We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, Cute Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maria's - CLOSED

Maria's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
193 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good food, Cute Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just ate here twice over the Labor Day holiday weekend. We started out with their chips and salsa which I found to be quite good, simple sauce but a good flavor. My first dining experience was for dinner, ordered a combo plate with an enchilada, chile relleno and flauta. The relleno and enchilada were both very good, I had them with their green sauce. The flauta was very disappointing since it turned out to be rather plain and flavorless since there was no guacamole, or sour cream served with it. Our waitress Nichole was new and somewhat unfamiliar with the menu but provided a very pleasant dining experience.

My second visit was for breakfast, I ordered the Denver Omelet and had it smothered with their green chile sauce. It was very good if you are a fan of green chile, I order mine extra hot. This was served with fried potato and I had w warm tortilla to top it all off. They seemed to be a little short handed since there was only one waitress and the restaurant was quite busy. Considering the situation, the service was good and everyone's food seemed to be quite tasty. On my next visit, I will try their red chile since the others at my table really enjoyed it.

I would also like to mention that the pricing on the menu was very reasonable, the place was nicely decorated and the staff smiling and cheerful. Try it you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mr49phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    51
    19
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Food, Family Feeling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Though I live in Northern New Mexico, this little place felt like coming home. Yes, it's good Southern New Mexican cuisine, but it was the service and the atmosphere that really made it special. And by atmosphere, I don't mean a posh interior. Rather, it was the kind of place where the locals are nice, the staff friendly, and you can really get a feel for the town. And, of course, the food was delicious!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Brighty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Ate there this week and had the chicken, very tender and the sauce was also very good. The waitress was very happy and glad to see us. We will return

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“standard mex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

T or C does not have much, but there's one standard mex for the money. salsa burnt my insides which i like and got more than what i paid for and ate it all. service was good, it's quick, right off the main road from the interstate. try it out

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I don't get the high stars”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

No beer or margarita-bummer, I was thirsty. I guess if you are across the street from a church you are dry. Chips were stale, thin and all broken into bits. Salsa had almost no heat because 'I didn't have jalapeños because they were all frozen'. Mom pronounced the tamale 'awful' masa was dry and pork tasted downright strange. She thinks it has been reheated too many times. Chili relleno was ok and not greasy or too stuffed but medium green sauce was not very flavorful. Perhaps the bar is low to get high ratings in t or c.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wildwingln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's also viewed

Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing