We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very cool small museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mesalands Community College's Dinosaur Museum

Mesalands Community College's Dinosaur Museum
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very cool small museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

It's a small place but the stuff they have is amazing! I really liked that a lot of the exhibits they had you could touch, which made it a million times better!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    29
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Although smaller in size this museum was a very neat thing to stop and see. Customer service was awesome and we had fun shopping in the gift shop after.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsAnneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“If I could give it 6 stars I would, amazing stop in Tucumcari, kids loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was by far one of the best parts of our Southwest trip. The kids area here is just wonderful, they gave the kids lots of hands on activities, the exhibits are well designed and organized, and you can see a real working archaeology lab, how awesome is that! They have a fair priced gift shop as well, and the price of admission is really reasonable. I would have never none to stop if not for TripAdvisor, thanks so much, this was just a wonderful 2-3 hour stop that helped keep our trip moving along.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Turbo_Todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“OLD BONES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is quite a nice surprise. We were given a backstage tour of the museum where we watched students at work. They were fantastic teaches as they gave us a show and tell of different archeological and geological finds. It was fun to actually touch and sometimes hold prehistoric bones and foliage. The museum is great with lots of exhibits.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cacobun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
912 reviews
269 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“If you love dinosaurs...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

...or even if you don't...this is a place to stop! Admission is cheap and you can easily spend an hour in here.

I really love that they have exhibits that you can touch...actually touch dinosaur bones!....and even dinosaur poop!!! They also have the world's largest collection of bronzed dinosaur bones in the world...amazing!

Most of the relics are from the southwest, but there are still many from around the world. Loved learning about the dinosaurs here most of all.

Love this place! Would love to bring the grandkids here!!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MNM1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mesalands Community College's Dinosaur Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mesalands Community College's Dinosaur Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing