We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a fantastic time at the blue swallow”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Swallow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Swallow Motel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“always a fantastic time at the blue swallow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

i really love this place. this was my third time to stay here and as always, i have a great time. not only are Bill Terry the friendliest folks on the good ol RT 66, but it seem that their kindness and hospitality rub off on everyone who stays here. rooms are always clean, great water pressure in the showers, and comfy beds only add to the fantastic experience.

Room Tip: book ahead, they fill up quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truerambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,485
    179
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
425
780
149
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Köln
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

Before booking we had a look at Tripadvisor. We relied on the numerous positive experiences other travellers had before, booked this motel on our Route 66 trip. There are lots of motels at Tucumcari, but we were very happy having chosen Blue Swallow Motel. We appreciated our stay very much. The hosts Bill and Terri are very friendly, helpful and sympathetic. They give reliable recommendations regarding restaurants, local attractions, etc.
The motel itself is really old fahioned, perfectly matching to old Route 66, clean, well-kept, and very cosy. You feel like staying with friends. Guests are sitting in front of their rooms, having drinks, talking with each other and the hosts. Great atmosphere!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erkelenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

wonderful vibe to the place, owners that really care. great place to sit outside and watch the world go by. nice clean rooms, and the BEST shower I've had in years!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooterboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We recently stayed at The Blue Swallow on our Route 66 road trip and found it to be exactly what we expected - charming, retro, friendly and fun. We booked via email and the owners, Bill and Terri were very prompt with their replies. Upon arrival we were welcomed warmly and were very happy with the room. It was a very comfortable stay. There is a fridge in the lobby for communal use and we were given great dinner tips and advice. This is definitely a Route 66 classic and a reason to stay overnight!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejourneysofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

If you want to get away from everyday problems, & stress go to Tucumcari. If you are in Tucumcari, you must stay in Blue Swallow motel. :) When you meet Bill& Teeeri, It feels like you are visiting old friends. Nice "by the road" motel, with great neon sign and great accommodation. From the moment you arrive to the Motel, you get cosy and warm feeling. Rooms were great, spacious and clean. We were sorry that we didn't have time to stay longer. Best thing was Bill's coffee in the morning with nice chat where we get a bunch of useful information for our Route 66 trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst
Level Contributor
208 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Weather necessitated a stay in Tucumcari on our cross country flight. The owners picked us up at the airport and took us back, but the real treat was staying in a fantastic restoration of a historic Route 66 hotel. It was a pleasure to join Paul McCartney and Billy Bob among thousands of others who have enjoyed this experience since 1937! Very memorable and a MUST DO!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritzytopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride,CO
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Thank you for making our road trip! My sister-in-law and I were traveling across country to take our 4 children to visit Grandparents, we stopped in the Blue Swallow as a novelty stop for the kids. It was great we all felt like we were finally on vacation, not a long road trip!

We will be back, The Millers

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillersTelluride_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#5 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 22 in Tucumcari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Swallow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Motel

Property: Blue Swallow Motel
Address: 815 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3143
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BREAK THE CHAIN! Travel just a short distance away from the I-40 off-ramp to experience the best of the past, with old-fashioned hospitality that is all too rare these days. The Blue Swallow Motel is a classic Motor Court established in 1939 on historic Route 66, and one of few anywhere still operating in its original configuration. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but retain an authentic feel from the heyday of route 66 travel. Premium creature comforts including wonderful mattresses, spa-like towels, and Desert Breeze organic shampoo, soap, and lotion. Most rooms include a garage to make you feel more at home while you are on the road, and these are perfect for parking your motorcycle or classic car for the night. All rooms are non-smoking. One of the best neon displays on Route 66! Come spend a memorable night and experience the home-style hospitality of a bygone era at the Blue Swallow Motel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Hotel Tucumcari
Blue Swallow Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing