We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Husband, canine kid Sophie and I loved staying here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Swallow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Swallow Motel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
197 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Husband, canine kid Sophie and I loved staying here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

On the fifth and last night of a long drive from Florida to Arizona, my husband, girl-dog Sophie and I had a wonderful "retro 50s" experience staying in canine-friendly room #12! Kevin and his darling two golden retrievers (one named Boomer) greeted us warmly, and Kevin then walked with us to our room. He suggested some local places to get a quick dinner, and pointed out the coffee that's available in the front office in the morning. We were towing a U-haul, and Kevin graciously moved another vehicle so that we could park conveniently to our front door. The room was cozy and looked recently painted, and the full-size bed had a soft, hand-made quilt and four pillows. The walls were decorated with collectable photos relating to Route 66, including one of a train named St. Louis where I'm originally from. The bathroom appeared to be original, and was tiny as expected in a 50s motel.The shower had the original pink-and-black tiles on he walls, and hexagon-shaped white tiles on the floor. The shower itself was fabulous -- hot and plenty of water pressure. The room was immaculately clean, the towels were plentiful, and the color TV was sitting on a cool piece of antique furniture. It snowed during the night, and the temperature in the room was perfectly warm. When we checked out, I met Kevin's wife, Nancy, who is just as immediately-likeable as Kevin, and purchased some t-shirts and caps from the front office. The graphics are wonderful and when I wear them, I'll be reminded of the great experience we had at the Blue Swallow Motel.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a dog, ask for room 12 which is reserved for canine travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieBlue09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! We are so happy you enjoyed it, and hope to see you all again. Safe travels! Kevin & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,471
    179
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
418
776
147
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Travelling across country to visit family for Christmas...thought we were going to have to cancel the reservation due to a blizzard, but Nancy told us to keep the reservation at no risk - just let her know if we wouldn't make it. Got in before the snow and SOOO glad we stayed. The Blue Swallow is a nifty place...wonderful accommodations that remind you of simpler days. Comfortable beds, nice setting and great hosts! Snow began shortly after we arrived - couldn't have asked for a better place for a Southerner to spend a snowy day just before Christmas. Just as we were preparing to walk for coffee, Nancy knocked on our door with a cup for each of us. My niece loved playing in the snow with their dogs. Great place, nice people, superb value - a true must on any trip through the area - definitely recommend the Blue Swallow!

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

The Blue Swallow combines the nostalgia of the "Route 66" mistique with updated and clean lodgings. While the rooms are small by today's "motel standard", they are more than adequate and the overall setting, including the individual garages to put your car in as well as the owner's own classic autos makes this a wonderful trip to simpler times. The town itself is also a gem - much of the original has been preserved and a quick tour including the rennovated RR depot is a must. On your way out, take the 25 or so miles of old 66 and see the abandoned gas stations and wayside stands.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VetteGuyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Tucumcari is a great town with an interesting history, much of which is still available to see. We are glad you enjoyed your visit, and appreciate you making the Blue Swallow "Your home away from home" in Tucumcari! Kevin & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvarado, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

stayed the night 12/31/2011 rooms were clean,bed was very comfortable,plenty of hot water for showers,pictures on the web site are a accurate depiction of what to expect,we stayed in #10 at this time it has no garage but no big deal as you park right in front of the room,if you like to old buildings are history this is a cool place to stay,very easy to find as you leave i-40 just follow the route 66 signs,i will have no problem staying again.(watch out for the dogs they will wear you out petting them but that is okay)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

My wife and I did a 2 week cross country drive from Raleigh, NC to San Francisco, CA with many stops along the way. Kevin and Nancy were wonderful hosts. We stayed there on the 24th and when we awoke had a wonderful little gift bag at our door, very thoughtful. We enjoyed our evening back in time. It was a clean and comfortable. If we pass that way again we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gr8fulIra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
So much fun to play Santa Claus that night! Thank you for sharing the Christmas Holiday with us! Kevin & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

The Blue Swallow Inn is a "Blast from the Past"! The furnishings are nostalgic and charming, but the the mattress brand new and top notch. The sheets were silky and comfortable. I'm so glad I found The Blue Swallow Motel on the web and booked our one-night stay. The owners were friendly and helpful and we got a good night's sleep for an unbelievably great price. I'd definitely visit here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Blue Swallow on our drive to California. We stayed at the Four Seasons and other luxury hotels on the way, but the blue swallow was our favorite. The host was so enthusiastic about the motel and the pride of ownership was very evident in every detail. Support the Blue Swallow!

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haystacks-Brand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#5 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#8 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 22 in Tucumcari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Swallow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Motel

Property: Blue Swallow Motel
Address: 815 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3143
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BREAK THE CHAIN! Travel just a short distance away from the I-40 off-ramp to experience the best of the past, with old-fashioned hospitality that is all too rare these days. The Blue Swallow Motel is a classic Motor Court established in 1939 on historic Route 66, and one of few anywhere still operating in its original configuration. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but retain an authentic feel from the heyday of route 66 travel. Premium creature comforts including wonderful mattresses, spa-like towels, and Desert Breeze organic shampoo, soap, and lotion. Most rooms include a garage to make you feel more at home while you are on the road, and these are perfect for parking your motorcycle or classic car for the night. All rooms are non-smoking. One of the best neon displays on Route 66! Come spend a memorable night and experience the home-style hospitality of a bygone era at the Blue Swallow Motel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Hotel Tucumcari
Blue Swallow Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing