We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to go back.”
Review of Blue Swallow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Swallow Motel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

After staying at the Blue Swallow just one night, I will look for a reason to go back. Owners treat you like family and garage murals are worth the reasonable price of a room...where else can you park your car with an "Easy Ride"r or "Cars" mural surrounding you. Where else can you park your car period? Rooms are retro 50s/60s and people staying there are in a good mood because the place is that cool. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SPG490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,348 - 1,354 of 1,878 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

A group of classic (1955-57) Thunderbird owners stayed at the Blue Swallow in August 2012. We found the owners, Nancy and Kevin, to be delightful hosts. It brought back fond memories of traveling Route 66 in the 1950s when a few motels had garages attached to the rooms. Our T-Birds were comfortable in their garages painted with scenes from the movie 'Cars' while we slept in very comfortable beds. It was a delightful experience and we plan to stay there again the next time we're in Tucumcari.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Recently, my wife and I attended StarFest 2012, a national event hosted by the Mercedes-Benz Club of America. The event was held in Phoenix, AZ. Going to and returning from StarFest, we overnighted at the Blue Swallow. Kevin and Nancy were gracious hosts; it's good to see them preserving a piece of history on the 'Mother Road'.

The Blue Swallow takes you back to a less hectic day when family trips by car were more frequent. This facility is clean and quiet. The bed was very comfortable - just like home!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have seen pictures of the neon out front for over 15 years and in our many visits out west we never had made it close to this area to stay here but this year we did route 66 from Chicago to Tucumcari NM before having to turn around and head back to Ohio. The main reason for Tucumcari as a turn around was for one nite here and it did not disappoint us. The neon: the nostalgia for days of road trips as a child: it all came flooding back. The rooms are period correct and yes they are not sleek modern but they were route 66 thru and thru. We sat outside that evening in the metal glider and watched and visited with all the other smiling patrons who came there for the same thing we did:Nostalgia and Neon. And at nite the neon that the town has repaired and lights up will not disappoint. The owners were out for their son's wedding but Skylar from across the street was a perfect stand in for them. Coffee in office each morning and we took our cup with us and sat in our glider again and watched the sun come up!! Hated to leave but plan to return This is a do not miss if you are ever close in the area

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the courtyard and all have that wonderful ambiance of days gone by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wildflower514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I stopped here during our honeymoon driving Route 66 from Chicago to LA. It was perhaps the place on our trip that had the most enjoyable atmosphere - we enjoyed sitting outside in our seating area in the evening playing games and meeting our neighbours. I think part of the reason for this was that there is a lot of beautiful neon all around the motel and quite a few classic cars that the owner regularly moved around. The room was lovely, with charming furniture and plenty of space for the two of us. In the morning we spent quite a bit of time in the lobby drinking coffee and purchasing various Blue Swallow souvenirs. It was also great to see how enthusiastic the owners were about the place and about Route 66 in general - they were even planning to travel out a way that day to meet a group of bikers who were staying at the motel that night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraFenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here one night on our trip from Texas to New Mexico. We had a two bedroom room.
Neon, nostalgia and gift shop were great. Owners were very nice. Comfortable beds. Coffee in the a.m. in the lobby. No breakfast goodies. Bathroom needed a deep clean including sink. Venetian blinds also needed cleaning. Best spot to stay on Route 66. A little more details and the owners will have it 100%

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lizbeth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Hi and thanks for the nice review! We will keep working on the place to make sure it is as clean and comfortable as possible. Regarding the sink mentioned, this room has a very unique corner sink that is original to the motel and likely irreplaceable. It does have a bit of a patina to it, with a few stains and scratches earned over 70 years of daily use. We make sure it is vary clean every day, but might have to consider a reglazing if that is possible.

Happy Trails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you are doing route 66 you HAVE to stay here. It is a fantastic example of old route 66 from the neon sign to the old cars out front and the traditional motel room. Don't expect brand new sleek hotel comforts as this is not what this motel is about it is a true old route 66 experience.
The owners are really friendly and make you feel right at home.
Definitely worth a night here!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 23 in Tucumcari
761 reviews
1.3 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 23 in Tucumcari
296 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 23 in Tucumcari
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#13 of 23 in Tucumcari
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Swallow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Motel

Address: 815 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3143
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range: $65 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Try something different tonight! Travel just a short distance away from the I-40 off-ramp to experience the best of the past, with old-fashioned hospitality that is all too rare these days. The Blue Swallow Motel is a classic Motor Court established in 1939 on historic Route 66, and one of few anywhere still operating in its original configuration. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but retain an authentic feel from the heyday of route 66 travel. Premium creature comforts including ultra-comfortable mattresses, spa-like towels, and Desert Breeze organic shampoo, soap, and lotion. Many of the rooms include a garage to make you feel more at home while you are on the road, and these are perfect for parking your motorcycle or classic car for the night. All rooms are non-smoking. One of the best neon displays on Route 66! Come spend a memorable night and experience the home-style hospitality of a bygone era at the Blue Swallow Motel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Hotel Tucumcari
Blue Swallow Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing