We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Swallow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Swallow Motel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was our first trip to Tucumcari with our destination as the Blue Swallow Motel. Kevin and Nancy were great hosts for our large Motorcycle group, taking us on a local day trip, then visiting and cooking out around the fire pit. Kevin pointed out the local murals theme painted from the 1950s and 1960s all around Tucumcari. We will be back for another trip in the future and look forward to many more days and nights at the Blue Swallow on Route 66. P.S. Kevin is great with the camera, as you can see on their Facebook page of the worldly guest that make the Blue Swallow their destination on Route 66.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,486
    179
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
425
781
149
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
352 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Kevin and Nancy have done a great job of beautifying and promoting this classic motor court. It's colorful and welcoming (not to mention that wonderful neon sign) with clean, comfortable rooms (we especially enjoyed the chenille bedspread with a blue swallow in the center). You can park your car in the garage attached to your room. In the morning Nancy serves coffee and homemade muffins in the office where there's also a gift shop with many thoughtful and interesting items to buy. This motel is on the National Register of Historic Places.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by on our way to Phoenix. We found that it lived up to the reviews. Clean and neat and Quiet, and we slept like a log. We went
to Del's for dinner which also was excellent. Most definitely would stop again. It is a quaint town of a bygone area

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank flowpwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a great motel and is loaded with history. Kevin and Nancy are outstanding owners of this fine motel and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and really enjoy sharing the experience of staying in an classic motor court. We were on a motorcycle trip and had booked 3 rooms. One of the couples got there early and Kevin and Nancy (who also ride) took them to a spot on Old 66 that is the midpoint of the highway. The motel is very clean with comfortable beds and they even have garages next to the rooms. Several of the other older motels nearby are closed but because of their hard work they are thriving and were completely full and had to turn people away. This is how a successful business is run. You won't be disappointed with staying here and I would strongly recommend making reservations otherwise you might lose out. We will definitely stay here again and are telling all of our friends about this great place. Thanks again for a great stay.

Room Tip: We had the family suite and it worked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panhead64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We didn't stay at this motel, but we did have the fortunate opportunity to speak with the owners when we stopped at the motel to enjoy the character it possessed. The little souvenir shop at the entrance had great little curios. The manager was a wealth of information on Route 66 and the highlights to see around town. If you get the chance to call in and the motel guests have left. Then check out the garages, the murals are just great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hope you can stay with us for a magical night under the neon on your next Route 66 adventure!

Thanks for visiting,

Kevin & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Kevin and Nancy were so welcoming to their little piece of Route 66 living history.
The room was clean and furnished in a manner we expected of this iconic remnant of the heyday of the Mother Road.
We are so glad that we stayed there.
Highly recommended.
Long may it continue to provide a pleasant stopover for travellers on the great USA road trip.
Pete & Bren from the UK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteG58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
So happy you made the Blue Swallow part of your trip! As Lillian Redman, long-time owner used to say (and part of the "Blue Swallow Benediction" found in each room):

We are all travelers. From "birth till death" we travel between the eternities. May these days be pleasant for you, profitable for society, helpful for those you meet, and a joy to those you know and love best.

Thank you,

Kevin & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Excellent hotel, very retro and great owners! Our experience is still being told and recommended to others a year later. The town is going through a growth period and still likes tourists. Very Route 66ish. This is a stop you will not regret!

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dusty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#5 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#8 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 22 in Tucumcari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Swallow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Motel

Property: Blue Swallow Motel
Address: 815 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3143
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BREAK THE CHAIN! Travel just a short distance away from the I-40 off-ramp to experience the best of the past, with old-fashioned hospitality that is all too rare these days. The Blue Swallow Motel is a classic Motor Court established in 1939 on historic Route 66, and one of few anywhere still operating in its original configuration. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but retain an authentic feel from the heyday of route 66 travel. Premium creature comforts including wonderful mattresses, spa-like towels, and Desert Breeze organic shampoo, soap, and lotion. Most rooms include a garage to make you feel more at home while you are on the road, and these are perfect for parking your motorcycle or classic car for the night. All rooms are non-smoking. One of the best neon displays on Route 66! Come spend a memorable night and experience the home-style hospitality of a bygone era at the Blue Swallow Motel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Hotel Tucumcari
Blue Swallow Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing