We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Scary Place - Worst Hotel Experience in My Life - Stay Elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Ithaca, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Scary Place - Worst Hotel Experience in My Life - Stay Elsewhere”
Reviewed December 9, 2009

If you are thinking of staying here, please take the time to read this review so you avoid the kind of horrific treatment I experienced here.

We arrived on 7/19/09 after driving a long leg of a cross-country trip. We had booked a “Two Room Queen Suite w/Microwave & Fridge” on LQ.com on June 23, 2009. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Yvette, who later identified herself as the night manager. Yvette gave me the keys to a room on the second floor, which, after I entered it, I realized was not a suite, but rather one room with two queen beds. The room did not have a refrigerator or microwave. I returned to the front desk and showed Yvette my reservation for a queen suite. I told her that I had chosen the hotel specifically because it offered suites (nice when you have a dog with you!) Yvette told us that there were no two room queen suites in the hotel; to be clear, she was saying that such rooms did not exist in the hotel and that the listing on the lq.com website was incorrect. She told me that the hotel did have king suites, but that none were available that night. I asked Yvette what she could do to resolve the situation, and suggested that she give us two adjacent rooms. She said she thought she could do that, and my presumption was that the second room would be free, given the error in the booking. My wife and children came in at this point, with a cart full of luggage and the dog in tow.

When Yvette starting working on her computer to give us the two rooms, I said “just to be clear, the charge for the two rooms will be the same as what I was expecting to pay for one suite, right?” She said no, that the first room would be $84.99, and that she would give me a discount on the second room, and the charge for that room would be $69.99. I told Yvette that I was not willing to pay for two rooms, and asked her to give me the second room for free. She said that she could not do that. I invited her to consider my situation –I had chosen this hotel specifically because it offered a suite, and that I given the La Quinta’s error, I should not have to pay for two rooms. Yvette then said “sir, if I cannot accommodate you, I will have to ask you to leave.” I was incredulous. I said, “What are you talking about? Can’t you understand my perspective here?” I was certainly agitated at this point, but I want to stress that I did not shout or curse or threaten Yvette.

At this point Yvette picked up her phone and apparently described the situation to the “day manager,” in a very brief conversation. She then hung up and called the police! I was intimidated and dumbfounded. I said, “Look, this is ridiculous. I will take the original room you gave me and take this up with your corporate offices in the morning. I am sorry if I upset you.” I still had the keys to the first room I was offered, so I went up to the room with my family. About five minutes later, the police arrived at the second floor room. I explained the situation to officer Clay Huffman (badge number 407 – this incident was given case #093599) and the other officer present, but they insisted that I leave. My eleven-year old daughter, was sobbing in the background, her face wet with tears.

We were thrown out on the street, left to find another hotel after spending 13 hours in the car that day.

There are many ways this incident could have been better handled:
1. Yvette could have, and should have, offered to give me a second room for free, given the error in my booking.
2. If she did not have the authority to give me a second room for free, she could have asserted this calmly and expressed some empathy to diffuse the situation, and I would have grudgingly accepted that nothing could be done and made a complaint later.
3. When, faced with the threat of the police, I conceded the argument, Ms. Griffin could have told the police that the situation was resolved, rather than insisting that me and my family be removed from the premises.

I must say that I still can’t quite fathom how I, and my family, were treated in what I had previously considered a good, budget hotel chain. We are all still reeling from the experience. It was humiliating, unnecessary, and all stemmed from La Quinta’s error in offering and accepting a reservation for a two queen suite that did not exist and then an employee’s abysmal handling of the situation.


I wrote a letter to the President of LaQuinta about this, and several weeks later, was called by the manager of the hotel, whose name is Ernest. He was apologetic, and offered me a free night in his hotel - no thanks! I wouldn't go back there if you put a gun to my head. He understood, and said he'd make arrangements for me to get free nights at other La Quintas. Well, it turns out this was just talk. I've called the guy four times in the past few months. He'd never done anything for me, and never followed up. All hat and no cattle, as they say.

So, while this may be a nice new building, the people that run are jerks and have no idea how to treat customers, and that's being generous. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank travelin-man-43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    130
    47
    37
    15
See reviews for
149
112
34
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

The walls and door allow way too much noise through from the hall and next door this alone makes it a do not recommend.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OleAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Newer hotel building, clean. Yet I would not stay here again because the walls are paper thin and, from our room, my wife & I could hear every movement in the hallway. The normal conversions going on in adjoining rooms were clearly heard. The TV next door is still blaring at 11pm as I write this. The room fan does not run continuously. This is a trick I use to block out noises typically. No sleep for a while.... Finally, my reservation copy lists a Microwave & Mini-Refrigerator. Our room did not have these, but no big deal as these missing items were a minor inconvenience compared to the noise.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Beautiful hotel; very clean and new. Lovely room - bed very high but that was great as able to see the stunning view out of the window (we had a back room over looking the mountain).

Used our walk-in voucher and got a very good rate (voucher books can be obtained from petrol stations / tourist info.

Staff lovely; breakfast very good indeed! Eateries within walking distance of hotel.

Main road through town only a few minutes drive away. Worth going down to see the Route 66 stuff which is in abundance. Really liked this place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piglet56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
0.1 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 22 in Tucumcari
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#11 of 22 in Tucumcari
229 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 22 in Tucumcari
241 reviews
2.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
Address: 2516 S Adams St, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, LaQuinta, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing