We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food Good prices!”

La Cocina Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food Good prices!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

It was Monsoon Season so it was cooler but not raining when I was there.
I enjoyed the patio and water fountain. The chips and salsa was tasty and I had the apricot broiled Salmon. It had salsa and pinon' nuts broiled on top! It was great plus they offered the option of potatoes and veggies instead of Black beans and Spanish rice! Since I added a Chile rellenos on the side,, obviously I was enjoying Mexican food! I'd go back! :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monty B, Owner at La Cocina Restaurant, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank You for taking the time for a review

Our traditional New Mexican recipes are handed down from our great grandparents.

We still do it the old fashion way soaking whole chili pods from Hatch and blending them before seasoning .. nothing else added

our steaks are still hand cut and our hamburgers are made daily.

Thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    35
    27
    26
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food - terrible, no good, very bad service”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Order your food to go, that way you won't be frustrated by the disappearing waitress. The green chile cheese enchiladas are great, the rellenos pretty good. Tamale way too dry.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crucesaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monty B, Owner at La Cocina Restaurant, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank You for choosing La Cocina and also taking the time for an important review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worse Mexican Food Ever!!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Went into La Cocina while visiting Truth or Consequences after doing a Rio Grande rafting trip...Expecting a good Mexican dinner...Our waitress was very nice ... but not to familiar with the menu & entree selection... Atmosphere was OK but upon treating some guests to a dining experience...We experienced the "WORST MEXICAN FOOD" I've ever had the stew meat for our tacos and chicken in enchiladas was SO DRY & overcooked we seriously could not eat it! It almost tasted like leftover meat from days gone by.... The taco shells were stale and tasted store bought!!! The meal for 5 people everyone couldn't even eat their whole entree in every aspect of each entree selection! I would never eat at this restaurant again in my life!! THE MOST HORRIBLE MEXICAN FOOD I HAVE EVER HAD!!!! I would never suggest this restaurant to anyone to dine or eat at!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Yvette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Where is the AC?! Took FOREVER to be served. Never again!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Resturant is pretty, but they aren't running the AC in July?! After a hot day on the lake, a cold drink in a cool restaurant was ideal for our family. Unfortunately, we didn't succeed in our hopes of a relaxing meal here. The room had to be 80 degrees. Food took over an hour to be served, and the resturant nearly empty. With three small kids, we just don't have that kind of time. Food was fair at best. DONT ORDER GROUND BEEF! It's mealy, salty and strong. Could have been bad, not sure yet...that will be an entire other review if my tummy decides so. Waitress was sweet, but she wasn't enough to overcome the combo of the heat and mediocre food. We won't go back here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JessThomas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monty B, Owner at La Cocina Restaurant, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank You for taking the time for your review



It's been averaging over 105 with high humidity .. 80 degrees is about all that an ambient (refrigerated air) system can do .. All 4 air condition units are running at capacity in such high heat, with the rain it can get very humid.

We strive to please everyone and sometimes we may fall short,

Again thank you for taking the time for us to hear your voice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good family dining and a nice patio area”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The staff at our hotel recommended La Cocina as a good place to take the family for dinner while in T or C because they have a fairly diverse menu including traditional New Mexican dishes along with steaks, salads, fried chicken and sandwiches so there's something for everyone. The lady who seated us was very friendly. Our server was quiet but attentive, so no complaints. Service was pretty fast and the food was good and reasonably priced for a dinner menu. I'd go back in the future or recommend this place to others.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monty B, Owner at La Cocina Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank You for the kind review

We hope you had a fun and adventurous stay in T. or C.

:-)

Monty Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina Restaurant also viewed

Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 

Been to La Cocina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing