We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-time favorite Route 66 Motel”
Review of Blue Swallow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Swallow Motel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a must-see as far as route 66 motel go. We stayed in one of the adjoining room suites. The owners are full of great recommendations for other sights and motels along the mother road and so so friendly. The rooms were clean and full of character. The motel is very popular so i would recommend making reservations during the summer months. The prices are reasonable and the whole experience will make you glad you stayed the night in Tucumcari, NM!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,313 - 1,319 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

The owners were very sweet and kind to us on our first stop along to way to Las Vegas. We enjoyed our stay so much we stayed again along the way back from Disneyland! They made s'mores our first night along with the other guest around a large outdoor campfire. We stayed in room number 12 and it even had a Blue Swallow on the bed cover! Features covered parking for smaller cars and small cozy rooms with hot showers! We will stay here again on our next family trip to California!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mwrpcot82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We loved the Blue Swallow. Stayed for only one night on our way to Kansas. My husband and I were traveling with our dog Mac, and Nancy and Kevin plus their pooches were so amenable, warm, and helpful. Mac had a terrific time playing with their dogs, and the owners were very helpful in directing us to a local park to burn some doggie energy before hitting the road the following morning.

The motel is vintage, and a total throwback to the good old route 66 days. We simply adored the retro chairs outside each room, the laid back attitude, and the mid century fixtures. You have to check out the old rotary phones and pay attention to the fabulous lamps. The rooms were clean, and comfortable. When we arrived, we went in search of a wine opener. Not only did Kevin and Nancy provide us with one of theirs, they also made certain that we had wine glasses - they don't believe in drinking from a plastic cup. You have to love this couple.

We will be returning - it was an AWESOME experience and they have done it right by keeping the motel true to its roots ( or is it routes?)

Kim and Jon MacGregor and our white German Shepherd Mac - WOOF!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimberlee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I toured a bit of Route 66 and included the Blue Swallow Motel this past September. Kevin & Nancy were great and the visit was fantastic. Don't miss out on such a great piece of our American history on Route 66.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nolan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The vintage furnishings in the rooms are so right for this retro gem. Comfortable, clean rooms. Plus vintage cars, legendary neon, and nice people sitting outside their rooms to talk with. Best of all the owners-operators are such great people who take pride in their establishment and serving their guests. This is a must stay after a day of driving Route 66.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Jim U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice owners, Kevin and Nancy. They’ve really done a good job in restoring the motel. This is definitely the place to stay in Tucumcari if you’re looking for the Route 66 lodging experience but with a more comfortable bed. We stayed here twice during I recent trip out west, going and coming. I liked the fact that we could leave the car loaded in the room’s accompanying garage.

They’re pet friendly if that’s important to you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We only spent one night in Tucumcari and plan to spend more next year....we had seen an article in New Mexico Magazine that listed the Blue Swallow Motel as one of the "Enchanted" places to stay in NM. THAT IT IS!!! With it's Blue Swallow neon over every garage, to the wonderful bed linens, vintage garden chairs that beg you to sit and have a glass of wine outside your door......everything about this place is enchanted. The owners, Kevin & Nancy, have much thought into the small details that make this a MUST-STAY experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NMGal106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 23 in Tucumcari
744 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 23 in Tucumcari
553 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 23 in Tucumcari
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#11 of 23 in Tucumcari
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Swallow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Motel

Address: 815 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3143
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range: $65 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Try something different tonight! Travel just a short distance away from the I-40 off-ramp to experience the best of the past, with old-fashioned hospitality that is all too rare these days. The Blue Swallow Motel is a classic Motor Court established in 1939 on historic Route 66, and one of few anywhere still operating in its original configuration. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but retain an authentic feel from the heyday of route 66 travel. Premium creature comforts including ultra-comfortable mattresses, spa-like towels, and Desert Breeze organic shampoo, soap, and lotion. Many of the rooms include a garage to make you feel more at home while you are on the road, and these are perfect for parking your motorcycle or classic car for the night. All rooms are non-smoking. One of the best neon displays on Route 66! Come spend a memorable night and experience the home-style hospitality of a bygone era at the Blue Swallow Motel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Hotel Tucumcari
Blue Swallow Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing