We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A neat little place that needs to pay attention and upgrade its service!”
Review of Pelican Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pelican Spa
Ruidoso
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A neat little place that needs to pay attention and upgrade its service!”
Reviewed January 31, 2010

The Pelican Spa is well done, we loved the eclectic paint, decor and colors but we had the following problems, 1. Our room was cold and we had to ask for an extra room heater, 2. We had no soap nor shampoo in the room, 3. The toilet float did not work and we had to turn water on and off in order to use the toilet and 4. The locks on the outside doors are impossible to use...I would hate to have to run from a fire here! To be fair, the owners have done a really nice job with this place but they need to follow up to make sure hotel guests have the things they need. Compared to other Tor C B&B's or spa type ecelectic hotel rooms (and there are many in Tor C), we would bre reluctant to stay there again. Definitely not our favorite in Tor C.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Largeandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    37
    20
    7
    9
See reviews for
19
64
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Who would have thought a big-city guy like me could fall in love with a town in rural New Mexico? Friends had read cool things about T or C (as the locals call it) in the LA Times; so we took a long weekend and drove out there. Pelican Spa is colorful & cool looking--an eclectic mix of retro furniture, interesting art and artifacts, and a beautiful (in a deserty Georgia O"Keefe way) rock courtyard. If you are into the stark yet serene painted desert atmosphere, you'll love this place. The town's residents were very friendly, a surprising and interesting mix of ex-big city types, local ranchers, and hippies. Had a great time and would definitely go there again, but next time we would bring a Jeep to take advantage of all the off-road trials through the surrounding mountains.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAngelesCrystal37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We loved staying in the Pelican Annex! The little apartment was just right in price, size, comfort and funkiness (the place had great art on the walls and an eclectic mix of furnishings). We didn't soak at the Pelican as we wanted to experience outdoor tubs. We ate at some great restaurants: Los Arcos and Bella Lucca. We were very pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Stayed at Pelican Spa for a night Quirky decorated accommodations were fine, but the huge size of the "dust bunnies" that came flying off the ceiling fan all over our bed were disconcerting as was the dirty rug and lack of service.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbi2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

My daughter and I were traveling cross country and made a special trip to stay at the Pelican Spa. It was probably a motor court back in the 50's but has recently been redone in tropical colors. Our place had a living room, kitchen with fridge and microwave, bedroom and bath in hot pink and lavender. The decor is funky and makes you smile. We enjoyed the hot baths which are in private rooms in the spa so much that we stayed an extra nice. The town of Truth or Consequences is also quite quirky and delightful. Be sure that you look at the pictures!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeLoafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2009

First, let me start by noting this is actually a really interesting place, and would normally be right up my alley. I stayed in the Aqua room, which has a massive hot spring tub right it, which is great. Bright colors and unique decor make it a happy place.

A few serious drawbacks get it a lower rating however (I would give it 3.5 if I could). The room has no door on the bathroom. Now, since I was by myself, this was no problem. But were you traveling with someone, even a significant other, the toilet being right out there in the room is a little awkward. My room is right next to the office, and the door is not solid (panels are funky looking metal, with gaps) and there are windows high along the wall that are open. This means I can hear every conversation and the awful ring on the phone (its really loud and some kind of recorded music). Add to that the washers in the hall that I can hear from inside the room, and its not really the most peaceful place. I am sure when the office goes for the day, it will be better, but its still a little too much. I can her her turning pages in a book right now!

All of this would be ok if it were obvious before you book, but its not from the website (especially the open toilet bit). I choose this room as it was the only one with a tub in it, and since I am alone, I will stay in it. But for $90 in a crummy little town, its overpriced.

Also, their website says its on South Pershing- beware, its actually North Pershing.
Free internet is nice though, and the room is immaculate, funky, and unique. The decor is what pushes this back up to 4 starts- its a really pleasant room to look at, thoughtful in every detail.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joycehamilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We spent part of the week of New Years Eve at the Pelican. It is a sweet property with a welcoming courtyard and fantastic indoor concrete tubs of different sizes. Since they're indoors they got hot and steamy fast. There are also cold showers in the spa tub to cool off which is nice. All the tubs are private and they also have a lounge room if you want to watch a movie or hang out indoors. We stayed at the Annex which is about one mile from the spa. It is a sweet little casita perfect for two. The exterior is rock or slate and it's beautiful. The interior has hardwood floors and ceilings complete with vigas, arched doorways and plenty of fun art throughout. There is a kitchen, cable and wireless internet. We felt right at home and would go back and recommend this place to anyone.

  • Liked — The look and feel of the casita. It was really fun, hip, funky cool.
  • Disliked — I wish the tubs were outdoors. Or at least a way to get more fresh cool air into the spa rooms.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gotmoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truth or Consequences
0.2 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
4.5 mi away
Elephant Butte Inn
Elephant Butte Inn
#1 of 2 in Elephant Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#7 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Truth OR Consequences
Travelodge Truth OR Consequences
#9 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Charles Motel and Hot Springs Spa
Charles Motel and Hot Springs Sp...
#10 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Spa

Property: Pelican Spa
Address: 306 S Pershing St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901-3346
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truth or Consequences
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pelican Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelican Spa & Hotel is a comfortable, colorful and reasonably priced hotel and spa conveniently situated in Downtown Truth or Consequences in historical buildings and within easy walking distance of restaurants,shops,local museum and art galleries. The hotel has the most reasonable rates in town and includes FREE, unlimited hot mineral water soaks for all guests in our private, indoor tub rooms in our central spa building. Each room is furnished with vintage furniture and original art and features FREE WI FI Internet, HDTV with Direct TV cable, and kitchenettes. We also have convenient meeting rooms and Asian-style outdoor courtyard environments. We specialize in hosting groups of all kinds for meetings, weddings and retreats and have special group rates. Please contact us if you would like to have your group meeting or event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Pelican Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Truth Or Consequences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing