We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delight!”
Review of Motel Safari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Safari
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

It is wonderful to find an old mid-century motel, just past the tourist court era, restored to a habitable level. Cleaner and better kept than almost every 2-star chain hotel. Many old furnishings, but a great bed, great flat-screen, modern climate control with a remote thermostat, wireless, and spotlessly clean. I would've avoided this place without all the great reviews on Tripadvisor, and they are right! Gail, at the front desk, is very helpful as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeTraveler999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 519 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great place to stay ~ a touch of the past with a clean, beautifully decorated room and clean bathroom facilities. Highly recommend. Management very enlightening in suggestions where to eat, etc. Would most definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Motel Safari is an excellent place to stay in Tucumcari. Our hosts Richard and Gail take great care of me every time we are in town. I think that the Motel Safari has the best on the Mother Road and a great patio to sit out on in the evening.

Room Tip: Their all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motherroadllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Wonderful host, helpful in locating good places to eat, the mural trail, and attractions.
Excellent beds. No refrigerator, no microwave, no hairdryers , no safety(grab) bars. But the location and the cleanliness well out weigh any negative factors.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spending a couple of nights at the Motel Safari in Tucumcari. Still one of the best on Route 66 between Chicago and Santa Monica. Never had a bad night here. Super comfortable beds, spacious rooms, and great hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyboy1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This small town motel in historic Tucumcari, NM turned out to be a delight in our travels. It is right on historic route 66 which is conveniently right off I-40. The authenticity of a sixties roadside motel still exists yet the comfort of a modern day hotel room is there. Great beds with top flight linens and towels----not over done, just the right touch. Additionally from a rate standpoint, it is a bargain. We will definitely stop there on the way back east. Put it on your list when you visit the mother road.

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I did a cross country road trip form Glendale, Arizona to Washington DC. My first night out was in Tucumcarri, New Mexico. I had the pleasure of staying at Motel Safari. It is a preserved and remodeled typical roadside motel from the glory days of old Route 66. The room was immaculately clean. The owner is a gem. If you have a chance, skip the national chains in the area and give Motel Safari a chance to transport you back to a better time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onesaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 23 in Tucumcari
741 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#11 of 23 in Tucumcari
233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 23 in Tucumcari
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 23 in Tucumcari
552 reviews
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Tucumcari
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Safari

Address: 722 E Route 66, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range: $44 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Motel Safari on Historic Route 66 in Tucumcari, New Mexico, has been a Mother Road icon for almost 60 years! We invite you to skip the big chains, drive out a little further and experience road travel the way it used to be. Enjoy an authentic slice of Americana with mid-century modern accommodations that don't sacrifice comfort and modern amenities. Relax on our Sealy Posturepedic pillow-top mattresses with down surround pillows, enjoy 32-inch flat panel HDTVs with cable, cool off with remote-controlled Frigid-Aire, refresh with Speakman Anystream showerheads, stay connected with fast, free WiFi, and wake up to in-room coffee makers. And you can park right at your room! Head outside to unwind on the patio and visit with fellow travelers. We're centrally located, close to dining, shopping and attractions, with several places just a short walk away. When getting your kicks on 66 in Tucumcari, make the Motel Safari your home away from home. Just look for the camel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Motel Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing