We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great exterior, well worn interior”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Route 66 Motel
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Helix, OR
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great exterior, well worn interior”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This place was "recommended". It was highly touted in TripAdvisor and they took dogs, but it was a bit overrated. Great mid century modern exterior, but the rooms could really use some rehabbing. It's good to be retro, but this was just old. Beds were good and comfortable and the linens were nice. The rooms were paneled I that dark cheap wood or wood-like paneling that was really popular in the 50s or 60s. A bit worse for wear. The carpet was a worn dark teal. Not sure if the place would have originally had carpet or linoleum, which was new and considered really modern, but with the dark paneling, this just made the room dark. Part that I loved was that the whole front, facing the parking lot, was floor to ceiling windows. That would lighten the place up, but it would also expose one to the highway and everybody else who drove in or walked by. Think it would probably be great with a courtyard and with sheers under the heavy drapes. The bathroom was more than tired. And it smelled like someone had been smoking, but they tried to cover it up with cleaner smell. Probably would go back, but not if I wanted to shower. Nice woman at the desk. Never saw the man. We had a flat tire and she volunteered their compressor to pump it up in the morning. However, they wouldn't be up until later than we were ready so we called AAA.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    94
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
110
117
37
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My friend and I were arriving ridiculously late after the office would be closed and Kathy, one of the owners, made arrangements for us so that we could still check in. Very accommodating and helpful, thank you! The exceptional customer service, the espresso bar and the mod retro look makes this Route 66 Motel a must see & stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marniyl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This motel is a real sleeper - pun intended! Room was clean and comfortable. Owner was very friendly. They have an excellent coffee shop on the premises where you can get coffee that is far better than the dishwater served in so many US restaurants.

Their prices are far too low for what they offer

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DUTCH_Van_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
osnabruck
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

It was only my feelings that must be the right place to stay.And it was.There is no complain about this nice and clean place to stay.Thanks to this friendly people.

Helmuth and Karoline from Vienna ,Austria

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkleo1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I, and our dogs, have stayed here three times and have never been sorry for our decision. The owners have always been helpful. And the rooms have always been nice. Loved it when they added the espresso cafe. I have been telling everyone to stop here if at all possible. Later this summer I'll be driving the in-laws out West on a extended road trip, and will travel an extra 500 miles in order to spend the night and show-off this gem of Rt.66 history. Also to go down the road and have a drink at the Lizard Lounge. Thank you Cathy and Michael for saving this little bit of Americana. Love this place, see you soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our family of five stopped off here on our way from AZ to TX winding down our Spring Break trip and wanting a little bit of the Route 66 vibe. We booked a King for my husband and me, a single Queen for my son and the corner double beds for our daughters, and everyone was very happy with their rooms - not easy to please teenagers! It was different than anywhere they had ever stayed, and me too for that matter, giving us a new experience. My husband and I loved the walls of windows to our room, but note the corner room for the girls didn't have this. Since they are teenage girls, it actually made me feel a lot safer without the wall of windows for them. Check-in and check-out were simple, the rooms were of good size, comfy and like stepping back in time. I've read the reviews concerning the window units, but I am a light sleeper and it didn't bother me. However, do expect it to turn on and off throughout the night. You have all the BARE necessities, but do not stay here if you are expecting the Ritz..... you are not PAYING for the Ritz. These rooms are of great value! Everything here was as expected for us, with only one delightful exception, the stylish coffee bar! The owner made me a killer cappuccino, and I stole a few moments with my IPad, coffee and a biscotti in the morning.

There are a few pastries at the coffee shop, but if you desire a large, homestyle cooked breakfast head to Kix on 66 just down the street.

Room Tip: If you would like a wall of windows to your room, don't pick a corner. If you want tons of spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXSnoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Arizona
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stopped here for one night in January. Check in was smooth, except for the pet paperwork, which was a little intimidating.

Our room was clean, and the beds comfortable

The only drawback, as mentioned in other reviews, was the very noisy wall mounted heater/ac unit. If you are a light sleeper, either bring earplugs, or stay elsewhere.

Also, the front desk is not manned until 3:00pm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#5 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.5 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 22 in Tucumcari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Route 66 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Route 66 Motel

Property: Historic Route 66 Motel
Address: 1620 East Tucumcari Blvd., Tucumcari, NM 88401-4331
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#3 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#3 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Route 66 Motel is a mid-century modern hotel that is similar in style and atmosphere to hotels and homes designed by Mies van der Rohe, Joseph Eichler, and Oscar Niemeyer. Built in 1963, both the exterior and interior is more than a little reminiscent of "California Modern", a style that was so popular until the latter sixties. Our mission is to provide clean, private, and comfortable overnight accommodations for guests at an extremely reasonable rate. Refrigerators and microwaves are available in select rooms. The Motel also includes a popular European Style Espresso Bar on the west wing where guests receive a 10% discount on all items and an exterior corridor, where guests can park directly, or nearly directly, in front of their rooms. The Historic Route 66 Motel is operated by a professional staff directly managed by the owners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Historic Route 66 Hotel Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing