We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow but Scrumptious”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Happy Belly Deli - CLOSED

Happy Belly Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slow but Scrumptious”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stopped here while staying the night in T or C. We were really excited to go because of the rave reviews. However, from the time we ordered to the time we got our appetizers, it was more than an hour. The staff was friendly, but when we looked back into the kitchen they were standing around. Yes, the food is tasty, but we were there for nearly 2 hours, including only half an hour of enjoying our meal. If you have anywhere else to be, stay away! If not, you'll enjoy the funky atmosphere and the eventual tasty meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheYagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    87
    35
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Decent bagels and great sandwiches!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Sure its hard to find a "real" deli in New Mexico-but the Happy Belly Deli gets points for even trying and has been definitely doing something right for over 5 years. Delish potato salad (a friend from NYC is still raving), ample portions, tasty and varied menu and even gluten free bread. Dine inside or join the locals sporting tie dye t-shirts and grizzled grey ponytails on the patio.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I'm so glad we stopped here. I was expecting a typical deli but it's a cute little eatery with a few tables and good homemade food. When we entered a couple of men couldn't say enough good things about the food. I'm vegan so I was happy that they had a vegan choice. We also had the butternut squash soup. I will definitely stop here again and recommend it to others.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baarnbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The only place we ate in T or C!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Made from scratch pizza and garlic knots on Saturday night. Both were out of this world, and also great cold as leftovers. The breakfast the next day was also great!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HawkDriver72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TRC Breakfast/Lunch Gem and Glutten Free Bread to Boot!!!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This eatery is a value added to the minerals spring of TRC. It is in easy walking distance of most of the minerals sptings locations in town. Tiny place with a huge, warm welcoming heart!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Belly Deli also viewed

Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing