We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Blue Swallow experience”
Review of Blue Swallow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Swallow Motel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Blue Swallow experience”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at a number of hotels/motels on our trip along Route 66 and definately one of the best was the Blue Swallow Motel. We whole heartedly suggest that this is a 'must stay' motel and ended up as one of the highlights of the whole holiday. Wonderfully warm welcome and fascinating period room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,550
    186
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
445
819
153
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our stay at the Blue Swallow will forever be one of the most pleasant motel experiences. First of all, the place is a throwback to the glory days of Tucumcari when Route 66 was full of life, cars, trucks, busy businesses and especially neon.
To me, Tucumcari was the "Las Vegas" of Route 66 with all of the neon. So many small motels like the Blue Swallow, The Pony Soldier, The Palomino and others lit up the New Mexican night.
Kevin and Helen have done a great job of making The Blue Swallow a "must stay" on the Mother Highway.
The beds, sheets and pillows are the best. Everything is clean, neat, comfortable and quiet. Helen makes muffins each morning and there's coffee starting at 6:30am.
When we were there, several other guests were just hanging out at dusk, having a beer from the communal throwback refrigerator and enjoying the old 50s style patio furniture outside each door. A real sense of community is pervasive due in part to the welcome style of the Blue Swallow and it's owners.
Kevin and Helen really make one feel comfortable and welcome.
Whenever I'm passing through Tucumcari, I will definitely only stay at The Blue Swallow. But make sure you book the room well in advance because the word is out about this great nostalgic place.

Room Tip: We stayed in two beds room 15 on the end. Kevin has a tractor stored in the garage, but will move it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport/Bossier City, LA
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our FAVORITE on Rt. 66, the Blues Swallow offers charming period rooms at a great price. I am pleased to say I've stayed there through the last 3 owners, and it just keeps getting better. Wonderful neon, great old metal chairs to sit in outside your room to just unwind. A garage for your car along with the room, I always anticipate the stay and feel refreshed when I leave. One of our favorite spots in the natiion!

Room Tip: Just be sure to book in advance as this place is very popular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rouxroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We sure do appreciate you coming back again and again! We're also glad that you can see the improvements we are making, while not losing the historic character and charm that is so special here at the Blue Swallow.

We look forward to your next stay, and until then, "Happy Trails!

Kevin & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

On our move to TX we drove through historic Route 66 to find this little gem of a classic hotel. We felt we were back in the 50's and our stay was comfortable. The room was cozy and clean, and we even had a place for our two dogs. We came in late and they left the key for us so we could get in.The service was excellent and we would highly recommend this spot to anyone. On our way out we checked out and there was a nice little gift shop to pick up some Route 66 stuff. Good times:)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJARUM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Only 12 rooms. But then if you book one you will feel (with a touch of imagination -but is 't that why you are touring Route 66 anyway?-) that you are back in the 50-60 for a night. The Blue Swallow and all Tucumcari is doing it's best for that.
Great job Kevin!

Folks leave also for a minute Route 66 and look at a few other streets of Tucumcari to see what an economic desert the closing of the mother road has created. The touristic business created by guys like Kevin needs to be applauded for that matter also.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Armand L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We really enjoyed meeting you, and glad you enjoyed your stay here.! It is always a pleasure to welcome our guests from other parts of the world, and the night you were here, we had six different countries represented! Simply wonderful.

Thanks again,

Kevin & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on a trip back from Arizona. Quaint, old fashioned motel on the old Route 66. The owners, Kevin and Nancy Mueller, are great people and gave us a good recommendation for dinner at Del's restaurant. The rooms are small as is the bathroom but it is just fun to stay at a place with so much history. Our bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. We stayed over on a night when the temperature was dropping like a rock and Kevin came over to our room to ask us if we were warm enough. They have a nice web site that shows all their rooms so you can pick which one you like (they are all decorated differently). Give them a try next time you are passing through. P.S. If you pay by cash or traveler's check, you will save about $8 on your total bill!

Room Tip: Check out their website to see what one strikes your fancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimbo2h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling through Tucumcari and I looked online and saw the reviews for hotels and restaurants. Thank goodness for this service. We chose the Blue Swallow because of the reviews. When we pulled up and saw it, we were pleasently surprised. We got a tour of the room and And said yes immediately! It was so clean and charming. Having traveled the 66 all of our lives, we were happy to find this place. It is sad that Tucumcari is so boarded up but thank goodness for this gem! We walked a couple of blocks and ate a wonderful dinner at Dels.
The owners truely love this place and its history. They were wonderful to chat with. The room was spotless, the beds were so comfortable and the sheets were awesome! Would definately stay here again! So, so happy!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edeverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
702 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 22 in Tucumcari
246 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 22 in Tucumcari
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 22 in Tucumcari
226 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Swallow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Motel

Property: Blue Swallow Motel
Address: 815 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3143
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BREAK THE CHAIN! Travel just a short distance away from the I-40 off-ramp to experience the best of the past, with old-fashioned hospitality that is all too rare these days. The Blue Swallow Motel is a classic Motor Court established in 1939 on historic Route 66, and one of few anywhere still operating in its original configuration. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but retain an authentic feel from the heyday of route 66 travel. Premium creature comforts including wonderful mattresses, spa-like towels, and Desert Breeze organic shampoo, soap, and lotion. Most rooms include a garage to make you feel more at home while you are on the road, and these are perfect for parking your motorcycle or classic car for the night. All rooms are non-smoking. One of the best neon displays on Route 66! Come spend a memorable night and experience the home-style hospitality of a bygone era at the Blue Swallow Motel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Hotel Tucumcari
Blue Swallow Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing