We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Disappointment in Tucumcari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Reviewed October 15, 2013

After reviewing hotel possibilities in Tucumcari, and with our usual confidence level with the Holiday Inn Express brand, we booked a room here.

The check-in process was "neutral", neither good nor bad. We were not acknowledged as Priority Club members, not a big deal, but they are supposed to do that.

The room on the second floor had one nightstand ... we called and asked for a room with two nightstands and two lamps, and was told all rooms in the hotel are of this configuration. The innkeeper asked if there was anything else ... Told him the room was dark ... He asked if there was anything else ... I gave up.

The furnishings and carpet appear dated, and the sofa was full of dust across the back of it. Actually, the entire room seemed a bit dusty, and tired. It did have a refrigerator and microwave and tiny bar area.

The WiFi was easy to connect and responsive but repeatedly caused us to re-login ... very irritating. We also heard the sounds of automatically opening doors (probably the front door of the hotel) all night ... Like thunder in the distance.

At breakfast, we asked for the traditional Holiday Inn Express cinnamon rolls. We were told they "ran out yesterday". The scrambled eggs resembled yellow pellets. The coffee was good. Overall, not a memorable breakfast.

On checkout they had no record that I had even checked in. WHAT? It took 10 minutes to get it straight; they did give me a reduced rate for their problem.

We would not return to this hotel ... It was a reminder that Holiday Inn still has a problem with consistency in its brands. One good stay does not equate to an equally good stay in their next property.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadTripAmericans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear RoadsideVisions,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 309 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way home from a southwest vacation. The hotel is very clean and quiet....a bit too quiet for me though. I wish the air conditioner/heating unit had a setting for constant fan. The unit turns off and on during the night and it was a bit hard for me to sleep. It probably wouldn't bother most people though.

Room Tip: If you are like me and need background noise to sleep; bring a fan with you. I forgot mine this tri...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golfinmimi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reccaP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you taking the time and giving us your feedback
it is appreciated. We hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just a fine place to stay when driving through on I 40. The staff are thoughtful and considerate. I left a good and expensive pillow there. Margaret,, the manager, saw to it that it was returned. She actually took it to the post office and mailed it to me before I reembursed her for the expenses. Very trusting. She must be sweetheart. Even if that was the only reason, we will be stopping there again as we frequent our trips through the southwest. Thanks Margaret.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjg207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reccaP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Your comments are much appreciated. We strive to make every experience an unique special one. Our guest are top priority and we hope to see you in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very friendly staff, clean comfortable room, nice breakfast area. I ask for a room with newer linens and was told the room linens haven't been replaced for a year in all rooms. Sheets were showing signs of that, but still clean comfortable bed. Bathroom door paint peeling off at bottom.

Room Tip: Third floor was very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reccaP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.
We strive to make every stay a positive one. We look forward to
seeing you in the future.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The room was clean and quite. The check in went fast and efficient with a friendly clerk checking us in. We got a good night sleep and a little something to eat before we hit the road. It was everything we expected.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vip1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reccaP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

We are pleased your stay was what you expected. Our guest are our top
priority. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The lady attending the breakfast bar was rude, & the food (comparing to other HI's) was sub standard... She stood in fromt tof the hot food & talked to a friend while 3 of us were waiting to get our food. Gave me a dirty look when I suggested we were waiting

Room Tip: Eat breakfast elsewhere
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregAliceSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reccaP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay with us.
We strive to provide our guest with the best service
possible; however this time we fell short. Please accept our
sincerest apology. We hope you will give us another opportunity to make
it right.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

On the way to Santa Fe Opera Festival I decided to save by staying a bit cheaper before our splurge in downtown Santa Fe. I always liked the name Tucumcari and the fact that it's a railroad town located on the old Route 66.

We had a nice large room with a sitting area and two flat screen TVs. The bathroom was adequate with OK amenities. Biggest complaint was they use the energy saver bulbs so it was too dark to read anywhere in the suite which is a bit annoying on Sunday as the New York Times is big.

Breakfast wasn't as good as at some other hotels in the same chain, but they did have the pancake making machine! Press a button and two nicely browned cakes come rolling out.

Desk clerk was very helpful as he sent us to dinner at a quirky little place with a talking robotic alligator!

Coin laundry was useful on a long roadie. Gym barely functional but that's no surprise. I'd stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanoiIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reccaP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we hope your trip
into our town was enjoyable as well as your stay at our hotel.
We appreciate your feedback and hope you will visit us in the future,

Thank you,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 23 in Tucumcari
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 23 in Tucumcari
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 23 in Tucumcari
262 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 23 in Tucumcari
230 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 23 in Tucumcari
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari

Address: 2624 S Adams St, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range: $135 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel in Tucumcari- NM Boasts Premium Amenities Enjoy comfort at the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari near historic Route 66. Families will love lodging in Tucumcari- NM- located just off I-40- between Amarillo- TX and Albuquerque- NM. We offer close proximity to Mesalands Community College- the NMSU Ag-Science Center and many local attractions- including the Mesalands Dinosaur Museum- the Tucumcari Historical Museum and Ute Lake State Park. Other nearby activities include the Tucumcari Municipal Golf Course and the beautiful and historic downtown area. Business travelers are often impressed by our comfortable accommodations near historic Route 66 in New Mexico. Situated in downtown Tucumcari- our hotel is convenient to the Tucumcari Convention Center and the Tucumcari Municipal Airport. Nearby companies include Wells Fargo Banking- Comcast and Interstate Trucking- so you don't have to worry about being late to a meeting. In addition- our Tucumari hotel provides a Business Center with a fax machine- copier- printer- computer and free high-speed Internet access for your convenience. While lodging in Tucumcari- NM- you can enjoy premium amenities- which include an indoor pool- a dry sauna- a fun game room with a pool table and big screen TV and a lovely garden retreat where you can relax. Book your reservation now to enjoy our great Tucumcari hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Tucumcari
Holiday Inn Express Tucumcari
Holiday Inn Tucumcari
Tucumcari Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing