We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taking the waters in the Morning Glory Room”
Review of Fire Water Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truth or Consequences
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fire Water Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Clovis, NM
1 review
“Taking the waters in the Morning Glory Room”
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Despite this being an older motel that looked a bit rough from the street, the room (Morning Glory) was quite nice and very clean. The convenience of having the hot spring water piped directly into the room was worth a lot to us, as we enjoyed soaking in the tub in the privacy of our room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heymikeyClovis_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    137
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
55
343
51
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, TX
2 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2009

The firewater Lodge has always been a relaxing get away to my wife and I. this was our third visit to this place and we still love going there. It is one of the most peaceful and relaxing locations where you are able to unwind and enjoy. the scenery is fantastic and the people there are always friendly.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silva1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Fire Water Lodge is by far the most beautiful spot in Truth or Consequences -- a true diamond in the rough. An historic building loaded with charming details, it is nonetheless immaculately clean -- and modern where it needs to be, without being the least bit boring or sterile. Our room (the Morning Glory) was cozy and lovely, the landscaping is gorgeous, and there are many sweet spots to sit outside post-bath. We soaked frequently in our large & comfortable indoor mineral hot tub, & enjoyed the outdoor tub, which is private & beautiful despite its location very near the street. Richard & his cat were the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zozettebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Nice small motel. Room was immaculate. Loved the idea of showing up late-ish and just letting ourselves in. No fuss. Owner was very nice when we met him in the morning. Definitely have breakfast with the locals at the Belly Deli next door in the morning; a decent breakfast at a bargain price. We will stay here again on our get-aways to New Mexico.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonsoonTucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2009

My friend and I shared the Palms Room. The room was large, comfortable, and inviting. The soaking tub is huge - large enough to float in or share with another person without feeling at all crowded. The bed is firm, and there are several comfortable chairs, a table, and storage areas. The room is equipped with a small refrigerator and a coffee pot (real coffee, not some weird pod things and real cups.) Richard is very friendly, and makes it apparent that he wants his guests to feel comfortable requesting anything they might need. The courtyard is lovely, I spent several mornings just relaxing, doing needlework, and drinking coffee. Each room is different in feel, and all are beautiful - Richard tells me that he has personally designed and built the wonderful soaking tubs, and made some of the unique furniture in the rooms. These are not your standard motel rooms.

There are several excellent places to eat within a few minutes walk of the Fire Water Lodge. I especially recommend Bella Luca directly behind the Lodge for elegant Italian food and wine and Barbeque on Broadway across the street from the parking area for wonderfully old fashioned down home barbeque. The room comes with a coupon for two egg, cheese, and bagel sandwiches from the Happy Belly Deli next door - fair warning, that sandwich is huge! If you would rather, the coupon can be used as a six dollar off coupon on two breakfast or lunch items - I recommend the french toast. The Happy Belly Deli does offer vegetarian selections.

The Fire Water Lodge is place in the downtown historic district, and is surrounded by many artist studios and shops. The place is wonderful for wandering and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katpurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosque Farms NM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Come prepared to be left alone. If you so desire it is possible to spend your whole stay completely isolated. If you choose,you may join any of the impromptu groups that form in the courtyard in the evenings. No phones, no room service and all the hot mineral baths you can stand...indoors or out. This is NOT the Hilton, so be self sufficient. The rooms are an absolute delight...rustic comes to mind...old Mexico is the theme, local artists and interesting book shelves. The prices are most reasonable. Check with the innkeeper, Richard, for spot on descriptions and guidance to local eateries and entertainment. The Pacific Grill and Dukatt '77 are not to be missed and the lake, Elephant Butte, is a must see. A total escape for the harried.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cross0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2009

+++ Friendly, great hot tub in waterfall room, clean, wifi, quiet
- - - Not much to eat in neighberhood

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johanenine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truth or Consequences
0.2 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
819 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#7 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
125 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Elephant Butte Inn
Elephant Butte Inn
#1 of 2 in Elephant Butte
107 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
#8 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Spa
Pelican Spa
#3 of 6 in Truth or Consequences
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Water Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Water Lodge

Property: Fire Water Lodge
Address: 311 N Broadway St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901-2833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truth or Consequences
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Water Lodge is a historic motor court with geothermal hot mineral springs water pumped into each room. You can relax in your own private tub right at the foot of your bed. The water comes out of the ground at 105 to 108 in temperature it is very soothing with lots of minerals sodium potassium magnesium lithium iron and many more all the rooms are southwest style design please please check our website for pictures and availability. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fire Water Hotel Truth Or Consequences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing