We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really tremendous ambience and funky charm!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Truth or Consequences
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverbend Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Clean, funky. Rooms are neat clean and relatively comfy in converted trailers or single-wides. Staff was friendly, WONDERFUL...we brought our two small dogs, but were assessed a $15 EACH 'cleaning' charge, which added $30 to the cost of the room, so it was more expensive than we would have though fair...but still a lovely place that we'll visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,753 - 1,759 of 1,821 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed in one of the annex rooms: it's in a manufactured/"trailer" building but doesn't feel like it once you get inside. Wood laminate floors, two windows plus a pretty stained glass one in the bathroom. It was reasonably quiet, too.

The hot-springs tubs were the main attraction; people start soaking at seven a.m. and by eight when coffee is available, there's quite a few people up and about. The hot-springs water is not extremely hot. The hottest tub is pleasantly hot to me, and the cooler tubs overlooking the river are warm enough to keep you from getting chilled, but no warmer. Rules for soaking are clear and everything felt safe and clean. (Although, men? You don't have to spread out along the entire side of the tub, and I don't want to hear your life story. Try imitating the women more.)

The office is friendly-feeling, with binders of local restaurant menus and (I believe) a computer where you can check your email. (There is wifi on premises, but it was both weak and intermittent in our room.) We got EXCELLENT recommendations from the staff on where to eat.

Housekeeping is on request, which I liked. I was hanging around in the daytime sometimes and didn't want to worry about clearing out or people knocking on the door. When our towels got soggy, we got more from the office, no problem.

The grounds are pretty, with picnic tables and benches. It was cold when we were there, but on a warmer day the courtyard would have been a nice place to hang out.

Definitely recommend the Riverbend! Rates and value seemed excellent to me.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grrlpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

I especially liked that the hot tubs were outside and right on the river and that there were pools with different temperatures of water. The rooms were small but nicely decorated and clean and the people who work there are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mellow01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

The rooms are not fancy but are comfortable. The hot springs and staff are super.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footlooseArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2009

The only thing I would suggest is that they leave the public pools open after 10pm. Otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay. Clean rooms, dont be afraid that some are trailers. They have been designed and updated to look like they are real rooms. The place is really cute, and well maintained. Open air pools for soaking make it an ideal location.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aardvark11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2009

what a wonderful experience,soaking for long periods of times(days,weeks) relieves all of my symptoms of arthritis.Jake and his staff are the utmost professionals the water is warm and the pools are outside,no starring at roofs that are in need of repair.
Star gazing at night is out of this world,buying a soak card makes this place more affordable then the other places in town. and it is very clean
Big John

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rinpochesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Funky, good value rooms with access to the soaking pools which were in immaculate condition and have great views of the river. Very friendly and helpful staff and right in the centre of town (such as it is). Only minor gripe was with the bed and the rooms which didn't have great sound insulation. Nevertheless would highly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing weeked gently steeping in hot water or looking to unwind after a long day on the road.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truth or Consequences
0.4 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
859 reviews
2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#6 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
190 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#8 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Elephant Butte Inn
Elephant Butte Inn
#1 of 2 in Elephant Butte
110 reviews
2 mi away
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
#7 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
90 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rio Grande Motel
Rio Grande Motel
#1 of 1 in Williamsburg
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbend Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbend Hot Springs

Address: 100 Austin St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901-3302
Location: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Truth or Consequences
Price Range: $70 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic downtown of Truth or Consequences, New Mexico and near Spaceport America, Riverbend is an affordable, smoke free, hot springs spa and resort, where guests can relax in a beautiful, laid back environment. It is one of the best hot springs in the southwest for its clean, comfortable riverside pools and its unmatched views of the Rio Grande River and Turtleback Mountain. We are dog friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverbend Hot Springs Hotel Truth Or Consequences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing