We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Nostalgic that I like” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Swallow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Swallow Motel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“More Nostalgic that I like”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is way more nostalgic than we liked. There are tiny garages next to each room, but they are so tiny that unless you are driving one of those little smart cars you will have to sleep in your car because you won't be able to open the doors. Good luck finding a parking spot out in the driveway where everyone else is also parked. The floor is so spongy and uneven we felt like we were going to go right through. The walls are so thin we could hear someone snoring in the next room, which kept us up all night. The beds were the most uncomfortable and worst ever, felt like they were over 50 years old. Only thing good about this hotel is the owners who were very nice and helpful. Would not recommend nor will we be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank butterfly52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, and wish you would have brought any concerns to our attention.

As an FYI, none of the mattresses here at the Blue Swallow are more than 2 years old, and they have received great reviews from most guests.

As for the garages, being built in the late 30's/early 40's, they were built for much narrower vehicles. Today, they are a novelty, mostly, but are used nightly by all sorts of vehicles. For example, right now we have guests parked in garages with a Chevy Traverse, Ford Fusion, and Mazda 3 with two bicycles attached to it. None of those are clown-car size, and none of these guests appear to be sleeping in their cars. Enclosed parking at a motel is pretty rare these days, and we are happy to offer this option to those who are able to use it. Parking is normally ample here, but occasionally, we have motorhomes or moving trucks, (especially spring and fall) which do take up more space, and there is a designated parking space for every room.

Thanks for your feedback, and again, we are sorry we were not able to meet your needs on the night of your stay.

Kevin & Nancy
Owners, The Blue Swallow Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,471
    179
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
418
776
147
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eaton, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here on April 1 on are way back to Ohio. Like all the other reviews this motel lives up to what it stands for. It is a walk back in time to when I was a kid and our family made a trip to Florida back in the mid 50's. I remember staying in a motel just like this. It was before they had interstate highways. This motel stills has the old black phone and the 1950's TV. ( they don't work but looks nice) The owners Kevin and Nancy go out of there way to make you feel at home, they even show you the room before you pay for it. My wife Terri and I spend are winters in Arizona and we come through here all the time, we will stay here on are way back next year.

Mark & Terri

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

A charming step back in time. This was our favorite overnight stop on our week long vacation. And the cheapest. The kids loved it. Fun murals in the garage and it looks great with all the neon lights at night. Great service by the owners. I highly recommend this Motel. We plan to come back the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddo Valley, AR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I love the old Highway and have run it from Chicago to Needles in my Corvette. I never go through Tucumcari without planning a stop a the Blue Swallow when I need a place to stay. I have been there during several ownerships and was truly pleased to see that it now is owned by two people who love both the the Motel and Route 66. They are great hosts and made our stay a real pleasure. My wife and her friend, who are artists and avid photographers, took about a million pictures of the place and its beautiful neon. The beds were comfortable and the rooms a pleasure to stay in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnT780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed here for one night with four kids and a dog in room 14. First of all, the owners let you see the room before you pay. That is wonderful! All hotels should do that. The room itself was charming. There is an old time telephone, and even magazines from the 1950's and 60's in the room! I loved the bathroom. The toilet and sink area is tiny but that shower was amazing! It's all original tile (I think) and absolutely gorgeous. The entire place was immaculately clean and smelled fresh. My kids loved the old time TV that is the stand for the more modern TV. There is free wifi and anything you need you can just ask for. The owners have two dogs who are very friendly and a beautiful white cat. There are gorgeous murals in the garages (which are waaay too small for most modern cars, but they're still awesome!) and my kids loved the Cars themed one. There's hot fresh coffee in the lobby in the morning and plenty of local options for dining. I am so glad we stayed here as part of our road trip, which included a lot of route 66 attractions. And the beds were the most comfortable we stayed in during the whole trip. Best night of sleep we had in ten days. I would definitely stay here again if passing through!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SillySallySews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for staying with us, and glad you enjoyed it! We especially appreciate you mentioning "Max" the white cat. This is his first mention on Tripadvisor!

Remember, "From birth 'till death, we are all travelers, traveling between the eternities." - - Lillian Redman, long-time owner of the Blue Swallow Motel.

Happy Trails!

Kevin & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I have been to 47 states and The Blue Swallow is my most favorite motel anywhere in the U.S. Stay here you'll love it!!!!! I have stayed here several times since 1995. It is always extremely clean. No detail is left out. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a theme that's like going back to Route 66 in its heyday. The owners are cheerful. I won't stay anywhere else while I am in Tucumcari because I love my stays at the Blue Swallow and you will too!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dashuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you are planning a trip with stops along old Route 66 you would be remiss if you didn't include an overnight stay at the Blue Swallow Motel in Tucumcari, NM.
We had seen an article in a National Geographic Magazine a few years ago which included reference and pictures of The Blue Swallow Motel and thought at the time if we ever take a trip down Route 66 let's stay there. Well we finally made that trip in March 2013. Our stay at the Blue Swallow was like going back in time. Right from the moment we walked into the motel office we knew we would enjoy our stay. Nancy greeted us very warmly and showed us our room and how things worked. The room was very neat and comfortable. After unloading our car we sat out in front of our unit sipping a glass of wine (Nancy provides real wine glasses) and watched a few old cars cruise by on Route 66. After dinner there was a gathering of some of the guests at a fire pit near the entrance to the property where we shared stories of our travels and cooked marshmallows over the fire. Kevin kept the fire burning so we were very comfortable.
The next morning Kevin had the coffee pot on and served us in REAL coffee mugs - no paper cups at the Blue Swallow.
The whole experience brought back memories of a time when the pace of life wasn't so hectic and we could take the time to relax and smell the roses.
Kevin and Nancy went above and beyond to make our stay most enjoyable.
Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikep2286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Glad your visit brought back good memories! While we don't have s'mores every night, when we do (once a week or so depending on the weather), it is always a special time, as our guests make friends around the campfire, sharing stories of the road, of their home towns, just getting to know one another a little bit.

Thanks for making the Blue Swallow part of your trip!

Happy Trails,

Kevin & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#5 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#8 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 22 in Tucumcari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Swallow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Motel

Property: Blue Swallow Motel
Address: 815 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3143
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BREAK THE CHAIN! Travel just a short distance away from the I-40 off-ramp to experience the best of the past, with old-fashioned hospitality that is all too rare these days. The Blue Swallow Motel is a classic Motor Court established in 1939 on historic Route 66, and one of few anywhere still operating in its original configuration. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but retain an authentic feel from the heyday of route 66 travel. Premium creature comforts including wonderful mattresses, spa-like towels, and Desert Breeze organic shampoo, soap, and lotion. Most rooms include a garage to make you feel more at home while you are on the road, and these are perfect for parking your motorcycle or classic car for the night. All rooms are non-smoking. One of the best neon displays on Route 66! Come spend a memorable night and experience the home-style hospitality of a bygone era at the Blue Swallow Motel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Hotel Tucumcari
Blue Swallow Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing