We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blast from the past makes for a good night while driving cross country”
Review of Motel Safari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Safari
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Four days into our road trip, we made our way to across the border to Tucumcari, NM. Pronounced two-come-cary, this one very popular and bustling town on Route 66 is now sleepy but surviving. There is hiking and many natural wonders to see in the greater vicinity, but Tucumcari itself has charm in its murals painted throughout the city. It's a neat place to visit.

Despite there being many choices, it seemed to us that there are really 3 motels to pick from. We chose the Safari on a whim but were very pleased.

Check in was easy and we were immediately relaxed in the setting. The room was nicely furnished and very clean, and we were greeted by music from the 50's and 60's from the old fashioned designed modern radio. Some of the rooms have themes from what we saw, but ours was not.

We were within walking distance of the grocery store and the Lizard lounge and restaurant where we had dinner.

They only downside was that our hit water ran out after one shower, but the manager was apologetic and seemed genuinely surprised by the problem, saying she'd look into it.

The next morning, we enjoyed ourselves on they patio area and then popped down the street for coffee at the owner's friend's motel's espresso bar with a coupon from the Safari.

We really enjoyed ourselves abd would stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 533 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

They advertise as having the "best beds on route 66," and they aren't joking. After a long day of driving the Mother Road, you'll find it difficult to climb out of the covers once you sink into one of their dreamy pillow-top mattresses.
As a renovated, historic motel, everything is sparkling new and top of the line and extremely clean and well cared for. In addition, they have coffee pots in the rooms, a luxury that is being abandoned in most places.
This motel is also home to the Rockabilly Suite, which makes my heart sing... sing rockabilly songs.
And if you're like me, a sucker for pink flamingos and atomic-era boomerangs, this motel will satisfy more than your sleeping needs. Their decor both in and outside the rooms is well thought out and a feast for the eyes.
One of my favorite features is the patio era, where you can enjoy the long dog days of summer while people watching the Mother Road and meeting new friends.
The Safari is also ideally located, close to the local bars, restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaLoca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Like so many other motels in Tucumcari, a town that was hit hard when the interstate replaced Route 66, the Safari is very retro, like the old motor courts of the 50s and 60s. The room was quite small and the bathroom even smaller but both were immaculate. The spare furniture, apparently custom done for the original motel, was perfect. The things they counted were excellent; the very large flatscreen TV and a wonderful mattress with wonderful pillows. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again when we pass through.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Frankenbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

If you are ever in Tucumcari, NM, I would recommend this motel.
Very retro.
Beds are very, very comfortable, which is a must after traveling all day.
It is an original Route 66 motel, so the bathrooms are tiny and they don't have refrigerators or microwaves in the room, but the corporate hotel with those things was $120/night and this room was $45/night.
They also don't have a complimentary breakfast, but I think I can buy a great breakfast for the difference in the price. The room does have a coffee pot for those who can't function without a cup of coffee in the am.
Owners are friendly and helpful (give great recommendations for dining).
Our room was spotless, warm and cozy.
We have stayed here in the past and will do so again when traveling through the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perferscamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Tucumcari is the half-way point on my trip to Phoenix and Motel Safari is where we always stay. A great location on historic Route 66. The mattresses are good quality, nice bedding, towels are fluffy and bright white. Flat screen tv, retro radio and photos from old Route 66 give the rooms character. The price is fair and a great value.

Room Tip: Try to get as far away as possible from Route 66,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 614MaryS614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Cons: No in-room refrigerator, no heating vents in bathroom, no hairdryer, no electrical plugs near the sink
Pros: Super clean, fun retro décor, flat screen TV, wonderfully comfortable beds, welcoming hosts, economical

All in all, if you can abide with the cons listed above, the Safari is a good bet. We arrived in Tucumcari right after a major ice storm hit the Texas panhandle and the whole area had been swamped with desperate travelers. There was plenty of room the night we arrived, however. My only concern was that we just couldn't get the rooms warm enough, despite our best efforts. It wasn't enough to turn us off to the motel in the future, but other travelers may need to request another blanket if you're traveling with folks who tend to run cold.

Room Tip: Occasionally semi trucks park for the night in the abandoned gas station to the west side of the mot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DellaDidDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Rolled into Tucumcari after a long day's drive. We had reservations, so the check in was short, yet personable. Not many folks staying the night we were there in mid October, so things were pretty quiet. Our room was warm and clean, bed and pillows were comfortable. The dinner recommendation for the Lizard Lounge just down the street was a good one. They had the hottest salsa I had ever eaten. Waiter said that it had habaneros in it! Yummy, but numbed the tongue in just a few minutes. The only reason that I detract 1 star from this rating is for the fact that, in our room, there was no electrical outlet for shavers/hair dryers in the vanity area, which made things a little inconvenient, but we managed. All in all, a nice, quiet, overnight stay on Route 66. I recommended this motel to a friend who travels through Tucumcari often, but usually stayed at a more expensive place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larryf1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 23 in Tucumcari
761 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 23 in Tucumcari
296 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 23 in Tucumcari
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Safari

Address: 722 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range: $44 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Motel Safari on Historic Route 66 in Tucumcari, New Mexico, has been a Mother Road icon for almost 60 years! We invite you to skip the big chains and experience road travel the way it used to be. Enjoy an authentic slice of Americana with mid-century modern accommodations that don't sacrifice today's comforts and amenities. Relax on Sealy Posturepedic pillow-top mattresses, enjoy 32" HDTVs with cable, groove with Tivoli Audio BT One streaming Rte 66 Radio, cool off with remote-controlled Frigid-Aire, refresh with Speakman Anystream showerheads, stay connected with fast, free WiFi, and wake up to in-room coffee makers. And you can park right at your room! Head outside to unwind on the patio, enjoy the fire pit and visit with fellow travelers. We're centrally located, close to dining, shopping and attractions, with many just a short walk away. When getting your kicks on 66 in Tucumcari, make the Motel Safari your home away from home. Just look for the camel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Motel Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing