We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Route 66” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Safari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Safari
Save
You added Motel Safari to your Saves list
722 East Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Route 66”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

As Senior Citizens my husband and I love to go back in time. We found this little gem of a motel on Route 66 in Tucumcari, nm. We are very budget minded but still want to be comfortable. The outside is a older motel that has been repainted and parking repaved. The inside on the rooms have been modernized still keeping with the 50's theme. Very large room with a super comfortable bed and updated bath. Coffee pot for the morning. Someone lives on the property, not sure if it was the owners but they were very nice, took us to our room to check it out.
We travel from Texas to California several time a year and it is so nice to find a place to stay over and over again. We paid $50.00 for 2 seniors.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fryarsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
tulsa, ok
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

We thank our hostess for making our stay comfortable in such refined facility,.The really nice flat screen television and pillowtop mattresses made us feel at home.The price and comfort would really encourage us to return. Again...many thanks for the comfort!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webcat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Can't be beat for the money. Clean, newly renovated rooms with modern amenities and classic charm. An overachiever in its class.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank My00t8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

This was such a great experience. Our family loved this motel, nostalgia at its finest. The most comfortable bed, sheets, and pillows. Very clean. Great price and location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyfamilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

While taking a two week vacation to see Route 66, we stopped at the Motel Safari in the first few days. The room and the hosts were wonderful! The room was an absolute delight and the owners couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Motel Safari was definitely the best place we stayed on the entire trip.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanmarvir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

I was just passing through Tucumcari with my Labradoodle this week and decided to see what was there, and if any hotels would allow dogs. My other option was staying at a very average La Quinta in Amarillo which wasn't very appealing to me. Made one pass down Rt 66 and decided to stop at the Blue Swallow as it was the most eye appealing. They were full, but Bill gladly called across the street to see if there were any rooms available at Motel Safari and if he allowed dogs. To be honest I was a bit nervous because it doesn't have as much Rt 66 curb appeal as the Blue Swallow. Boy was I surprised! Very fast friendly check in. The rooms have been restored as they would have been originally, but with awesome beds, linens, fluffy towels, nice soap/lotion, flat panel tv, fresh smelling, etc. I would have thought I was at a Westin judging from the amenities! Went with owner's recommendation to dine at Del's and was not disappointed. I went with the Mexican food and it was as good as any I ate in Santa Fe only drawback is no cold beer or margaritas to wash it down.

I would actually plan a trip around spending a night in Tucumcari just to go back in time and small town america where guests hang out in the parking lot and visit. And the Innkeeper really tries to make everyone comfortable and welcome. I could go on and on, but I am sure you get my point this is the place to stay when passing through Tucumcari.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melindajirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Wasn't expecting much, but was I wrong! A husband and wife team recently bought the place, and they do a great job. The wife even went to the store and got me a bag of ice. It is no frills (they didn't have an ice machine) and you have to request a microwave. They could use an electrical outlet near the bathroom - I had to blow dry my hair in the living room, about 20 feet from the bathroom. But I wasn't planning to move in permanently, so the no frills part is inconsequential. You'll get a good night's sleep here. The bed, the sheets, the towels, are all first class, and everything is clean, cean, clean.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flobelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#9 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
#8 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Safari

Address: 722 East Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOTEL SAFARI (est. 1959) - A Route 66 Icon for more than 56 years! Welcome to the world famous Motel Safari on historic Route 66 in Tucumcari, NM. Vintage motor hotel lodging with today's modern amenities, squeaky clean rooms and the best beds on the Mother Road! We feature: Sealy Posturepedic plush pillow top mattresses, hypoallergenic down pillows, luxury cotton bath linens, premium bath amenities, 32 inch flat panel HDTV's, in-room coffee makers with coffee, free Wi-Fi and great rates. Journey through time, experience road travel the way it used to be and get your kicks on Route 66. Don't just dream about legends of the road - STAY IN ONE! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Motel Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing