We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sorry we couldn't stay longer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fire Water Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truth or Consequences
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fire Water Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Silver City, New Mexico
2 reviews
“sorry we couldn't stay longer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

distances in new mexico can make a quick trip too long -- so we broke up a 24 hour round trip from silver city to santa fe with a night in T or C. Didn't even arrive at Fire Water until 8pm, but Richard gave us a warm welcome, and we got to soak in the enormous tub twice before leaving at 7:30am with a bagel combo breakfast inside. We'd choose this place again.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank HayraNur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    136
    30
    6
    4
See reviews for
54
330
49
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owego
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

At first I was unsure, but the place has a great vibe . Our room was a really neat Sante Fe style space with a wonderful in-room soaking tub that fills with water from the natural hot mineral springs under Truth or Consequences,NM. The bed could have been better. I hope the owner,Richard, would consider either a new mattress or a swap with a lesser used room. Our room,The Waterfall Room, is one of the most popular. The fact that there is no additional charge for a hot mineral bath is great. My wife even took a soak before we checked out in the A.M.. I think we had a total of 6 soaks during our stay. The outdoor tub was big enough for the whole family. The two indoor separate private tubs could easily accommodate two. I would truly recommend getting a room with a mineral tub in the room. The courtyard was friendly and comfortable . A great place to drink a good bottle of wine and enjoy the night sky. If you're into large corporate motels with a lot of amenities and that's what you like , it's not your kind of place. If you want a bit of an adventure in a motel with a fun retro feel , call Richard or book on-line. You'll talk about your stay for a long time in a good way!!! A great little restaurant, The Happy Belly Deli, Is right next door and Linda knows how to cook and feed her guest right. (only breakfast and lunch). For a really fun and wonderfully relaxing stay, I give Richard and His Fire Water Lodge 4 stars

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldocmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

We booked the Eucalyptus room for one night, not knowing what to expect. The hotel is on the main drag (Broadway), with several shops and restaurants within an easy five minute walk. We arrived and saw that the hotel is a converted 30's style drive up, with an enclosed courtyard with a firepit, gas bbq gril, several sitting areas including a hammock, an outdoor soaking hot tub (also with it's own privacy fence) and a hodge podge of areas of vegetation, ice plant and cactus. It was laid back and funky and we knew it was the perfect place for us!
No check in, you just go to your room and the key is in the lock. The room was the same as the courtyard, bright colors with an eclectic mix of furniture, a small functional kitchen area with a small microwave, fridge, sink and a coffee maker with coffe, cups and the fixin's. The separate bedroom has a kingsize bed, a small tv (all the cable channels), and a separate bathroom with shower. Individual AC units and space heaters were in the room. The room was clean and had a good vibe. We opened the back door to our private patio, about a 12 by 12 area with a wooden privacy fence, a small bistro set and it's own outdoor soaking tub, easily which could seat 3-4. We were soaking within fifteen minutes of our arrival and were in HEAVEN!
Just steps from the hotel is the Happy Belly Deli, great food, reasonable prices and a very friendly staff. We highly recommend it! It was a Sunday night and we walked a couple of blocks to the movie theater for a great inexpensive first run movie, soda and snacks. (Movie ticket, soda and popcorn cost $10.00 total!) On the morning of our checkout, we were given coupons for a free breakfast sandwich at the Happy Belly and this was just icing on the cake!
The only drawbacks were the thin curtains for the front door windows which allowed light in to the room, but these were easily covered by a t-shirt or towel . The privacy fence for the patio is about 98% private, but we just hung some towels on the cracks and it was fine. We LOVED this place and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjzita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

Had no idea what to expect. Was very pleased with accommodations, cleanliness, friendliness of owners and the overall experience. Total relaxation and a wonderful pampering experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wefish52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

It's calm, relaxing, healing and friendly. There are many springs closer to Santa Fe but the waters at T or C really seem to work best for me. I needed some assistance due to a disability and the owner came right over and helped get medical equipment out of the vehicle. He and his staff also helped me load up. The facility gets better every year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

The room was very quaint, the waterfull mineral tub very enjoyable, this was an overall good time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sassy_deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

What a really neat and relaxing atmosphere to walk into. I wasn't expecting my own, very large, mineral water bath tub to soak in as long as I wanted to or the wonderful court yard with private tables and a place to grill if I so chose. I felt like I was somewhere totally different like maybe a tropical island. The Virgin Islands came to mind because of the way the rooms surround a central courtyard and the trees hide the rooms so you focus more on the people sitting around having a cool beverage and talking and grilling. You can't see the hustle and bustle of the outside world so as soon as I entered the gate, it was a really good feeling to be there. Release, relax, and slow down. I live in Albuquerque and have stayed in other places in T or C. I will be back for weekend retreats & with friends for sure. Wow sums it up for me.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmlil98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truth or Consequences
0.2 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#7 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Elephant Butte Inn
Elephant Butte Inn
#1 of 2 in Elephant Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Truth OR Consequences
Travelodge Truth OR Consequences
#9 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rio Grande Motel
Rio Grande Motel
#1 of 1 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Water Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Water Lodge

Property: Fire Water Lodge
Address: 311 N Broadway St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901-2833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truth or Consequences
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Water Lodge is a historic motor court with geothermal hot mineral springs water pumped into each room. You can relax in your own private tub right at the foot of your bed. The water comes out of the ground at 105 to 108 in temperature it is very soothing with lots of minerals sodium potassium magnesium lithium iron and many more all the rooms are southwest style design please please check our website for pictures and availability. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fire Water Hotel Truth Or Consequences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing