We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool retro motel and great bargain!”
Review of Motel Safari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Safari
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Cool retro motel and great bargain!”
Reviewed July 29, 2009

This is a super-cool retro motel that has been comfortably restored, making it a fabulous bargain! I was impressed with the service; the owners are personable, attentive, and friendly, and they've restored this hotel with extremely nice beds, swank flat screen tvs, free wifi, in-room coffee, and yet maintained the integrity of an old Route 66 motel feeling. My room was very clean, and the motel was very quiet. It is also perfectly located on the main drag of Route 66 in Tucumcari, and the price cannot be beat! I plan on making this my motel whenever I'm in Tucumcari; it's great to get away from the chains and support "regular" people running a cool and clean motel with history and charm!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whateverintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    99
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
99
230
45
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Motel Safari on the way to Sedona. It was more than we could have asked for. We were there on the 4th of July and enjoyed the fireworks from the parking lot with the owner. He is a great guy who makes you feel welcome right away. The rooms are clean and comfortable and modernized while keeping a look of the 50's and 60's. You won't be disappointed if you stay at Motel Safari.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TownsendTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2009

This motel was above and beyond anything we could have expected. We were looking for a Route 66 motel - not a chain motel. The 'famous' Blue Swallow was booked & he referred us to the Safari. The decor, including a flat panel TV & a 50's style clock/CD player; the newness & cleanliness; & posturepedic pillow top mattress was AWESOME, and made for the most comfortable night we've had in a long time. The owners were extremely nice, friendly & accomodating. They even had a storage area for motorcycles in case of bad weather. There were several nice restaurants within walking distance. For us it was 'off the beaten track' which created a more relaxed & serene environment away from the stresses of life. Even the coffee pot & coffee in the room was unique & worth mentioning.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasmineIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

I saw several good reviews and this is why I decided to stay there. I was a bit suspicious at first, as the hotel name didn't say anything, but I wasn't disappointed. The hotel was inexpensive, but the rooms were new, clean and comfortable. No dirt, spots on the carpet, the beddings were comfortable and clean. I returned to this hotel on my trip back. The town itself did not interest me too much, but the hotel was great. Wireless Internet access (good quality signal) in each room adds to its value. This hotel is maintained in the retro style (Route 66), who likes it will appreciate this hotel even much more.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomasz98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We pulled into the "Blue Swallow" motel across the street and since they were full, we were sent across the street to the Motel Safari. What a great surprise! Richard, the owner was super helpful, welcoming, and eager to talk about the project he has put his heart into... the motel. Our room was recently remodeled with new carpet, bed, fixtures, and super clean. He did a wonderful job keeping the retro 60's feel of the motel and the rooms mixing old with new. Richard has put in the absolutely BEST beds in his rooms that I have EVER slept in , , , nicer than my bed at home, nicer than any at all the hotels I've been in! I'm NOT exaggerating. Convenient location right on old Route 66 in Tucumcari, NM not far off Hwy 40.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leavinglasvegas129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2009

This is a GREAT find! In my entire trip with 6 nights in hotels this was the best. I stayed here on my trip in February and the night I got into Tucumcari I was exhausted from driving in from California and needed a good night's sleep and I got it! The beds were so comfortable (pillowtop mattress!) and my head sank into the pillows. I can't explain how comfortable and relaxed I was! Even the towels were big and soft! And everything was brand new in the room (TV, shower, furniture). And my dog was welcome! And it was so cheap! Only $40! I was so surprised that it was such a great stay at such a low price. And the people at the front desk were very nice! Like I said I stayed in 6 hotels and this was my favorite, a few others were about as comfortable, but none were near the price of Motel Safari. Overall, I was very pleased and would highly recommend it to anyone passing through!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shall_i_take_a_cab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

We were driving through on I-40 from Atlanta, GA to Los Angeles and the night that we planned to stay in Tucumcari needed to be restful... it was! The man who helped us was really informative, and recommended a great coffee stop in the morning. The room was clean and felt very new. The TV was fancy, the bed was very comfortable, and there was a mixed "50's" CD in the player. I was super impressed, especially because the outside looked sort of average as we pulled in, in the dark. Choose this spot, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msadeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 22 in Tucumcari
246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
702 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 22 in Tucumcari
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 22 in Tucumcari
226 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Safari

Property: Motel Safari
Address: 722 E Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOTEL SAFARI (est. 1959) - A Route 66 Icon for more than 58 years! Welcome to Two Gun Larry's World Famous Motel Safari on Historic Route 66 in Tucumcari, NM. Vintage hotel lodging with modern amenities, squeaky clean rooms and the best beds on the Mother Road! We feature: Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, hypoallergenic down pillows, luxury cotton bath linens, premium bath amenities, 32 inch flat panel HDTV's, in-room coffee makers with coffee, free Wi-Fi and great rates. Journey through time, experience road travel the way it used to be and get your kicks on Route 66. Don't just dream about legends of the road - STAY IN ONE! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Motel Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing