We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop here!”
Review of Motel Safari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Safari
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Typical motel stop on old Route 66 but when we went opened our room door we could have been in a 4* hotel! Admittedly we did have their best room but at $99 it was great value. Very spacious with a separate sitting room. Spotlessly clean and very friendly owners.

Room Tip: Ask for the Wanda Jackson room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 521 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I from Australia and my cousin from Kansas City stayed here in August 2013. We had no booking so were pleasantly surprised to get such great service and rooms from Gail, the new ownwer. We had the new suite, just fantastic, clean, modern retro and huge TV and Bed. The pillows were the best I have ever slept on. My cousin had a double room nearby which was just as clean and comfortable. Gail was very helpful in advising us where to eat, where to shop and more importantly where to stay in the next few towns we were visiting. Her advice proved to be spot-on. Thankyou Gail, our experience in your town is one we will never forget.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennefer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews on TA we thought we'd give Motel Safari a try. Great choice! Room was super clean. We loved that feel of the historic route 66 days gone by. Don't let the run down parts of town steer you away. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PierceGravette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was an overnight stop along Route 66. The rooms are updated and clean, and the whole motel is well maintained. The room was comfortable and we were escorted to it by Gail, who offered recommendations for dinner. This is in the middle of the Tucumcari Route 66 and offers some great photos of the old motel signs which are beautiful at night.

Room Tip: Phones are for decor, so you will need your cell phone, or take a walk for calls. This was not an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jbollig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here as the jumping off point for a motorcycle trip into northern new mexico. I didn't have advance reservations; after arriving in Amarillo I started calling for lodging near Tucumcari. After calling the usual national brands and being quoted $100 + per night rates, I called a smaller well reviewed motel in the area; they were sold out, but recommended Motel Safari. I called and talked to the owner; she was so pleasant to deal with. She reserved my room and gave me directions from Amarillo to the property. Upon arrival I checked in and Gail (the owner) walked me to my room. The property is an older 1950s - 60s motor lodge situated along old Route 66. It has been recently renovated; the exterior isn't much, but the rooms are wonderful - clean, smart, sharp, and very comfortable. The beds are well appointed and keeping in a nice 60s color scheme; but not over-the-top retro. Room amenities are standard and include a large flat screen with excellent channel selection, in room refrigerator, wi-fi access, and coffee maker (note: for the hard core expresso junkie, there are nice options nearby). I was offered clean up rags for my motorcycle; and also offered to shelter my bike in an enclosed area - very considerate offer. My room was quite and very very comfortable. I have to mention one feature - the bathrooms and bath towels ! Marvelous. While most hotel bathrooms are horrible- think fiberglass surround tubs, cheap towels, and no flow showers. The Motel Safari was a complete 180 ! Excellent shower head and water flow, all ceramic tile surround tub, and luxurious over sized towels ! PERFECT !

Did I mention all this for a rate of $66.00 ? Yep.

This is a wonderful find in an area that is over saturated with lesser lodging. I advise ya all to check out Motel Safari. The only negative - no pool.

Room Tip: Motel Safari is a small property and i didn't notice any room advantages that I can recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rally123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This motel is a treasure! If you're looking for a very authentic Route 66 experience, this is the place!
It is all decked out and furnished in the 60's decor. It is so clean, it is emmaculate!!

Gail, the owner, is so helpful and she takes a very personal interest in her guests. She made us feel very welcome.

The bed was comfortable, the room very clean, and the atmosphere was 60's. perfect.... What more could u ask for while
Driving Route 66 to California?!!! This hotel is a real GEM !!! DO stop in and spend the night!!! You will love it!!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Travelling along Route 66 you want to experience a bit of the past, so it's good to stay at an authentic motel, some motels are a bit of a worry however not Motel Safari, what a great place, the rooms are as good as any modern hotel spacious, clean, great beds and sheets, great nights sleep

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 23 in Tucumcari
744 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#11 of 23 in Tucumcari
233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 23 in Tucumcari
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 23 in Tucumcari
553 reviews
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Tucumcari
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Safari

Address: 722 E Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range: $44 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Motel Safari on Historic Route 66 in Tucumcari, New Mexico, has been a Mother Road icon for almost 60 years! We invite you to skip the big chains, drive out a little further and experience road travel the way it used to be. Enjoy an authentic slice of Americana with mid-century modern accommodations that don't sacrifice comfort and modern amenities. Relax on our Sealy Posturepedic pillow-top mattresses with down surround pillows, enjoy 32-inch flat panel HDTVs with cable, cool off with remote-controlled Frigid-Aire, refresh with Speakman Anystream showerheads, stay connected with fast, free WiFi, and wake up to in-room coffee makers. And you can park right at your room! Head outside to unwind on the patio and visit with fellow travelers. We're centrally located, close to dining, shopping and attractions, with several places just a short walk away. When getting your kicks on 66 in Tucumcari, make the Motel Safari your home away from home. Just look for the camel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Motel Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing