We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like hot water and a quaint old inn, this place will serve you well”
Review of Fire Water Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truth or Consequences
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fire Water Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New Mexico
1 review
“If you like hot water and a quaint old inn, this place will serve you well”
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Make sure you eat at Bellaluca Cafe nearby, best italian food in the region.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotTNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    137
    31
    6
    4
See reviews for
55
339
50
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwest Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2009

The experience of customer service is one that this establishment has fulfilled. We were on a ten day vacation with part of that time set aside for the Hatch Chili Festival which was the first weekend of September. Once I realized that Truth or Consequences was just directly north of Hatch, well that changed our plans because I had become aware to the area offering Hot Springs Mineral Baths. This was a delight. To say the least.....the tub was big enough to float in for two and the room was spotless and warm with colors of the Southwest. The Fire Water Lodge is a pleasure that we plan on experiencing again. Thank you so much for acomadating my special requests before arrival time, I appreciated this.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hatch037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Had a huge tub right in the room that you could fill with hot mineral springs water. I was more relaxed than I have been in weeks.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bottomdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2009

If you are looking for a 5 star hotel with all the amenities this is not the place for you. If you want a nice and quiet and relaxing place, then Firewater Lodge is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janfrogleggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, NM
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stopped in T or C on our way home from Albuquerque after getting married. Since we didn't have a lot of time off, this was our mini honeymoon. The proprietor was a nice man who lives in the one story complex. He was friendly and made sure we had everything we needed, we also got a breakfast voucher for an adjoining cafe. The room was great- moslty because it had an in-room hot-spring tub (tiled with a spigot to fill with hot water. There was a small TV with cable and A/C, outside there was a nice shared courtyard and a public tub (an old hot tub with the same design and a wood fence around it). That night we ate a nice Italian restraunt within walking distance, this lodge is in the middle of downtown T or C. In the morning- after eating and before checking out- we both got a massage from a local maseuse in a designated room. Overall very pleasant and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montypythoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

It's a little hard to describe--old-school, eccentric, laid-back...whatever, the "wow" factor was off the charts for my entire family. The atmosphere was immediately comfortable, with lots of odds and ends everywhere (little lion statues, a garden in the back, a cat roaming around, hand-crafted furniture in the lobby) in a small town we fell in love with immediately. The owner was friendly and fun, great to talk to. One of the finest restaurants we've visited is next door (Cafe Bellaluca), and the Happy Belly cafe (also next door!) provided a yummy breakfast. Maybe the best part was our own hot springs bath in our own little courtyard. I know this is not rare in T or C, but for us it was a wonderful novelty. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bullitt_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socorro, New mexico
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2009

I stayed at Firewater Lodge with my boyfriend and our four dogs (four dogs!) Richard, the owner, is a fabulous man. He was so welcoming and friendly that I never once felt uncomfortable during our three day stay. He even invited us to dinner one night with some of his friends and we ate outside in the courtyard together. It was wonderful.

We stayed in the Eucalyptus room which has a beautiful tiled tub outside on it's own little patio. This room was perfect for us and our dogs and I could see it working very well for a family with children. We also explored the "public" outdoor tub though it turned out to be a very "private" experience....

Richard was so accepting of us with our large brood. He only charged us a little extra for the dogs, far less than any other place we looked at. Any time we had the dogs outside the room we kept them on a leash, of course, and every one was so friendly that it all went very smoothly.

I have read the reviews of other patrons that seem to look down on the old time feel of the Firewater Lodge. I have stayed at many places in Truth or Consequences NM and I can guarantee that none others are better than Firewater. We felt very safe while in our room, and would have even without the dogs. We never even looked for a lock on the door. Everything in the rooms and outside is clean and comfortable. Anything we needed, Richard was there to help us. If you're looking for brand new, spic and span, there are many hotel/motel options in T or C. But you sure won't get to soak in your own personal hot spring tub while looking up at the stars.

Anyone who has the chance to stay in Truth or Consequences should definitely see Firewater Lodge

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuadDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truth or Consequences
0.2 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
814 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
181 reviews
4.5 mi away
Elephant Butte Inn
Elephant Butte Inn
#1 of 2 in Elephant Butte
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#7 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
123 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
#8 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Spa
Pelican Spa
#3 of 6 in Truth or Consequences
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Water Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Water Lodge

Property: Fire Water Lodge
Address: 311 N Broadway St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901-2833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truth or Consequences
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Water Lodge is a historic motor court with geothermal hot mineral springs water pumped into each room. You can relax in your own private tub right at the foot of your bed. The water comes out of the ground at 105 to 108 in temperature it is very soothing with lots of minerals sodium potassium magnesium lithium iron and many more all the rooms are southwest style design please please check our website for pictures and availability. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fire Water Hotel Truth Or Consequences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing