We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Spa, but Spartan room!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
denver, colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Spa, but Spartan room!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

The spa and massage were first-class, but the room was just one step up from a renovated motel--not worth the exaggeraged price! I had a room with two small beds--about the width of an Army cot--and a sink about the same size as the one I shared on board my U.S. Navy ship. Although the bathtub was a newer-looking, jacuzzi-style, my room featured only a telephone and very small television, placed on an equally small cabinet at a level that prevented viewing unless I moved the bed and brass frame which obscured the television. There were none of the other amenities one usually associates with a room costing over $150!! [e.g. coffee maker, refrigerator or microwave] I'm sure many/most people don't check into a lodge in the desert in order to watch television, but I had to drown out the voices in the hallway and the room next-door as the walls are too thin to enjoy any solitude. Enjoy the spa--it's first class--but save your money and stay at a motel near I-25 for half the price!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coloradoclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    127
    24
    11
    2
See reviews for
87
432
54
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

From the minute we walked in it was a pleasant surprise. Everyone went out of there way to take care of us. They made sure we had everything we needed, took us on tour of the spa and scheduled all the activities that we wanted to do. The reason I only gave the room 4 stars is the bed was too hard for me.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HunterNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

The staff was awesome, the rooms were clean, the breakfast good. Great place to stay.
A bit of a mix up on the spa services. We were well taken care of.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZsheepdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2009

My husband and I drove down to T or C from Albuquerque for a one night anniversary celebration. We arrived to the small, quaint town of T or C without any preconceptions of the spa other than a recommendation from my parents. What we experienced was a first class spa in a quiet and romantic setting. The service was impeccable. The staff helped us to book our hot tub soak, schedule a massage, and were available for any need, such as wine glasses. The natural hot spring tubs are fabulous and private. We had three separate soaks in different tubs for over 30 minutes each and all were included in the room stay and/or the spa services. What a deal! Several local restaurants are in walking distance and have extensive menus and wine lists. We were pleasantly please and plan to go back as soon as possible. For those who are looking for a quiet, secluded, and romantic getaway, we recommend Sierra Grande.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjaimerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2009

The staff was quite amiable and upbeat but there were several disappointments in the accommodations. The downstairs hot spring fed tub we had in our room was very small. Two small people (such as my partner and myself) could not even fit into it comfortably nor is it possible (at least in Winter) to fill it with all hot spring water since it takes too long for the water to get hot.

The Feng Shui of the room is very bad with the door near to foot of the bed and the headboard at the window. It has the feel of this having been some dead space in the architecture of the building that was crammed into being a guest room. Huge mistake from a design perspective.

We had noise from the people above us. Floor joists creak at a huge pitch and the staff failed to quiet the rowdy guests above us who made noise till past 2AM.

For 129 dollars you are much better off going to the Black Stone which requires some forethought since they book well in advance. There you get triple the room space with a real hot spring tub in your room and generous kitchenette as well as actual peace and quiet.

I go to T or C quite a lot and this was sad for me since it was my partner's first time. Even the Bel-Air is more generous and comfortable for the money in spite of its location on the main drag.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerdeutsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2009

We traveled to T or C for a Buffalo hunt. I brought my husband and my 5 yr old son . The rooms are small but clean and cozy. The hotels employees were extremely friendly and helpful. The hot spring soaks were a treat. The staff made as feel at home and encouraged us to take advantage of all the hotel had to offer. When we return for my husbands hunt next year we will definately stay at the Sierra Grande

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toothfairy2179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

The room rate is a bit spendy, but the service makes up for it. These people will do anything for you during your stay. The breakfast is homemade every day with scones, muffins, granola, and fruit. Each nights stay includes a mineral bath, which is wonderful. The spa services are great and again very service oriented. The rooms, especially the balcony, are gorgous, comfortable, and homey. There are a few glitches here and there, but nothing that stands in the way of a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ltborden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truth or Consequences
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#4 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#6 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
4.5 mi away
Elephant Butte Inn
Elephant Butte Inn
#1 of 2 in Elephant Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Truth OR Consequences
Travelodge Truth OR Consequences
#9 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rio Grande Motel
Rio Grande Motel
#1 of 1 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charles Motel and Hot Springs
Charles Motel and Hot Springs
#8 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa

Property: Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Address: 501 McAdoo St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901-2716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Truth or Consequences
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured in National Geographic Traveler as one of '150 Hotels You'll Love' Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa offers visitors delightful accommodations in a luxurious atmosphere. A full-service spa designed to maximize the healing and relaxation benefits of the Hot Spring Waters. All overnight stays and spa treatments include complimentary private hot spring soaks. A complimentary deluxe hot breakfast in the restaurant is included with every night stay. Madlyn Rose organic skin care products, crafted locally are featured in our spa and guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Grande Hotel Truth Or Consequences
Sierra Grande Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing