We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't really know how to rate this property”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truth or Consequences
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackstone Hotsprings Lodging & Baths
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't really know how to rate this property”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I've been struggling on how to rate this property. The hot baths are grand, a unique and rewarding experience, and we will return just for those. The public bath (in a room that you reserve for an hour for privacy) is amazing, with a water fall that is an excellent massage tool, and very hot water than drains the day's strains away. The water is hot (106F in the pool, 108Fin the falls said the attendant). Same hotel water available in very large tubs/pools in the rooms -- I measured ours at 6x6 feet but with a diagonal cut. That hot minteral water and both public and in-room pools was very good and worth the visit. The rest of the hotel is not much: a 1950s road-side motel modernized, but it still feels like a 1950s road-side motel. Decor has cheezy Holiwood tie-ins that are pretty meaningless. The property needs more modernization to bring the decor and rooms up to modern travel standards.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prescottclearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    71
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
329
53
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We hadn't had a good night's rest in sometime. The bed was amazingly comfortable after a great soak in our inroom springs. We stayed in the Jetson room, which was very clean and well supplied with coffee, and accommodations for our snacks. we will be back. thank u

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmbuttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Staff was very helpful from reservation to check in.
Gardens were clearly a labor of love, and very pleasant.

A step up from some other places in town.
Hot spring right in the room was awesome.
Stayed in the Jetson's room, which was super cute and comfy. Best bed on our weeklong trip--nice big supportive yet soft King size....yay.

Kitchen was serviceable, but just a sink, micro and fridge- no stovetop. Should plan accordingly if you want to hang in your room.

Really nice, and will recommend.

Room Tip: Worth 'splurging' on the double tub rooms....still a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuttipen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in the Jetson's room in July. The bed was luxuriously comfortable. The tub and mineral bath was amazing. The room is a great size plus is it has a comfortable sitting area. There is also a kitchen area with a large fridge. We enjoyed the patio, having coffee and reading. The courtyard is very pretty. Everything was spotless and we just couldn't find anything out of place. We felt much thought went into the renovation of this old motor court. We would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splendah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have been visiting Blackstone annually for several years. The draw is the in-room mineral bath and serene quiet environment. I like having a little kitchenette, too. Nothing has been changed or updated in the several years that I have been staying there. Some signs of wear and tear are beginning to show. Check-in was by some young person who seemed to be the only one around that afternoon. My credit card was charged in full for all nights reserved at the time of check-in. This is problematic if you need to check out earlier than anticipated. I was hoping to unwind for two nights getting lots of soaking time in coupled with catching up with some work at the office online. Unfortunately, the internet speed was way too slow and the wireless signal not strong enough for all of my devices to detect. My Macbook and iPad got a signal but my iPhone 5 could not. I was in the Golden Girls room. I am writing this review from a hotel room in Las Vegas where I am enjoying download speeds of 16 mbps. The speed at Blackstone was less than 300 kbps at best, rendering connectivity basically useless except for light browsing and checking of e-mails. I couldn't download a larger file I needed from work. Streaming from Netfilix or other media sources was impossible. If I return, it will be for just one night and I'll be sure to take care of my connectivity needs beforehand. At least there are a lot of channels to watch on the DirecTV satellite TV.

Kitchenware is minimalist. A couple of days worth of coffee is provided along with a decent size coffeemaker. Towel racks are nonexistent and the towel supply is just adequate for a short stay. There were no hangers in the small piece of furniture provided for a 'closet". The bed and pillows were a little soft for my taste.

I like the rehab that the owners did on this old motor hotel. The appeal has diminished to some degree for the reasons stated above and, despite having to leave a night early due to the lack of a suitable internet connection, I was charged over $150 for the second reserved night that I did not actually stay there despite my direct appeal to the owner. That was just an unpleasant end note to this year's disappointing visit.

Room Tip: Golden Girls and Jetsons are roomy with big soaking tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southwest_traveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Unpretentious and luxurious simultaneously. good for T or C. clean, beds are what you want, plenty of hot water, i give it an A.come here if you have to visit T or C in the monsoon season. And for once, a place that supplies a good amount of good ground coffee and plenty of coffee filters!

Room Tip: don't worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackstoneManager, Guest Relations Manager at Blackstone Hotsprings Lodging & Baths, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for the review!

Regarding your tip - "don't worry" - we'd only add "be happy." :)

Glad you were happy at Blackstone!

Best,
Ralph & Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had an overnight stay in the Jetson's room for our 16th wedding anniversary and absolutely LOVED it! This was our first stay at Blackstone and we really enjoyed the freedom of a private in- room hot spring tub. I was skeptical about the tub size from the web-site's photo, but it was more than enough for two people. The water is heavenly- really hot, but in a good way. The bathrobes provided are a nice touch, and the kitchenette with fridge, microwave and coffee maker make this ideal for a longer stay next time. There are plates, flatware, coffee cups and wine glasses in this room, which was an added convenience.
We didn't try the wet room, because we were more than satisfied with our own tub, but based on other reviews, will make time to try it in the future.

One note, check-in time is 3pm, but we arrived a couple of hours early, hoping for an early check-in, and were not greeted warmly by the staff. Luckily we made the most of the time and took a drive and went to Wal-Mart to buy some supplies. (side note: Highly recommend Happy Belly Deli for breakfast and lunch)
One suggestion to Blackstone: make the room patios private instead of leaving the walkway directly behind the bathroom floor to ceiling windows.
Overall, still highly recommend Blackstone.

Room Tip: Choose a room with kitchenette and hot spring tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuniorTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truth or Consequences
0.2 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
4.6 mi away
Elephant Butte Inn
Elephant Butte Inn
#1 of 2 in Elephant Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Truth OR Consequences
Travelodge Truth OR Consequences
#9 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#7 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Spa
Pelican Spa
#3 of 6 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackstone Hotsprings Lodging & Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Hotsprings Lodging & Baths

Property: Blackstone Hotsprings Lodging & Baths
Address: 410 Austin St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901-3379
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truth or Consequences
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geothermal water at Blackstone Hotsprings flows at the perfect temperature for therapeutic baths and healing soaks. A beautifully restored 1930s motor court in the historic downtown bathhouse district of Truth or Consequences, New Mexico. Luxury lodging units each have a custom bath for unlimited private soaking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackstone Hotsprings Lodging And Baths
Blackstone Hotsprings Lodging & Baths Hotel Truth Or Consequences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing