We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rte. 66 Treasure”
Review of Blue Swallow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Swallow Motel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at the Blue Swallow Inn on July 18, 2014, and what a wonderful experience it was! Cameron and Jessica couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating! First of all, our room, No. 10, was wonderful - everything was immaculate and brought back memories of travels with my parents on Rte. 66. The chenille bedspreads, the furniture, the rotary phone, etc. were perfect! Also, Cameron kept the gift shop open late for us so we could shop, and shop we did! Wonderful remembrances of times past were plentiful! If you are ever in Tucumcari, or anywhere near, the Blue Swallow Inn is a treasure that shouldn't be missed!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bjneal1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,823)
There are newer reviews for Blue Swallow Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

870 - 876 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very sweet motel! Makes you feel like you've gone back in time. The rooms were clean and classically decorated and we loved sitting outside on are little porch relaxing. This hotel has been renovated but be aware it is still very quaint. The rooms are small and cozy, and the bathroom is 1930s true with updated hardware. I loved the antique door handles, old windows, and basic architecture but it won't be right for everyone. This is not a luxury hotel or reliable old Hampton Inn. But if you want the experience of stepping back in time, I couldn't recommend a more charming place!

Room Tip: The family suite connects room 7 and 8 if you want separate bedrooms. You can also request a room w...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KadyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great stay in a quaint little town. Nothing fancy but clean and welcoming. Ate at Del's Diner which was very good as well. Would definitely recommend! Owners are great people and fun to visit with. Beds were comfortable. The only negative was low shower pressure but all in all, great place to stay.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Jmill0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is one of the nicest places on Route 66. It has working antique phones and all the touches that make it comfortable and nostalgic. It is exceptionally clean with luxurious beds, linens and towels. They've added a guest services area with a washer and dryer at a very fair rate. Nancy and Kevin frequently host s'mores get togethers and their dogs are sweet greeters. They whole family is passionate about the hotel and it's place in Route 66 history. The chenille swallow bedspreads make the rooms, giving them a feel of home.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NRMedlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Great trip down memory lane! The chenille swallow bedspreads are iconic! Very clean, lovely family run business, Cameron was fabulous with my 3 year old grandson. The couple running the motel could not have been more friendly or helpful. Worth the stop! Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendastarr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We were very excited to stay here, given the history and nostalgia of this town. The owners are excited about their guests, willing to help out with questions and other concerns. We had a package sent and they were glad to have it picked up from the post office and ready for us.

The motel itself is a step back into the past, with vintage mid-century accoutrement. To that end, visitors need to understand that the facilities were built many years ago, and will not be like large rooms at hotels today. They are cozy, comfortable, and pleasant.

The neon of the hotel is in excellent working order, unlike many other places in town, and it is beautiful.

The room prices are higher than most others, but for the care, quality, and service, it was worth it.

We will stay here again on our way through in the future.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Lauronious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Linda and Kevin were great hosts. They welcomed us, showed us our room and told us about the history of our room and the motel. I wound up with a flat tire after dinner and Kevin helped me get air back in the tire and to a service station the next morning, only a few blocks away. The gift shop is great too and the coffee is always on! A wonderful place to visit and relive part of the not so distant past! We will definitely stay here again when we travel Rt. 66!

Room Tip: Book Early. The Motel is in demand!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 23 in Tucumcari
720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 23 in Tucumcari
262 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 23 in Tucumcari
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 23 in Tucumcari
230 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Swallow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Motel

Address: 815 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3143
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range: $65 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Try something different tonight! Travel just a short distance away from the I-40 off-ramp to experience the best of the past, with old-fashioned hospitality that is all too rare these days. The Blue Swallow Motel is a classic Motor Court established in 1939 on historic Route 66, and one of few anywhere still operating in its original configuration. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but retain an authentic feel from the heyday of route 66 travel. Premium creature comforts including ultra-comfortable mattresses, spa-like towels, and Desert Breeze organic shampoo, soap, and lotion. Many of the rooms include a garage to make you feel more at home while you are on the road, and these are perfect for parking your motorcycle or classic car for the night. All rooms are non-smoking. One of the best neon displays on Route 66! Come spend a memorable night and experience the home-style hospitality of a bygone era at the Blue Swallow Motel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Hotel Tucumcari
Blue Swallow Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing