We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best!”
Review of Blue Swallow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Swallow Motel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best of the best!”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We arrived recommended by guidebook, got the nicest treatment (which seems to extend to all, judging by other reviews...) and even our 1967 Mustang got its own room! Good luck to Nancy and Kevin, long live the Route66!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenguru62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Thanks very much, and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you have a safe trip home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,528
    184
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
436
809
150
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Loved the stay in the Blue Swallow Motel. Comfortable bed, efficient heating and cooling, tiny shower with the most amazing shower head. I didn't want to get out of the shower!! Adorable decor, garages painted with awesome murals. Exactly what you would expect to find on old route 66!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler11271981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thanks so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

While on our recent motorcyle trip across the US and back along RT66 my wife and I had the pleasure of spending a night at the historic Blue Swallow Motel on Rt 66 in Tucumcari. It seemed more like we were staying with family than it seemed like we were staying at a motel. While the Motel is old, it is in great shape, and the rooms were great. The decor was very nostalgic, but the beds were super comfortable with all new matresses and linens. The owners, Kevin and Nancy, treated us more like family than customers. After a long day riding through the desert when we got to the Blue swallow they set us up with coolers and ice to chill our cold beverages, and we spent a great night in lounge chairs outside the room with new friends just relaxing in the cool New Mexico air. The neon throughout the Blue Swallow is incredible and Kevin and Nancy painstakingly ensured that all of it is working. The Main sign out front is incredible. The rooms all have garages attached to them if you want to keep your Cycles out of the weather. If you're looking for the best place to stay on your Route 66 trip, or just passing through Tucumcari and need a place to stay, stay at the Blue Swallow. It will be a most memorable stay and at $66 a night, you can't beat it.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BikerMikeVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We found this on trip advisor and knew we had to check it out. This classic historic motel was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The 40s decor with a rotary phone was priceless. We would recommend this to anyone who wants more than the new hotel chain.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pdhastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

While I have stayed in Tucumcari often, in boring chain hotels, this motel sounded like something different and unusual. I made my reservation (with small pug, Star) and was very impressed when I arrived. I was greeted by Nancy and Kevin, the new owners, and was invited to inspect my room, given a "real" wine glass to use for the night and made to feel very welcome. We even sat outside and talked about how times have changed, the owners history and the history of the place. The room was cozy and the furnishings were very authentic from the "old days" of Route 66. It was like I had gone back in time. What fun!!!!!!! It was also fun to meet Boomer, Bessie and Max, the owner's pets. I will be staying there again and will be glad to see new friends again.

Room Tip: If you have a pet, there is only 1 pet room so call ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamasans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

If you want to relive the 50's, to stay in a wonderful, clean, fresh and friendly motel, to meet new and fantastic people, to eat a great mexican dinner and soak up what was once a hub of Route 66 your stay with Nancy and Kevin will be worth all the very few dollars you need to spend, spent! This couple are very gracious, Kevin even showing us to our room & making sure we were happy with it before fully booking us in. We loved it - met some great people passing through - a trip to New Mexico isn't complete wihtout a stay at the Blue Swallow, amazing shower as well!!! The morning dawned with getting great fresh coffee (probably the best I had for over a week in the US) from the office in a mug and sitting outside our room looking at a beautiful blue sky in the sunshine - does it get better than this - book yourself a night & you decide. Thank you both for a lovely visit - hopefully we'll be back again one day soon!

Room Tip: Pets are allowed, but you need to let them know beforehand! (Not that we took our chooks all the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2011

the blue swallow motel is fantastic very cosey and warm inside the room . car parking right outside your room or in your themed garage next to your room , very 1950s' looking great decor, and most of all very very very welcoming owners NANCY & KEVIN... highly recommended !!!!!!......

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonbuckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
682 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 22 in Tucumcari
237 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 22 in Tucumcari
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 22 in Tucumcari
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Swallow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Motel

Property: Blue Swallow Motel
Address: 815 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3143
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BREAK THE CHAIN! Travel just a short distance away from the I-40 off-ramp to experience the best of the past, with old-fashioned hospitality that is all too rare these days. The Blue Swallow Motel is a classic Motor Court established in 1939 on historic Route 66, and one of few anywhere still operating in its original configuration. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but retain an authentic feel from the heyday of route 66 travel. Premium creature comforts including wonderful mattresses, spa-like towels, and Desert Breeze organic shampoo, soap, and lotion. Most rooms include a garage to make you feel more at home while you are on the road, and these are perfect for parking your motorcycle or classic car for the night. All rooms are non-smoking. One of the best neon displays on Route 66! Come spend a memorable night and experience the home-style hospitality of a bygone era at the Blue Swallow Motel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Hotel Tucumcari
Blue Swallow Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing