We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm, friendly place to stay!”
Review of Blue Swallow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Swallow Motel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A warm, friendly place to stay!”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Nancy and Kevin really outdid themselves on this authentic Route 66 retro motel. They were very welcoming in addition to their beautiful golden retrievers, Boomer and Bessie. Each room had it's own painted garage in addition to comfy bed and all the retro accoutrements inside. Great prices, discount for cash. We stayed here on our first night towards Taos and returned here on our last night back to Ft. Worth. Highly recommend this great place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynskeys77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,572
    187
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
455
826
156
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is a GREAT place to spend a night and step back in time. The vintage atmosphere has been beautifully maintained, and the atmosphere is very friendly. The room and bath were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. All of this at a bargain price! Do yourself a favor; skip the chain motels and spend a night in a real classic.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lalasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is by far the best Route Hotel we have stayed at on our trip! The rooms were VERY clean, despite the age of the bathroom. The beds were awesome and not only looked but also smelled clean! Nacy and Kevin were very helpfull and it felt like staying at friends/family rather than a hotel. The location was great too, we were able to walk through town. I would recomend everyone to pay the extra dollar (in my experience they were only about 10 dollars above the cheaper chains), it is worth it!!! Even if you cant stay the night there, be sure to check out the small gift shop and support them this way!

Room Tip: if you need ssome space, be sure to ask for a bigger room, the smal ones are much more cozy though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller66187351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thanks for your kind review, and we are glad you enjoyed your visit to Tucumcari! Happy Trails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Swallow Motel on our trip home from Phoenix, AZ and could not have been happier with our stay! This motel is spotless with comfortable beds and pillows and the owners who live on site are some of the friendliest people you will ever meet. The lobby closes at 10:00 PM so if you are arriving after that just call and they will leave the light on in your room and make very simple arrangements for you to get your key. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wish we could have stayed longer to explore this town more. The motel is NOT a chain motel with all the frills but it is a tribute to Route 66 with decor that takes you back in time and owners whose priority is making sure you get a good night,s rest in a place you feel welcome. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iambonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2012

If you are looking for a quiet,very clean, homey type of room, covered parking, a feeling of the good old 50s,and the warmest welcome and service by the delightful owners the Blue Swallow Motel is a must! A great natural stop from CA while going across country. It won our hearts and will do the same to yours.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We had heard and read about "The Blue Swallow" so made sure we spent a night there on our Route 66 roadtrip across America. Kevin and Nancy were just wonderful hosts. So nice to be made so welcome. Comfortable bed, we slept well. Room 7 just delightful. One of the very few motels left that can give you an authentic Route 66 experience. Wonderful memories to bring back to Australia of our trip on "The Main Street of America".

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumandpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thank you for including the Blue Swallow in your Route 66 adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2012

When you drive up to the Blue swallow it looks like a typical roadside motel that fell out of a black hole from the past. Gravel Parking lot, lots of neon and lots of charm. I was greeted by the owners and it felt like I already knew them. I was shown to my room, advised where to grab a good bite for dinner and then pulled my car up to the room (neat) and put my bags away. The room was immaculate, the decor was perfectly period and the bed was DREAMY comfy. I've stayed in hotel rooms that cost 50 times what it costs to stay at the blue swallow and frankly I don't know what I was thinking. Love the charm, great location for my needs and just plain ol cozy.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTechnoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
A slogan used by the Blue Swallow in its early years was, "Your Home Away from Home", and we're glad it felt like home to you! We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you through or to Tucumcari.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
714 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 22 in Tucumcari
521 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#11 of 22 in Tucumcari
229 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Swallow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Motel

Property: Blue Swallow Motel
Address: 815 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3143
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BREAK THE CHAIN! Travel just a short distance away from the I-40 off-ramp to experience the best of the past, with old-fashioned hospitality that is all too rare these days. The Blue Swallow Motel is a classic Motor Court established in 1939 on historic Route 66, and one of few anywhere still operating in its original configuration. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but retain an authentic feel from the heyday of route 66 travel. Premium creature comforts including wonderful mattresses, spa-like towels, and Desert Breeze organic shampoo, soap, and lotion. Most rooms include a garage to make you feel more at home while you are on the road, and these are perfect for parking your motorcycle or classic car for the night. All rooms are non-smoking. One of the best neon displays on Route 66! Come spend a memorable night and experience the home-style hospitality of a bygone era at the Blue Swallow Motel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Hotel Tucumcari
Blue Swallow Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing