We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky and Fun, but...”
Review of Fire Water Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truth or Consequences
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fire Water Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Funky and Fun, but...”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Just a few issues of concern regarding our most recent stay:

- All the heating was provided by large space heaters. It was in the 20's at night, and they never really got the room totally warm. We were also concerned about the electrical cords running under area rugs in order to reach the outlets.

- No smoke detectors in the room.

- Closet space, but no clothes hangers. no Kleenex; large bottles of Suave shampoo and body wash left on bathroom counter for use by all guests...not very sanitary. For over $100/night, would expect better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJGSEATTLE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    137
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
55
343
51
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

A beautiful room with a great bath to soak the troubles away. The laid-back atmosphere was just what we were looking for, and the wife enjoyed the quality time with the courtyard cat. She also was wondering just how she coud snag the sink from our room. If ever we are out T or C way again, we know exactly where we're staying, though we may try a different room just for kicks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaceflotsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Every room at this place is like a T or C native - unique and full of character. The owners renovate one room at a time with custom cabinet work, and tile work. Many have hot spring hot tubs in the rooms! Over the last 6 years we have been trying to work our way through every room. This year we tried the Sunflower Casita. It's very nicely redone and has a huge hot tube! The tube is almost too big for just two people, but we still filled it up and soaked morning and night.
The Eucalyptus room has the nicest outdoor tub, but could use some updating to the floors and kitchen area.

Easy access to "Blue Highway" NM 152 for a trip out to Hillsboro/Kingston or down to Sliver City.

Room Tip: The pictures of the rooms on the Fire Water website are accurate and should help you pick a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueHighwayBoomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We was very impressed with the whole experience from booking to checkout. The room was increasable and the atmosphere it created was just what we was looking for. It's going to make our next trip to T or C very easy when it comes to choosing a place to stay. Being able to take our dog and not have to pay a lot od extra charges was a blessing. We'll be back.
Thank you...
Kevin and Brenda S.

Room Tip: The king rooms across the street are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karaokedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The room was spotless and the staff was friendly and helpful, as usual. Always a nice experience. The in-room tub was just as advertised, large, clean and hot! Many meal options nearby and you are right in the middle of the whole downtown experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3333333333333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

the agave room was great. The tub was huge and the room had all the amenities. the king bed was very comfortable. the location was perfect, being right across the street from belladonna. very quiet and relaxing, clean, and the staff was very courteous.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We've stayed at many of the Hot Springs Resorts in T or C and Fire Water has some really cool southwest rooms. The hotel is being renovated room by room so you just need to ask which rooms have been already renovated and pick one of those if that is most important to you. Some of the rooms have a hot tub in the room which is nice but one of the rooms we rented out was not renovated but had a really cool hot tub outside under the stars which we enjoyed immensely! Damian and Laura were really nice and helpful. At night we build a big fire and toasted marshmallows,made s'mores and enjoyed our night there immensely!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrCarlosG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truth or Consequences
0.2 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
819 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#7 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
125 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Elephant Butte Inn
Elephant Butte Inn
#1 of 2 in Elephant Butte
107 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
#8 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Spa
Pelican Spa
#3 of 6 in Truth or Consequences
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Water Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Water Lodge

Property: Fire Water Lodge
Address: 311 N Broadway St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901-2833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truth or Consequences
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Water Lodge is a historic motor court with geothermal hot mineral springs water pumped into each room. You can relax in your own private tub right at the foot of your bed. The water comes out of the ground at 105 to 108 in temperature it is very soothing with lots of minerals sodium potassium magnesium lithium iron and many more all the rooms are southwest style design please please check our website for pictures and availability. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fire Water Hotel Truth Or Consequences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing