We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern stylish refurb of an amazing classic route 66 motel”
Review of Motel Safari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Safari
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We drove route 66 on our honeymoon and found this the best motel we stayed at on th whole journey!! Tucumcari is a lovelylittle town..so much history! And this motel was so well restored...modern styling with a retro feel! Incredibly comfy beds, all sheets etc were so clean and new...wish we could of stayed there longer..can not recommend enough!!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wethreeclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 526 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2011

Don't pass up this motel, due to it not being a known chain. Very nice Motel and the staff is very friendly. Personal service, wow I didn't know that still happened. :-) The clerk personally walked me to my room, showing me the amenities.

The bed was very comfortable, plenty of places in which to eat close by. Near route 66, so you get that ambience.

I will definitely stay again if I am every in that area. :-)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netkatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We travel from Arizona to Kansas City at least once a year. Tucumcari is at the halfway point of our trip but we only stayed in this town once due to our disappointment in accommodations. We decided to give it one more try and we are so delighted that we found the Motel Safari on TripAdvisor plus the online rate was beyond reasonable for these rooms.
The previous post said it all so I will not be repetitious but I must add that the bath towels are some of the plushist I have ever used. Keep in mind this is an updated 50's motel so there is no spacious vanity and in fact the only electrical outlet at the sink was in the overhead light. Just like when I was growing up! This is not the type of motel I would ever have considered in the past if I were driving down the road but I'm so glad we gave it a chance. In fact my husband stayed there again last night on his solo trip home....a welcoming place to get refreshed and start back on the road.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Safari is now one of our favourite places to stay on Route 66, but whether you're traveling the Mother Road or not, Motel Safari is the place to stay when you're in the town of Tucumcari. A classic 50s motel that has been thoughtfully, lovingly updated, the Safari retains a fantastic sense of 50s MCM swank while still being comfortable.

The proprietress was friendly and showed us directly to our room, which was clean and fresh with smart decor. The beds are comfortable, there is a desk for your things, and you can even open the windows if you like fresh air and birdsong. We were given great advice regarding where to eat and where we could find wine (it had been a long day on 66!) if we wanted some. Guests are welcome to sit on provided chairs outside their rooms. I imagine if you get the right crowd here all at once, it could be quite fun!

For the price and ambiance, I don't think you can do better in Tucumcari. We had a wonderful stay and next time we come through town, we'll definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaimannaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Have stayed there twice and will stay again. Excellent motel at a moderate price. The beds are super comfortable, plush bathtowels and room is VERY clean. Had a little problem with wifi on our 1st visit but it was remedied on our 2nd visit. Owners bend over backwards to make sure your stay is the best. There's a coffee pot in the room which is very handy. We also recommend eating at Del's. Delicious food.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

If you're driving the Mother Road, make it a point to stop here. The proprietors are very interested in meeting every traveller, ensuring the comfort of their guests, and guiding pilgrims on to future stops. The hotel is built in the DooWop architectural style and is very unique among classic hotels.
I prefer to stay at classic hotels because the owners are home town forlks trying to make a go of it among highly advertised competition. If you would like to see small town America survive, these are the places to stay.
Route 66 is a Community where word of mouth sales are honest and informative. While in Tucumcari; you should try "Del's Restaurant" for dinner and "Kix on 66" for breakfast. I highly recommend this place to any and all travellers, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTvanHaaften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This place was the most amazing bargain during our trip along Route 66. We were checked in by Gail who was very pleasant and adds a personal touch by being inquisitive just enough about your travels. Just a warning to future guests, the office is not open all the time and the best time to catch someone is first thing in the morning or around 3-4 pm in the afternoon. The office will be closed depending on errands or things that they have to do!

Our room, though basic, was spotless. Also, it was very spacious, which is hard to find in these old motels. The King bed was a new pillow top and extremely comfy, plus topped with plenty of soft pillows. Sheets were surprisingly high end as well as the thick, fluffy towels and Vanilla Pro Terra bath products. Wifi was fast and like a previous reviewer said, it depends where you are located as well as the device that you have. It was extremely warm during our stay and the A/C worked quite well.

Slight improvements that could be made to the rooms are a second bedside light and end table (there is only one on one side of the bed which is odd and inconvenient for a king bed) plus maybe a luggage rack or two. It was fairly awkward having to lay our suitcases on the floor. On a couple of occasions there was no hot water. However, we were paying $49.00 a night so these things in reality are no big deal.

This is a definite stop if you want a character motel and retro feeling of an overnight stay on Route 66 plus enjoy your creature comforts as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lady_World_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 23 in Tucumcari
754 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
1.4 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 23 in Tucumcari
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 23 in Tucumcari
287 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Safari

Address: 722 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range: $44 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Motel Safari on Historic Route 66 in Tucumcari, New Mexico, has been a Mother Road icon for almost 60 years! We invite you to skip the big chains, drive out a little further and experience road travel the way it used to be. Enjoy an authentic slice of Americana with mid-century modern accommodations that don't sacrifice comfort and modern amenities. Relax on our Sealy Posturepedic pillow-top mattresses with down surround pillows, enjoy 32-inch flat panel HDTVs with cable, cool off with remote-controlled Frigid-Aire, refresh with Speakman Anystream showerheads, stay connected with fast, free WiFi, and wake up to in-room coffee makers. And you can park right at your room! Head outside to unwind on the patio and visit with fellow travelers. We're centrally located, close to dining, shopping and attractions, with several places just a short walk away. When getting your kicks on 66 in Tucumcari, make the Motel Safari your home away from home. Just look for the camel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Motel Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing