We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing wonderful getaway”
Review of Fire Water Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truth or Consequences
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fire Water Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2011

T or C is a community with an appearance of being stuck in the 50s, and the Fire Water Lodge is no exception. It has been renovated with comfortable beds and lovely rooms but still appears a 50s motel. The renovation has included bringing hot mineral spring water into each room where it fills a generously built spas. Heavenly! It has an attached restaurant for a great breakfast or lunch, and another terrific Italian restaurant just behind it. We live about 2 hours from T or C so it is an easy weekend retreat and we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiev22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 552 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2011

The lodge is charming, We stayed in the Eucalyptus Room#1 Highly recommend this as it has a private patio with outside soaking tub. The atmosphere was great. The town and people very friendly.

Room Tip: Other rooms are also nice but this in my opinion !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Truth Or Consequences is a small town 2 hours south of Albuquerque that is full of natural hot springs that have been channeled into soaking tubs. At the turquoise colored Fire Water Lodge, most of the rooms have these large private tubs, including the room we stayed in. It was called the Waterfall Room and features a huge tiled tub that you can soak in as long as you want, a queen bed and lovely southwestern style decor. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet at night. The only issue (and it was incredibly minor) was that one of the windows in the room had a lacy curtain up that didn't block the light coming in at dawn, but next time I'll bring an eyemask.

All of the rooms are off a peaceful central courtyard filled with yucca, cacti and other desert plants. We even ran into the owner's cat one evening out there, who was very friendly. They offer massage services as well, through a local masseuse who comes to the lodge. In the morning, we were given a coupon for free breakfast sandwiches at the wonderful Happy Belly Deli which is just next door.

All in all, it was a super relaxing trip. For what we paid, it was an incredible value. I really wish we could have stayed longer and can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for the Waterfall Room with the lovely tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cemie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

This establishment is nearly 90 years old. Some of the building is in poor repair (decorative lions at each support post of the veranda) and some parts need updating. That said, it makes sense that the tiled soaking hot tubs show signs of mineral deposits and frequent grouting repairs. The room I stayed in had a dark green ceiling, with poor lighting. The room seemed dark, which lead one to believe they had something to hide. I don't think that was the intent. With installation of brighter bulbs in the light fixtures, the room would have appeared more cheerful. The soaking tub was wonderful and relaxing. I would go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texasmomJRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

I would definately stay here again. We only stayed one night out of the three we were. Firewater lodge was definately the best! It was clean, the huge bath in the room was awesome, the atmosphere was awesome. I love that you can go sit outside your room and it feels like your camping, or outside your backyard. We will definately stay here again. We stayed a night at the sierra grande and that place was disappointing. You pay a bunch for nothing. The rooms are small, the bath is small and the water kept turning off in our room. I have to say it was very clean though. We also stayed at the charles and spa motel, wow don't ever stay there. That place is so nasty!! There was dead cockroaches all over the floor, the bathtub looked like it hadn't been washed in months, the carpet was stained and disgusting, there was hugr bugs all over the ceiling. We just felt so nasty the whole time. AND to top it off, one of workers there just unlocked the door and came right in. That did it for us, so we went and stayed and some other hotel for the night, we didn't even fight getting our money back. We just left, it was so bad. So...when you are passing tthru TorC stay at the Firewater Lodge. This place is the only reason we are gonna go back. It really just is a neat place. :) and its located on a quiet street with antique shops. We also got the pleasure of sitting outside and listen to a guy play on his piano and sing, he was very good. I just loved it here, I didn't want to leave!! Thanks Firewater Lodge, you guys are awesome! We will definately be coming back to stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsbfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

The comfy rooms are inviting. How could you beat a hot springs bath in your room? The absolute New Mexican courtyard garden helps you relax in a place unlike home. We loved it and will return. Check out the wonderful happy belly deli connected to the inn YUM and the sprouts juice bar across the street. YUM. thanks

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We loved our visit to the Fire Water Lodge in T or C.
Richard the proprietor and Damien were very nice and accommodating.
Our room was very nice and clean and had a nice southwestern feel and theme.
The location to town is also very good. We usually stay at the Elephant Butte Inn, but thought we would try something a bit more untraditional.
I have two criticisms: Get rid of the dirt/sand/gravel in the courtyard to eliminate so much dirt in the rooms and allow a better pathway to roll luggage. It felt too dirty and unkept without pavers and it didn't make me want to go out there. I think more people would congregate if it were paved.
Also, the clutter. Behind the office was an area that had tons of junk piled up which is a real haven for rats and other critters. The lodge was very charming, but visible clutter and junk was a real turn-off - makes you wonder what is in places you cannot see - particularly due to the fact there was a restaurant attached to the lodge. Richard, if you are listening, this place would attract a lot more people if you would just clean the place up and out. I don't know how you can sit at that table in the courtyard day after day and not have the urge to stand up and get the place tidied up. It seems as though you guys do only what is absolutely necessary and do not try to meet or beat your patrons expectations. Maybe it's just me, but I think you are missing an opportunity.
We may be back. (P.S. We took a look in the Cactus Room and it's in real need of renovation like the others)

Room Tip: Datura or Falls Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turtleback505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Truth or Consequences hotels
0.2 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
849 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Spa
Pelican Spa
#3 of 6 in Truth or Consequences
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Charles Motel and Hot Springs Spa
Charles Motel and Hot Springs Sp...
#9 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rocket Inn
Rocket Inn
#3 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
147 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#7 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Water Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Water Lodge

Address: 311 N Broadway St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901-2833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truth or Consequences
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Water Lodge is a historic motor court with geothermal hot mineral springs water pumped into each room. You can relax in your own private tub right at the foot of your bed. The water comes out of the ground at 105 to 108 in temperature it is very soothing with lots of minerals sodium potassium magnesium lithium iron and many more all the rooms are southwest style design please please check our website for pictures and availability. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fire Water Hotel Truth Or Consequences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing