We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mesalands Community College's Dinosaur Museum and Natural Sciences Laboratory
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mesalands Community College's Dinosaur Museum and Natural Sciences Laboratory is located in Tucumcari, New Mexico, on old Route 66. Many of the genuine fossils on display were collected by students enrolled in the College's Paleontology program. Also on display are life-sized bronze dinosaur sculptures created through the College's Fine Arts Bronze program. We offer a discount on admission for active military, seniors, and educators. Parking available for RV's.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed April 30, 2018

We had a housesitting job in Tucumcari, and it is a very tiny town. We were pleasantly surprised at this museum! It has a pretty good collection and we all felt like we learned some things. Our daughter (11), enjoyed her time there, too. If you have younger kids there is a fun section that will keep them entertained as well. There are also windows where you can see into the lab where the paleontologists and students are doing their work and that part was one of our favorites!

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gift shop"
in 21 reviews
"great exhibits"
in 5 reviews
"new mexico"
in 12 reviews
"small town"
in 9 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 3 reviews
"great for kids"
in 3 reviews
"well thought out"
in 3 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 2 reviews
"spent almost"
in 2 reviews
"dino dig"
in 2 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 4 reviews
"on premises"
in 2 reviews
"perfect size"
in 2 reviews
"great price"
in 2 reviews
"helpful staff"
in 2 reviews
"themed items"
in 2 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 144 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2018

Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. Impressive collection of dinosaur fossils. Displays were very interesting and interactive.
Clean restrooms. Clean facility.
The outside of the building is very unassuming but once we went inside we were very impressed by the museum.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank WHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2018

We really enjoyed this museum. It was not crowded and we liked how the museum is set up so you wander through and are 'surprised' around every corner. Amazing Bronze skeletons! WOW! Because the college has a foundary, they were able to create these amazing sculptures. Right before the kid section they have this interactive weather sandbox...not sure how to explain it, Just do it! I could have played with that for hours, very magical.
And the gift shop is small but stocked with awesome dinosaurs and crystals/rocks at a great price.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Justine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Museum Director at Mesalands Community College's Dinosaur Museum and Natural Sciences Laboratory, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2018

We were very impressed with the displays and the layout of the museum. We spent an hour there just going through the exhibits. Great metal casts of the dinosaurs . I would recommend this to families. lots of hands on displays for the kids (and adults too)

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank rphuggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2018

This is a must-see museum for kids and adults alike. What a small-town treasure! It was so interesting and informative.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mesalands Community College's Dinosaur Museum and Natural Sciences Laboratory also viewed

 

Been to Mesalands Community College's Dinosaur Museum and Natural Sciences Laboratory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing