We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Surprisingly delightful oasis” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Tijeras, NM
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprisingly delightful oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

The staff and the spa was wonderful. Unfortunately, I was there for business and not with my wife. It is a delightful romantic retreat. Outside of no desk to work at, my only complaint was that the pillows were uncomfortable (bring your own, if you can) and the towels were old and needed to be replaced. Overall, it is perfect for a weekend getaway with a Loved one. Staff was great, as were the soaks.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nfweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    127
    25
    11
    2
See reviews for
87
435
54
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Napa, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

We looked at the various resorts/spas in T or C and the Sierra Grande came highly recommeded by family in town. From the moment we arrived we were treated wonderfully! The staff is very friending and helpful.They anticipated our every need. The facility was clean and in excellent shape. The rooms were wonderful, reflecting the Southwest theme. The spas were clean and plentiful. The breakfast had fresh, local food and held on the covered patio. A wonderful experience. We highly recommend it. The price is quite good for what you get. I would go back in a second. We brought our elderly parents and they loved it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daviston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

We traveled with two other couples. Everyone really enjoyed the ambience, and especially the wonderful staff who are pleasant, good-humored, well-informed, and most helpful. I was the only one in our party who had been there before, and I felt "responsible" for everyone's good time. The staff ensured that our objective was achieved!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marshaece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

Really loved this place. Everything was top notch - the rooms, mineral soaks and spa treatments. The service was outstanding and everyone who worked there was very friendly and professional. Surprised that such a beautiful place was located in Truth or Consequences, NM. This lodge/spa is a well kept secret. I'm a native of NM and I had never heard of it. If you are looking for relaxation and pampering in a serene, peaceful setting, this is the place. Even a one night's stay will rejuvenate you! I can hardly wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACcrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronxville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

Nothing better; the hot springs, the comfortable rooms, the local restaurants, the quiet funky town of T or C. Rarely do all these things balance. I want this place to myself; I hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benzmanBronxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, AZ
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

Such a treat! Wonderful mineral spring tub soak with each night you stay. Comfortable beds and healthy continental breakfast included. The staff was excellent and we'll definitely make a return visit - soon we hope! There is a wonderful Italian restaurant just 2 blocks away (closed on Tuesdays though).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

We visited Sierra Grande for two days in early July. First and foremost, the staff is fantastic! So friendly and willing to make our stay as comfortable as possible no matter what time of the day or night. I wish that I could remember all of their names to thank them....but Hi Deb!

We were a party of four. We had two rooms....one downstairs with a hot spring bathtub with jets and another upstairs with a tub with jets and shower and a shared balcony for all second-floor guests. Rooms were ok...small, but comfortable and a bit mismatched as to furniture, but the Lodge is an older place that has been restored to what I would term a "bed and breakfast" place. How much time do you really spend in a hotel room anyway?

The hot springs tubs were GREAT! We enjoyed our first soak at night in the outdoor tub. It was perfect! The water was hot, the air was cooler, the night sky was starry. Beautiful! We reserved the same tub for the next night, but due to lightening in the area, we were rescheduled to another tub inside. It was also very nice, but more steamy. I highly recommend the outdoor tub if you can get it at night (note: it's not as private as you might think...people on the balcony above you can see you).

The breakfast included with our stay was very nice. Coffee, tea, OJ, fresh fruit, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, on-site homebaked breads and pastries. Delicious! And you can eat in the dining room (which has a beautiful stained glass display on the wall) or you can eat on the patio and enjoy the morning air and view of the mountains.

We went out to dinner one night. I had read great reviews about the local Italian restaurant that is three blocks from the Sierra Grande Lodge. Bella Luca or something like that. We hated it. Service was bad, food was bad, no ambiance, no alcohol served, and overpriced for what we got. We should have just gone to Los Arcos for a decent meal.

We had a great time at Sierra Grande! Thanks to all who were so kind to us during our stay. My only suggestion is this... The rooms need to smell fresher...maybe some potpourri or some sort of spray that represents the calmness and relaxation that this Lodge is all about.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancydf64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truth or Consequences
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#4 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#6 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
4.5 mi away
Elephant Butte Inn
Elephant Butte Inn
#1 of 2 in Elephant Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rio Grande Motel
Rio Grande Motel
#1 of 1 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Truth OR Consequences
Travelodge Truth OR Consequences
#9 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rocket Inn
Rocket Inn
#3 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa

Property: Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Address: 501 McAdoo St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901-2716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Truth or Consequences
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured in National Geographic Traveler as one of '150 Hotels You'll Love' Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa offers visitors delightful accommodations in a luxurious atmosphere. A full-service spa designed to maximize the healing and relaxation benefits of the Hot Spring Waters. All overnight stays and spa treatments include complimentary private hot spring soaks. A complimentary deluxe hot breakfast in the restaurant is included with every night stay. Madlyn Rose organic skin care products, crafted locally are featured in our spa and guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Grande Hotel Truth Or Consequences
Sierra Grande Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing