We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must see...a rare glimpse into how large bronze sculptures are made.”

Shidoni Foundry and Galleries
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Tesuque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 14,000 square-foot facility uses the 6,000-year-old traditional "lost wax" method of casting bronze to create sculptures. Visitors have the opportunity to see the indoor art galleries which represent more than 150 artist from all over the country. Stroll the gallery and sculpture gardens. Watch 2000 degree molten bronze being poured into ceramic shell molds during our Saturday Bronze Pour Days that are open to the public. If you are in search of quality art, are an artist in need of the finest foundry services available, or you want to learn about the process involved in the creation of major works of art, than please come for a visit. Hours of Operation: Bronze Gallery: Monday - Saturday, 9 am - 5pm Arts Gallery: Tuesday - Saturday, 9 am - 5pm Self Guided Foundry Tours: Monday through Friday from Noon to 1 PM Admission fee $5.00/person Bronze Pour and Self Guided Tour: Saturday through the afternoon starting at 12:00 PM **Please contact us on Friday's for exact times** Admission fee $10.00/person
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A must see...a rare glimpse into how large bronze sculptures are made.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

This was my 3rd visit to Shidoni Foundry but the first time I got to see a pour. They have pours on Saturdays, usually at 1:00, 2:45 and 4:00p. When you enter the compound there are 2 sculpture gardens. As you enter the building there is a gallery of sculptures which are available for purchase (as well as a public bathroom--to respond to an earlier review by someone). We arrived ahead of the 1:00p pour and I chatted with the lady in the gallery about a VHS tape they had many years ago that you could watch in the break room if you were visiting on a day when there was no pour. They no longer had the video available but while we were viewing the pour she graciously searched the internet to find it--it can be now be purchased as a DVD or just viewed on the KNME TV website (I highly recommend you view this video.) The video was produced for a tv show called Colores! Anyway, to view the pour, it now costs $5 but is still well worth it. I highly recommend earplugs! They do have viewing areas but it would be hard for young children to see it or appreciate it. It takes three men to handle the process of the pour.

Prior to the pour we were allowed to walk through the artists' areas where they were working on the sculptures/polishing, through the wax room, etc. It is amazing how they put together the huge bronze sculptures you might see in a park. It doesn't take long to walk through the galleries and foundry, but the actual pour demo took about 30 mins. So, it's an easy attraction to fit into your sightseeing schedule.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationerHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    16
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
209 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Everything I wanted in a foundry and art sculpture garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We first viewed the abundance of sculpture art. So many and such a variety of artists! Beautiful and wanted to photograph it all. A must see and it's two lovely grass grounds with benches are very pleasant and family friendly. There are also indoor art galleries. Then at 1 PM we viewed the pouring of metal. Small fee for the view of pouring, but not for the sculpture grounds or glass blowing. The furnance is loud, it's of course very warm. One gets such an appreciation for the work that is done to create. 2200 degrees to pour the metal that day. Then there's watching the glass blowers. Some art are for sale.
We were very impressed with the serenity and lovely place. Go in good weather. Needs public bathrooms as you're there longer. The closest perhaps is at a restuarant closeby.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Angell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Tx
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Shidoni: Santa Fe Treasure for Art Lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Shidoni Foundry is located just a few miles (and about 15 minute drive) north of the Santa Fe town square in the small town of Tesuque on the Bishop Lodge road. It is located on about 10 acres and includes two indoor sculpture galleries, a couple of acres with outdoor sulptures, a glass gallery with onsite glass blowing facility, and the foundry where bronze sculptures are made from start to finish--Said to be the premier sculpture foundry of the Southwest, it is a must see if you love art and have any interest in scupture. It is fascinating to see the whole sculpture making process in one location. If you go on Saturday, you can take a guided tour of the foundry AND see them doing the molten bronze pours (done every Sat afternoon)--all for the outrageous price of....$2!! Definitely worth a visit.
If you want to see even more sculpture you can drive up the Bishop Lodge road north about 1/4 mile past Shodoni and turn left going past the past the Tesuque Market (a great lunch spot) to the Glenn Green Gallery--a private gallery located on a 10+ acre estate with sculptures large and small installed all over an incredibly scenic property.
If you are in Santa Fe for art, or just looking for an interesting outing away from the town, you will not be disappointed.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TexTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
131 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing place to visit...if only for a little while”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

I visited on Saturday afternoon, July 31, 2010. This isn’t necessarily a long visit, but it’s a good one. They have a number of interesting sculptures outdoors, a couple nice galleries (the official gallery and one at the foundry) and the possibility of watching a bronze pour on Saturdays, which costs $2. When I arrived, a pour was just starting and I was able to get in and view it. Interesting and worth seeing once. Glad I caught it. While I only spent around 30 minutes here, it was definitely worthwhile.

Keith

Visited July 2010
Helpful?
Thank KthSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing experience to see the 'pouring'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

Based on a few reviews and a description in a guidebook, we planned our trip to Shidoni on a day that we could view what they call a "pouring." The foundry is located north of Santa Fe along a beautiful drive up Bishop Lodge Road, about 20 - 30 minutes. Once there, you can wander around the sculpture gardens (there are three different areas), look in the gallery. The pouring was the real highlight, though, making the excursion totally worthwhile (I think kids would enjoy it as well). Another review described it well -- the sound, the molten bronze, the men in silver protective gear working with liquid metal, all the equipment -- it was fascinating! They typically only do pourings on Saturday and you can call ahead to find out the exact times. Without the pouring, I'm not sure that it would be worth going up there unless you are interested in sculptures -- there are beautiful ones to see.

Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shidoni Foundry and Galleries also viewed

 

Been to Shidoni Foundry and Galleries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing