We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Route 66 Trip”
Review of Blue Swallow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Swallow Motel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our Route 66 Trip”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Blue Swallow was one of the best stops we had on route 66, Kevin & Nancy are very friendly & helpful, it was a real pleasure to meet them. If you are travelling on Route 66 or just travelling make sure you add this to your list, it is great to sit outside you room at sunset & talk to the other guests. We stayed in the Lillian Redman suite, it had everything you need, including a separate vintage bath, they even give you free Wi-Fi, which most big hotels in the USA charge for on a daily basis, the coffee & muffins in the morning were delicious. We would recommend this motel to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,571
    187
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
454
826
156
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Don't be scared of staying at an "OLD" place! This place has the best mattress of all the MANY hotels I have slept in, and also has the best sheets ever. It's immaculate. In the room, it's fun to see all the old stuff from my childhood, like a rotary dial phone, and old magazines from the year I graduated, chenille bedspreads and quirky lamps. The room is so quiet, not like a busy hotel with doors shutting all down the hall. We met interesting people from other states and countries, all trekking across Route 66, The Mother Road. The owners, Kevin and Nancy, are so friendly, and very concerned that your stay is great. They even provide an old 1950's PINK "community refrigerator" for the guests to store their cool items. Cool art murals in the garage spaces, where our car was covered all night. I stayed here as a girl, and so fun to re-visit it just as I remembered it. Also, go eat at the Pow Wow Restaurant down the street, good food and great art murals all over.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We loved this little hotel.
It reminded me of staying at grandma's house, except I didn't smell grandpas chewing tobacco!!! What great memories those were. Anyway - this place is so clean and unique that you have to stay here to get a woefully nostalgic experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

On our route 66 trip we stayed at the blue swallow ... it was a great place to stay, especially liked the chairs outside the door where you could just sit and chat with your neighbours or watch the world drive by. The rooms are very clean and the bed very comfortable, the managers very friendly. We loved it and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to tell people about your experience at the Blue Swallow. We feel that the sence of community here each night is one of the things that makes a stay here memorable. Meeting people from around the world and relaxing under the glow of the neon is a very unique experience, and we are glad you enjoyed it.

Hope you will come again!

Happy Trails,

Kevin & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ah now you're talking, best place to stay on Route 66! This place is absolutely wonderful, great looking building, lovingly restored, friendly owners and great for photos! The motel really does have something for everyone, there are several classic cars in the grounds, a friendly dog and cat for the animal lovers and even the guests who were also staying there that night could not have made us feel more welcome (You know who you are!) There is parking right outside each room and if you want it you can rent a garage for your prized vehicle (Check out the murals if you get a chance). So why wait? Next time you are on 66, you must stay here!

Room Tip: (Re above) There is no fitness centre and pool (Not a criticism just nowhere to put this in review...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voodoochilled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Peters, MO
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Kevin and Nancy were wonderful hosts. When we got there, there was a mixup in the dates I had booked, but they made sure we had a room.

The hotel is just as it was in the 50's! Lots of fun. If you are expecting luxury it's not for you though.

The only thing I would improve on is the offerings for breakfast. Perhaps a few types of pastries and juice would be nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to tell people about your stay with us!

We don't do a continental breakfast, and don't plan to anytime in the future. Most of those on the road are quite bad, and we prefer to recommend a REAL breakfast place, with people there who do it right, KIX on 66, just three blocks away. We will always have excellent coffee in our lobby, and the muffins are a wonderful home-made (literally, because the motel is our home, too!) treat that we love to surprise our guests with from time-to-time.

Happy Trails,

Kevin & NAncy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a night here on the way home to Las Vegas. We found the place on-line and it looked interesting. The room was clean and comfortable. There was not restaurant, but the owners recommended one down the street that was excellent. We really liked sitting outside and meeting the "neighbors".

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmymac1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
713 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 22 in Tucumcari
520 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#11 of 22 in Tucumcari
229 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Swallow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Motel

Property: Blue Swallow Motel
Address: 815 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3143
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BREAK THE CHAIN! Travel just a short distance away from the I-40 off-ramp to experience the best of the past, with old-fashioned hospitality that is all too rare these days. The Blue Swallow Motel is a classic Motor Court established in 1939 on historic Route 66, and one of few anywhere still operating in its original configuration. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but retain an authentic feel from the heyday of route 66 travel. Premium creature comforts including wonderful mattresses, spa-like towels, and Desert Breeze organic shampoo, soap, and lotion. Most rooms include a garage to make you feel more at home while you are on the road, and these are perfect for parking your motorcycle or classic car for the night. All rooms are non-smoking. One of the best neon displays on Route 66! Come spend a memorable night and experience the home-style hospitality of a bygone era at the Blue Swallow Motel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Hotel Tucumcari
Blue Swallow Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing