We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly cheap hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Route 66 Motel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Very nice lady checked us in and recommended a decent restaurant for dinner. For $34 bux you can't expect much in this drab almost ghost town. Also, nice to have early am coffee right next door.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mvated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 373 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2011

In July, I was en route to Phoenix from Wichita and it began to get dark so I stopped in Tucumcari after a long day of driving and found this place. As a person who often judges a book by its cover, I was fearful of the 39 dollar price for one night, but this place exceeded expectations. It was a nostalgic person's paradise. If you love the 1960's, stay at this place. The staff are very friendly and polite and will do anything to accommodate you and the coffee shop is also wonderful. This place is also very clean. If you're fearful of bed bugs, mold, roaches or anything frightening like that, stay here. Its a safe haven. I'll definitely go back if I can.

Room Tip: Ask for a room, you'll get a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingGolieth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Searched trip advisor and found great reviews. Met Catherine when we checked in and fell in love with the place. Felt like we were really back in the 50's with the very clean spacious retro room but still felt modern. Catherine told us about a wonderful mexican restaurant to eat and gave us discount coupons. Our whole experience was one to remember on route 66.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We found this place on line and it had great reviews. $39 a night was pretty amazing for this cute little well kept motel. It had a retro vibe and was very clean. We had a king bed which was very comfy. Also free Wi-Fi which was nice. The owner referred us to a nice Mexican restaurant in town as well which had amazing food. We will definitely stay here again :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Don't expect the Holiday or Hampton Inns. This is a very clean room with a bed, tv, and bathroom for $29.95 (plus $5 for pets). Took a chance and was so happy with the value, stayed there on the return trip home. Has a coffee bar attached with 20% discount if you were a guest. They didn't have to coffee ready when I stopped by, so they brought it to the room with my change. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandyFromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We had originally tried to stay at the famous Blue Swallow motel, but they were full and the owners referred us to this place (which is half the price!!). We were pleasantly surprised, it definitely has a retro vibe and has a great coffee shop next door, owned by the motel owners. Apparently it is mostly for the convenience of the people staying at the motel, though, as it is only open until 11:00am daily. We had car problems the morning we were to leave (luckily, only a dead battery) and the owners were kind enough to let me use the phone and wait in their laundry room until the tow truck came with a battery charger. Very nice folks! If you are travelling through Tucumcari, be sure to give this place a try!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyhobbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Off season rates are $29, including a fridge and microwave. This is a classic Route 66 motel, from the gomden age of driving. Full glass windows on the front (with heavy room darkening curtains), wood panel walls and a very comfortable feeling. Very clean and well kept. The staff is friendly and honestly interested in their clientele, and it is dog friendly, with a very modest $5 charge, and an area next door that can be used to let most dogs off lead for exercise.

If you are travelling west on I-40, and you can drive the extra distance past Texas, this is definitely where to stop!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 23 in Tucumcari
748 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 23 in Tucumcari
559 reviews
1.5 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 23 in Tucumcari
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
1.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#12 of 23 in Tucumcari
233 reviews
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Route 66 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Route 66 Motel

Address: 1620 East Tucumcari Blvd., Tucumcari, NM 88401-4331
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#3 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#3 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range: $32 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Route 66 Motel is a mid-century modern hotel that is similar in style and atmosphere to hotels and homes designed by Mies van der Rohe, Joseph Eichler, and Oscar Niemeyer. Built in 1963, both the exterior and interior is more than a little reminiscent of "California Modern", a style that was so popular until the latter sixties. Our mission is to provide clean, private, and comfortable overnight accommodations for guests at an extremely reasonable rate. Refrigerators and microwaves are available in select rooms. The Motel also includes a popular European Style Espresso Bar on the west wing where guests receive a 10% discount on all items and an exterior corridor, where guests can park directly, or nearly directly, in front of their rooms. The Historic Route 66 Motel is operated by a professional staff directly managed by the owners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Historic Route 66 Hotel Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing