We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rapidly becoming a Route 66 icon!”
Review of Motel Safari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Safari
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I can only agree with all the other reviews - excellent motel with a friendly welcome, good clean rooms and parking right in front of your door. And of course, it's right on Route 66! Long may it prosper!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvertonsiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 526 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

I just read several of the reviews that were just written and they say it all!!! We were on our way west to a mission trip to the Navajo Indian Reservation from Ohio and had reservations here based on previous reviews from TripAdvisor and it was soooo awesome to stay here! The owner also called to see if we had questions on how to get there, she came to our room and pointed out the features of the room when we checked in and just made us feel very welcome. The motel with its retro look has all the modern conveniences and beautifully decorated! If I ever go west again, this WILL be my stop!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank goldwingtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were looking for a bit of nostalgia on Route 66 and the Safari is perfect Diane was a gracious hostess and shared information about the area Room was spotless and very retro. I could imagine Rickey and Lucy staying there on vacation. it was a very hot day and the ax struggled to keep the heat at bay but for $66 it was a value.

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

A buddy of mine and I stumbled upon the Motel Safari back in 2009 on our way to a Carson National Forest vacation. What a pleasant surprise - like a mirage in the middle of a proverbial dessert. Took tripadvisors advice and booked two rooms there - and glad we did. Between the retro look, the spotless rooms, and the bedding that was incredibly comfortable - we were hooked! It is owned/operated by Richard and Gail. We ended up coming through Tucumcari on our way to Colorado and stayed at the Motel Safari in late May, and on our return trip in early June. Had a similarly enjoyable experience (except for the dust storm, but even that was unique experience). Looking for reasons to travel through Tucumcari so that we can visit again...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at Motel Safari on a recent road trip across country. The rooms were clean, comfortable, well renovated, and the beds and linens, very comfortable. All in all, a great stay and I would recommend this great little spot to anyone staying in Tucumcari.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenpointJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had the privilege to stay at the Motel Safari on our R66 road trip and had a fabulous time.

Richard and Gail were brilliant hosts and we spent a very enjoyable evening with them, chatting over a coupe of beers.

The room / bathroom were immaculate and we had the best nights sleep ever. Gail recommended the Lizard Lounge for dinner and we were not disappointed at all.

It was really nice to be able to sit outside the room and enjoy the sunset in the evening.

It is really obvious that Gail and Richard love what they do and love R66, our only regret was we coud not stay longer.

Thank you be you very much for making us feel so welcome

Room Tip: Just stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in Tucumcari, NM on our way to visit friends in New Mexico and were pleasantly surprised by both the town and the motels. The innkeeper at Motel Safari called us to see if we needed directions to get there and was very friendly and nice. The motel is on a strip with a lot of other independently-owned motels which are mostly all very well maintained. I am not one for commercial fun (i.e. Disneyland) so I wondered how I would like the very Route 66 themed town, but it was kitschy instead of obnoxious. The food at Del's was quite tasty. I went with low expectations and left feeling like I'd gotten way more than I bargained for. Excellent value. Clean rooms. Fun for a day. Great motel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 23 in Tucumcari
754 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
1.4 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 23 in Tucumcari
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 23 in Tucumcari
286 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Safari

Address: 722 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range: $44 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Motel Safari on Historic Route 66 in Tucumcari, New Mexico, has been a Mother Road icon for almost 60 years! We invite you to skip the big chains, drive out a little further and experience road travel the way it used to be. Enjoy an authentic slice of Americana with mid-century modern accommodations that don't sacrifice comfort and modern amenities. Relax on our Sealy Posturepedic pillow-top mattresses with down surround pillows, enjoy 32-inch flat panel HDTVs with cable, cool off with remote-controlled Frigid-Aire, refresh with Speakman Anystream showerheads, stay connected with fast, free WiFi, and wake up to in-room coffee makers. And you can park right at your room! Head outside to unwind on the patio and visit with fellow travelers. We're centrally located, close to dining, shopping and attractions, with several places just a short walk away. When getting your kicks on 66 in Tucumcari, make the Motel Safari your home away from home. Just look for the camel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Motel Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing