We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ending to crazy vacation”
Review of Blue Swallow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Swallow Motel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night in the Lillian Redman suite. The owners were very personable and gave us a tour of the room when we arrived. This is something special; clawfoot tub in it's own nook with a separate bathroom and shower. There was a complimentary bottle of wine and bath salts. The bed was great and the kids slept in the other room on the sofa bed, which was high quality too. If only we could have stayed here our whole vacation, cruzin the blvd, eating at Del's - I probably wouldn't have ended up in an emergency room in Texas, but that another story.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank dslar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

So glad you found rest in the Redman Suite, and that you enjoyed your stay in Tucumcari! We hope you will stop again when your travels bring you this way, and that future vacations don't include that trip to the emergency room!

Thanks again,

Kevin & Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,824)
There are newer reviews for Blue Swallow Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

935 - 941 of 1,824 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

After spending the first night of our western Route 66 adventure at The Big Texan in Amarillo, TX (cute and very stereotypical "Texan", but NOT vintage Route 66), we experienced some of the best The Mother Road has to offer at The Blue Swallow! Kevin, the current owner, greeted us warmly and walked us to our room to make sure it was "acceptable". And was it ever! Beautifully restored cozy room with period furnishings, signature chenille bedspread, art deco lamps, vintage rotary phone and a spotless bathroom! The entire property is a testament of how Kevin and his wife, Nancy, have fallen in love with Route 66 and embraced everything that it once was and continues to stand for.

There are vintage cars parked around the property to enhance the nostalgia of a time gone by. The little garages attached to many of the units are decorated with creative and whimsical murals - some with "Cars" movie characters or other appropriate Route 66 scenes. There are vintage metal patio chairs outside each unit that encourage sitting out at the end of the day to share your Route 66 experiences with other guests while enjoying a cool beverage you've stored in the community fridge.

My husband and I have stayed in other "vintage" Route 66 properties. Some were doing a pretty good job of bringing back what they once were while others sadly were just tired and "old"! The Muellers have obviously poured their hearts and souls into their new found passion (having walked away from corporate life to purchase the Blue Swallow and relocate to Tucumcari!) and have provided something special for those of us who remember what small town hospitality in an earlier time was like.

If you want to experience Route 66 at it's best, don't miss the chance to stay with Kevin and Nancy at the Blue Swallow! But be prepared to share some of Nancy's fresh homemade muffins served daily in the lobby with Beggin' Bessie, their beautiful and friendly golden retriever! Make your reservations early - word is spreading and there are only 12 rooms of varying sizes and configurations available! Now go get your "kicks on Route 66"!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Blue Swallow! I will tell Bessie you said hello!

Thanks again for your kind and supportive words! We appreciate it very much.

Sincerely,

Kevin & Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just wanted to add another compliment to the owners of the Blue Swallow. We purposely planned our trip so we'd be able to stop in Tucumcari and stay there again, (as well as get another great breakfast at Kix on 66 just down the street). Not disappointed! It's comfortable and everything one needs for an overnight- plus just darn fun! Had been 2 years since our first stay and we'll be back, maybe in another two or so- whenever we're head west! Thanks, again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We chose the Blue Swallow motel because of the reviews on Tripadvisor, it was actually the #1 rated motel in Tucumcari. We're glad we tried it once, it was a cute experience, but we probably won't stay here again. We had reservations, and arrived after a long driving day. The owners are very friendly, and, without asking, they showed us our room (#3) before charging our credit card. The room was clean, but it was the size of a closet and had that strong disinfectant smell that never dispersed. While the queen bed was comfortable, the room had thin walls, tiny bathroom, and an old fashioned TV. You could hear the traffic from the street, and the people in the next room.

The owners gave us very good advise on local restaurants, and when we arrived back after dinner, the bright neon lights were really authentic - looked just like Radiator Springs. The office offered Route 66 and Blue Swallow Motel gift selections - T-shirts, postcards, etc. Friendly "Bessie" the golden retriever was on hand to greet guests, but was very well behaved.

There were apparently fresh muffins and coffee in the morning, but we had to get on the road before the 6:30 am breakfast time. If you're looking for an historic Route 66 experience, choose the Blue Swallow. I know, it's the way motels used to be, but we just prefer a more modern room with better internet connections and a bit more walking around room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

We appreciate that you have acknowledge that a vintage place like the Blue Swallow isn't for you. Thankfully, thousands of others have found it to be a comfortable, quiet, restful and unique place to spend a night or two.

Sincerely,

Kevin & Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Once again Nancy and Kevin provided true hospitality with a personal touch. The owners run the motel and they care. For the second time a large thunderstorm chased us across the country and the Blue Swallow was our destination. I had failed to use the handy online booking system to get a confirmed booking in advance and as luck would have it they were booked when we got in. Without hesitation they found me a clean room for our fist night and confirmed their best suite for our second night in town. The next morning we were welcomed to coffee and a muffin at their motel and Nancy offered us an excellent set of suggestions for a day trip in the area. All of the destinations were interesting as was the excellent dinner suggestion. The suite we used that evening was perfect vintage authenticity and very clean. I loved the tiled shower and authentic fixtures, my wife enjoyed the original style tub. Perfect at the end of a long day on the road while another thunderstorm put on an all night show outside. Well done family owned and operated vintage Route 66 experience.

Room Tip: Use the handy website booking feature to reserve and stay a day in Tucumcari to visit local attracti...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Found the blue swallow while making cross country plans. I was so excited to get there! The owners are wonderful and the motel is amazing! It felt like a step back in time! We sat outside out room and had dinner waiting for the sunset. I wish we had time to stay more than 1 night

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tat2jenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We found out the Blue Swallow has a world wide reputation. During our one night stay, we spoke to people from Australia, Germany, and the Netherlands. I never realized Route 66 was so popular with the foreign tourists, but we did know the Blue Swallow is an icon of a bygone era. We were there on a nice night in May and several people took the opportunity to photograph the neon sign. Not all the photographers were staying there, not because they didn't want to, but because there were no vacancies. It's true, the rooms are smaller than the usual chain hotel rooms and there's not a continental breakfast with powdered scrambled eggs and microwaved sausage etc. but that's not the way it was in 1939. So.....if you appreciate life in the slow lane, want to see some of Route 66, meet some world travelers and see an icon then stop and stay awhile at the Blue Swallow.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 23 in Tucumcari
721 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 23 in Tucumcari
262 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 23 in Tucumcari
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 23 in Tucumcari
230 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Swallow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Motel

Address: 815 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3143
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range: $65 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Try something different tonight! Travel just a short distance away from the I-40 off-ramp to experience the best of the past, with old-fashioned hospitality that is all too rare these days. The Blue Swallow Motel is a classic Motor Court established in 1939 on historic Route 66, and one of few anywhere still operating in its original configuration. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but retain an authentic feel from the heyday of route 66 travel. Premium creature comforts including ultra-comfortable mattresses, spa-like towels, and Desert Breeze organic shampoo, soap, and lotion. Many of the rooms include a garage to make you feel more at home while you are on the road, and these are perfect for parking your motorcycle or classic car for the night. All rooms are non-smoking. One of the best neon displays on Route 66! Come spend a memorable night and experience the home-style hospitality of a bygone era at the Blue Swallow Motel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Hotel Tucumcari
Blue Swallow Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing