We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Don Fernando de Taos
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I travel to Taos often for work. I stay at the Don Fernando whose lobby is a wonderful mix of Spanish and American Indian treasures. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Also I found the pool great and the staff were great. They are always happy to help. I enjoy the breakfast in the morning as well as the beer and wine bar in the evening. I have always enjoyed my stay there.

Karen D

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 198 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

The rooms are spread out in several buildings on the beautiful grounds. Our room was quiet and clean, bed comfortable. The hot tub and pool were nice. But there was some peeling wallpaper on the walls. Breakfast was a joke; we got there and had to ask for napkins, forks. Never did get a knife to spread jelly on my toast. The eggs were passable for scrambled eggs. This place has a lot of potential.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLover1977_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I rely on Tripadvisor a lot and this is the only time it led me astray. The reviews seemed very good and I chose it because it had a pool and a hot tub. The hotel room drains did not drain in the sink or in the shower, the pool was a disgusting green and the hot tub had stuff growing on the sides. When I told the front desk of these issues and others I was informed that they had just taken the property back from a management company and were working on correcting the problems. There was no apology and no credit. It would seem to me that since the reviews used to be good and now they are not that it is not the previous managements problem but the current one, do not stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 505Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Hotel Don Fernando was a nice hotel for the price. We paid about $60 per night and that's a good price for a hotel in Taos. The room was clean although not up to date. Breakfast was included but was a simple continental breakfast. What I liked was the indoor pool and hot tub. The staff was friendly. It wasn't in downtown Taos but was only about a 10 minute drive to downtown. At the time we stayed, we got $10 off with a player's card from the Casino on the room. All in all, it was a good bargain.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Solange1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Do not stay here! The staff was so rude & offensive that it's hard to believe they're still in business! The breakfast was burnt, spoiled & disgusting. The plates had food all over them & when we asked for plates that were clean they told us we should have stayed at home. Our young children were present & witnessed this treatment. The windows in our room did not close or fit the opening properly. It rained all night & we had a wet room. The bed had bed bugs - which we didn't find until the morning. How disgusting to know we slept in that bed! The pool was so dark that you couldn't see your feet or the bottom of the pool. The front desk staff was so rude when we asked for extra towels & wash clothes. She huffed & said she'd have to go to housekeeping to get them. Less than 1 minute later she came back with them & she acted as if she had to go to the ends of the earth to get them.
DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This was our third time staying here to go skiing during new years/Christmas vacation. Swimming pool is not out of this world but big and good enough if you have little ones, last time we stayed they were fixing the Jacuzzi (big minus point, as per my wife) rooms are just that, nothing special but they have been cleaned every time, the lobby area is nice, we have never eaten in the restaurant, they offer a nice complementary breakfast with warm food, a bit repetitive and no fruits. But most definitely better than many other hotels like this one. WIFI in the rooms that we stayed was not good but we were kind of far away from the main building,but we really do not care.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Although the lobby is very attractive, I watched a roach crawl across the floor. Our room was like an oven when we arrived. The living room section had a fireplace, sofa, desk and arm chair, but the sofa's upholstery was covered with blotches of something, I won' guess what. Wallpaper was dirty and peeling in several places. The air conditioner in the living room barely pushed any cool air. The one in the bedroom did nothing to cool, even a little. We asked if they had a room with working air conditioners, and were told, "It's an old building. Sometimes it takes hours to cool down. Later, I asked again and they took me to another room nearby, but that room also had no working AC. They said they would see if they could find a room with AC that worked. After about 15 minutes or so, I guess they finally found one. We moved to it, hoping maybe it would have cleaner conditions, but that sofa looked like the first one. Additionally outdoor hallways were covered in piles of bird droppings. Apparently management doesn't care about cleanliness or functionality. It's a shame, because the property is in a great location, has beautiful treed grounds and could be very impressive! What a sad waste.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ww13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.7 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.3 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
389 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#4 of 15 in Taos
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Fernando de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Fernando de Taos

Address: 1005 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5969
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $85 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Fernando de Taos 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Don Fernando will be temporarily closed for business until further notice. We will post updates here and on our Facebook account. Sorry for any inconvenience and we look forward to re-opening soon. Bargain affordable Taos hotels, 1.5 mi south of plaza on Rt 68, the main street, free breakfast, indoor pool, long term stay, 1 and 2 bedroom suites, fireplaces, plus Stray Catt II Restaurant casual dining - traditional Northern New Mexican plus American favorites.Don Fernando Taos Hotel - sitting on the Camino Real - Route #68, 1.5 miles from the heart of town - the plaza,Now under new management:- with indoor swimming pool- free hotel breakfast- extended stay accommodation- pets welcome - lots of green space for walking- hotel layout is that of small versions of the Taos Pueblo "look" - set in grass courtyards and under trees.- 112 rooms, many with sleeper sofas or two twins, arranged in six courtyard like pavillions- Plus 12 suites with fireplaces - one and two bedrooms plus sleeper sofa - superior for a family get-away- 2 large boardrooms- restaurant space for catering functions- all rooms are in "pods" of 22 rooms - built to look like the Taos Pueblo- built around a small pueblo-like courtyard- Two floors onlyHeated Pool All Year Round at our Taos Hotel. We are the only Taos Hotel with an indoor pool all year round. It is a standard oblong pool but we do have blow-up toys, wading pool, water games and a family resort feel. Our pool is open year-round, heated, and under glass. As the one indoor pool at a Taos hotel, we see many of our guests with families taking a break here in Taos, taking advantage of our affordable one and two bedroom suites with fireplaces and, then, after a day of exploring mountains and gorges, spending the evening at the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Don Fernando de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Fernando De Taos
Don Fernando De Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing