We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Absolutely NOT recommended under present ownership” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tucumari Inn

Tucumari Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tucumari Inn
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
High Desert
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely NOT recommended under present ownership”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

The new owner is very rude. Key to room would not work (regular key, not a key card) I could not easily check out room condition, directly, that another member of our travelling party found.

At dinner, another member of our travelling party told me, that:

Dust puffs up in a cloud when walking on carpet.
Hole in walls.
No air conditioning (or cooling)
No water in pool (May in Tucumcari is not winter.)
He described the room as filthy.
He described the owner as nasty and rude.
The member did not stay.

I refused to stay and the owner refused to cancel my credit card charge.

This owner needs to either completely rework his business model or get out of the business.

I Absolutely Don't Recommend Any Consideration Of Staying At The Tucumcari Inn Under The Present Ownership!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Rude owner, filthy facility
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoundOfFreedom9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
1
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

I just read the other review from July 2007 and would have to agree - to some extent. The front sign said "American owned", but there was a language barrier we definitely had a great deal of difficulty with. The room we found to be fairly clean, non-smelly, beds so-so comfy, shower worked good, not to noisy and no bugs to be found, and the pool was found in decent condition. And after some difficulty communicating with the front desk, we were able to use the internet that was advertised on the front sign. We did not take part in the breakfast that was advertised - when I turned in the key at 9AM all the containers in the lobby were empty. Definitely not worth what we paid - the sign said $26.95 when we pulled in and we were charged much more when we booked online. Front desk explanation was that the $26.95 was for a single person/single bed. Would not recommend if staying for more than12 hours.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WIMANDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tucumcari hotels

lewisville, texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

This motel is under new (non-American) ownership. The experience is far from what previous travelers have had now that the property has changed hands. I'll keep this short and sweet, I booked two rooms, both non-smoking smelled strongly of smoke, sheets did not appear changed, bugs on the ceiling, dirty bathroom, dirty, dusty, smelly A/C, bathroom window would not latch, shower/bathtub would not drain, when asked for a room that didn't smell like smoke we were given a bottle of spray, continental breakfast consisted of a piece of toast and a small cup of orange juice doled out by the attendant/owner?. I could probably go on. Hope to save future travelers from visiting this property.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dsekishiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

First off, this was the only Amercian owned motel in the whole town that I could find. The place was very clean and well kept. The guy who ran the place was very friendly and overall the price was right! I can't see paying an outrageous price just to sleep somewhere, this place was just right for me! I had a great night's rest, and in the morning there was a continental breakfast and I was back on the road! I would definitly stay there again, and most of all recommend it to others.

  • Liked — The price was right, and the rooms were great!
  • Disliked — Nothing at all!
  • Tips/Secrets — Look for the independently owned motels/hotels, they usually have the better deals!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank j_mac8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2004

This is your basic motel on the main drag through town. Although there aren't a lot of extras here, the place is clean, well maintained, and you feel safe in the rooms. Also, it is the only budget motel in town that I know of that has a swimming pool. The pool is clean too. If you only need a place to sleep for the night, this is the place to stay.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#11 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
1.5 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#9 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#5 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 572 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tucumari Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucumari Inn

Property: Tucumari Inn
Address: 1700 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-4317
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Tucumari Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucumari Hotel Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing