sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    166
    82
    41
    16
See reviews for
176
202
36
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Retired Traveler
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Older motel, but clean with large rooms. It is just off the freeway. Nice exercise room with weight machine. Free hot breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel twice in a 2-week period for a total of 5 days. This was a great hotel in a small New Mexico town. The room(s) were very clean and roomy. Each time we came, although the outside temperatures were above 100, the rooms greeted us with cool air! So nice to come into the room! The breakfast is served near the check in area and was nicely handled by two ladies that kept the coffee coming and food neat and full. We have stayed at 2 other hotels in Tucumcari in the past and would not return to them as this one was perfect! Best hotel within 30 miles of Conchas Lake/Dam area. There is a K-Bobs restaurant right in the parking lot.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2go4world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

This was a great hotel for the price. Room was comfortable and clean. Nice to find a good hotel in a more out-of-the way place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

A fine place to stay while passing through Tucumcari.

The room was your typical motel layout, with two double beds, TV, bathroom, etc. It is just off I-40, along with several other motel properties; we picked this because when we called ahead from our cell phone, they said they had a ground floor room available (which was important with all our luggage and Christmas packages) at a decent rate.

We slept very well; in fact, we woke up too late to take advantage of any breakfast offering, so can't comment on that. However, if we were needing a place to stay in Tucumcari again, we'd be happy to stay here.

Tucumcari itself was a bit odd: clearly still alive but with many vacant lots and old abandoned Route 66 motels in the center of town. There is some kind of civic art project to paint murals on city buildings; we got a map in the hotel lobby and spent an hour or so driving around town to check them out before moving on towards Texas. Some are very interesting and creative, we recommend it if you have the time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

What a dump. Poor front desk courtesy. Room was dirty. Found trash from previous guest. Lights over the bed inoperable. No hot water. Best Western needs to drop this location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2010

My daughter and I were traveling cross country, bringing her back to California from graduate school. We picked up a coupon book at a gas station and saw the coupon for this hotel in Tucumcari. We called, they said they had rooms and would honor the coupon. We arrived at 10:00 at night. Check in was easy and quick. The room was next to the freeway, on the ground floor, but very quiet. Very large room!!

Continental hot breakfast was great -more than the usual danish and juice - it had hot items. We'll probably never be back in Tucumcari, but it you are passing through, this is a great place to stop for a clean and well appointed room.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGlinzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 22 in Tucumcari
246 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 22 in Tucumcari
225 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 22 in Tucumcari
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Discovery Inn

Property: Best Western Discovery Inn
Address: 200 E Estrella Ave, Tucumcari, NM 88401-4227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Discovery Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Discovery Hotel Tucumcari
Best Western Tucumcari
Tucumcari Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing