We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Desert View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Desert View Inn
Reviewed August 27, 2012

You could not ask for nicer people, this is a great place to stay clean, quiet and great view. Great value. The owner grinds fresh coffee each day for you. How many places give such personal service? They provide benches out side of the room, we sat out in the wonderful breeze for a long time one evening just enjoying the quiet. When family or friends need a place to stay visiting T or C, this will be the place for them.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Desert View Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 115 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

Friendly owner, great value. Room was very clean. Decor was out of date but what do you expect for $40? Free wifi, ref, microwave included. What a bargain! I'd definitely stay here again. Only negative was the short showerhead.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZDessertRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have stayed here several times and always find it clean and comfortable with very friendly service. Rooms have ben repainted, bathrooms retiled, and ceiling fans installed (why doesn't every motel do this?) Above all, great value!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawsonj1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a clean, large room with working wi-fi and everything else. Small but functional bathroom. Convenient location on the main drag, about 1 mile from the mineral baths area and near several restaurants and shops. Funky, old Americana road trip-feel run by a friendly Brit. Excellent value for money here and a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: The room all the way at the end has an alcove with an extra bed, which is great if travelling with f...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed here several years ago, and reviewed it then. I think it's the same owner (friendly and helpful). At that time, I had a room that was newly remodeled, and it was very nice and very inexpensive to boot. This time, the room wasn't as nice. Housekeeping was only average - dirt/fingerprints around the door, the curtains didn't quite fit right - didn't have all the hooks to hook to the curtain rods, and the bed was average. The bathroom was very clean though, and the carpet etc. The 'standard' housekeeping had been done well. Smallish TV, but acceptable channels. Location isn't great, but it is convenient and is set up just a bit from the property to the south, so there's a nice view.

Room Tip: Some rooms have been more recently remodeled than others...try to get a newer one.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BROCIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I'll bet it was built in the 50's, but is clean, freshly painted, and well keep. Other room are twice as much and half as nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I just finished my second two-week Roadtrip in the US and since I am what you call a "budget conscious" traveller, you can be assured that I have stayed at many, many motels. There were some horrible experiences along the way but this one was definitely one of the best, if not THE best, motel I have ever stayed at.

We were 2 people and payed 43 Dollars for a huge, clean room that had satellite TV, high speed Internet, a microwave, fridge and 2 big beds! Actually, 4 people could have stayed in that room. The room had 3 windows from which you actually had the promised "Desert View" and the owner and his dog are very friendly and welcoming.

I would definitely recommend this!!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank cecile2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truth or Consequences
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
828 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
#8 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#7 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
127 reviews
3.7 mi away
Elephant Butte Inn
Elephant Butte Inn
#1 of 2 in Elephant Butte
108 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rio Grande Motel
Rio Grande Motel
#1 of 1 in Williamsburg
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert View Inn

Address: 906 N Date St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901-1748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Truth or Consequences
Price Range: $58 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Desert View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Desert View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing