We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room, great price!”
Review of Desert View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Desert View Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean room, great price!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Friendly owner, great value. Room was very clean. Decor was out of date but what do you expect for $40? Free wifi, ref, microwave included. What a bargain! I'd definitely stay here again. Only negative was the short showerhead.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TucsonNotTuscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    32
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
43
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have stayed here several times and always find it clean and comfortable with very friendly service. Rooms have ben repainted, bathrooms retiled, and ceiling fans installed (why doesn't every motel do this?) Above all, great value!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawsonj1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanab, Utah
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a clean, large room with working wi-fi and everything else. Small but functional bathroom. Convenient location on the main drag, about 1 mile from the mineral baths area and near several restaurants and shops. Funky, old Americana road trip-feel run by a friendly Brit. Excellent value for money here and a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: The room all the way at the end has an alcove with an extra bed, which is great if travelling with f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed here several years ago, and reviewed it then. I think it's the same owner (friendly and helpful). At that time, I had a room that was newly remodeled, and it was very nice and very inexpensive to boot. This time, the room wasn't as nice. Housekeeping was only average - dirt/fingerprints around the door, the curtains didn't quite fit right - didn't have all the hooks to hook to the curtain rods, and the bed was average. The bathroom was very clean though, and the carpet etc. The 'standard' housekeeping had been done well. Smallish TV, but acceptable channels. Location isn't great, but it is convenient and is set up just a bit from the property to the south, so there's a nice view.

Room Tip: Some rooms have been more recently remodeled than others...try to get a newer one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BROCIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I'll bet it was built in the 50's, but is clean, freshly painted, and well keep. Other room are twice as much and half as nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I just finished my second two-week Roadtrip in the US and since I am what you call a "budget conscious" traveller, you can be assured that I have stayed at many, many motels. There were some horrible experiences along the way but this one was definitely one of the best, if not THE best, motel I have ever stayed at.

We were 2 people and payed 43 Dollars for a huge, clean room that had satellite TV, high speed Internet, a microwave, fridge and 2 big beds! Actually, 4 people could have stayed in that room. The room had 3 windows from which you actually had the promised "Desert View" and the owner and his dog are very friendly and welcoming.

I would definitely recommend this!!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cecile2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
442 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My husband and I needed a place to stay in Truth or Consequences. Going by the reviews here on Trip Advisor - we decided to take a chance - and we're so glad we did! It's a family run inn and they were very pleasant to work with as we called to make our reservations. There is also a website where you can book reservations over the internet so you don't need to call.

The rooms are not lavish, but the beds are wonderful! We had a great night's sleep -just what we wanted and needed. Another bonus is that our room was very quiet - we could hardly hear any street noise. If you get there a bit early, you can sit on the front porch and enjoy some fresh air, or cozy up in the recliner in your room and watch a bit of t.v.

The owner provides fresh coffee in the morning. We're not coffee drinkers so we passed, but it was a nice gesture.

Don't be disappointed in the towels, or soap. Just remember what a great deal the room price is and you wouldn't be getting plush towels at certain other "bargain" motel chains that charge more, either. ; )

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeisverygood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truth or Consequences
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Truth OR Consequences
Travelodge Truth OR Consequences
#8 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#7 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.7 mi away
Elephant Butte Inn
Elephant Butte Inn
#1 of 2 in Elephant Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocket Inn
Rocket Inn
#4 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert View Inn

Property: Desert View Inn
Address: 906 N Date St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901-1748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Truth or Consequences
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Desert View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Desert View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing