We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Stopover...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Stopover...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Subject: La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari


Second visit at this hotel...very nice & clean...friendly staff. Restaurant near by was very good and very convenient. Amenities nice but only enough for one guest...but when asked happily supplied more for the three of us

Room Tip: Subject: La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari Location: Tucumcari Title: Nice stopover ID#: 21600...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S4437CArobertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    106
    35
    30
    14
See reviews for
123
91
27
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Bad AC and dirty bathroom. The toilet didn't work in our first room. The AC would not stay on. When it started, it sounded like a freight train. Bathroom had lots of hair in it. The staff was friendly, the hotel was not very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel is on a side street close to I-40 making it easy to locate and return to I-40 and has lots of parking for trucks and trailers. It is located very close to several restaurants and a Shell gas station. The employees were friendly and very helpful and the room was great, very clean and comfortable. The morning breakfast was average and had all the usual breakfast items. I would stay again when passing through the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lspool1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haltom City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were surprised to find such a nice place to stay in Tucumcari. The hotel was very easy to reach off interstate 40. The rooms were spotless and we had a fabulous view of Tucumcari Mountain. We were easily able to walk to multiple eating establishments. We will certainly try to stay here the next time we traveling in this area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Sheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Pros:
Availability: Not booked.
Truck Parking (There are 2 lots - one gravel and one uneven dirt. When looking at hotel entrance, the flat gravel lot is to the right, and is probably not semi-truck capable based on turning radius once inside the lot; it is more of a pull-through for small RVs, light trucks with smaller trailers, tow dollies, etc. with lots of nearby curbs. The uneven dirt lot is to the left, and is semi-truck capable.
Price: While other chain hotels nearby seemed to be capitalizing on the exponentially decreasing supply of rooms in Tucumcari, La Quinta did not gouge the rates.
Room: Fairly roomy, clean, cooled upon entry.
Staff: Front desk staff were helpful and pleasant. Breakfast server was doing an excellent job keeping the dining area stocked and picked up.

Cons:
It is pet-friendly. (This would be a "Pro" if you are travelling with animals or do not mind barking, clicking as the pets walk down the hall, or riding elevators with dogs.) There were a LOT of dogs.
Amenities: No extra sheets or blankets, mini-fridge, or welcome book of local attractions/dining, etc.
View: Back side of hotel is just a non-descript, empty lot.
Breakfast: This is the difference between Holiday Inn Express' higher price. Breakfast was okay, as in there were options and everything seemed to work. There were not enough chairs to go around each of the tables. Only cereal was corn flakes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlantPowered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

-shower alternated between hot, chilly, and luke warm
-floor at entrance to room was visibly cracked, creating a very sharp and dangerous edge that we had to cover with a folded towel
-room overlooked brightly lit signs and parking lot, which curtains did not block
-our dog found a toy that was left behind on the floor
-trucks idled loudly all night out front
-air conditioner didn't work properly, and when it stayed on the noise built to a painful screech
-smoke detector began chirping at 6AM, and front desk staff didn't know when they would be able to find a replacement battery; we were eventually moved to another room but by then were wide awake
-only food available at 10pm was junk food and Subway from a very sketchy gas station; beware if you are pulling in late after a long day of driving and looking forward to a meal

For all of this, we had $20 deducted from our bill. I have emailed La Quinta repeatedly asking for a refund (or at least an apology!) with no reply.

Room Tip: The room we were moved to faced an open green space. Much quieter, darker, and more pleasant than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmwanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

On our way home, we stopped in Tucumcari,New Mexico. Stayed here,again no reservations. Front desk personnel pleasant and helpful. Room spacious and clean, beds comfortable and SURPRISE!!! they actually had rubber bath mats for inside the tub. This is an issue with me as most hotels do not have safety features for getting in and out of the bathtub/shower. Breakfast was adequate and hot. Well laid out and just down the road from the Fire Rock Indian Casino.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#5 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#9 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 22 in Tucumcari
3.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#11 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
Address: 2516 S Adams St, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing