We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising wine list” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Bella Luca

Cafe Bella Luca
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprising wine list”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Easy walk from the Sierra Grande Lodge. Pleasant staff. You'll definitely find a quality wine you like here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank icingblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    178
    93
    55
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dining Nightmare”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Every inch of our experience there was a nightmare. Service was not organized.we all (5) of us were served at ddifferent times, depending on when the food was ready..never got a salad for one dinner, Caesar salad was nothing but romaine , no dressing, no tomatoes..$10.?? You call this a salad..sad. we refused to pay for it. How embarrassing . The pizza came out an hour later, burnt and tastless "Margarita" pizza..and the eggplant parmesan penne was undercooked. Servers seemed to be so unprofessional that they couldnt get any request right.
The cook came out and apologized to us and two other tables..
seems the manager walked out and quit earlier..
All we can say is that its going to take a milestone to turn this place around.. I lost my apetite.over it all. Very overpriced for the food and stressful atmosphere. Dont go here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nmjbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

There aren't many places in T or C to get a really good meal, so Bella Luca was a gem in the town. We had eaten there in the past, when it was worthy of all the accolades printed and framed at the entrance.
This time was different. Perhaps they have fallen on hard times, because the menu, kitchen, and food aren't up to par.
The menu states one price for a fancy salad, but the bill at the end showed a price $1.00 higher. The salads delivered also did not include the ingredients listed on the menu.
The pizza was also missing an ingredient - prosciutto - and was burned on one side. The crust was a bit tough, having been massaged too long or vigorously.
We really couldn't bring ourselves to order dessert after the two disappointments.
Really wish this place could make it, and consistently serve great food - T or C needs it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
495 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“No food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We came in from a camping weekend and were very much looking forward to a good, hearty meal. We had heard excellent reviews regarding this restaurant. The hours posted said 10:00-we arrived at 1:00. The doors were open, we walked in to see one couple eating. The wait staff came up to inform us that they could not serve us; they had run out of food the night before! We couldn't believe it-have never had this happen to us in our 50+ years!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Something Changed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Bella Luca has always been my husband and my go to restaurant for the evening at TorC so when two girlfriends and I went for an overnight I said we had to go there. Something has changed, the food was bad and the service even worse. I emailed a comment to the owner before posting this and never got a response back. Sad but this one's been scratched off our list and we visit TorC often.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sararuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bella Luca also viewed

Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 

Been to Cafe Bella Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing