We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Don Fernando de Taos
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Pueblo, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HORRIBLE”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This was the worst experience I've ever encountered while staying out of town. My room was filthy, carpet was dirty and shower was dirty, as well as lampshade. To top it off I ended up with scabies due to filthy sheets. I was seen by a dr. that had to prescribe me medication. I ended up losing out on 3 days of work due to this cause that caused me to break out with shingles due to the stress. I will never stay there again and if I had a lawyer handy i would seek compensation!

Room Tip: Please don't stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hernandez0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle0919, General Manager at Hotel Don Fernando de Taos, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write TripAdvisor of your recent visit to the Hotel Don Fernando de Taos.

Needless to say, we were dismayed to learn of the problems you encountered during your stay.
We appreciate your bringing these issues to our attention, as it is the only way that we can correct and improve. We contract with a highly recommended service for our pest control, and notified them immediately. We did not receive any confirmation that there was any sign of scabies in our rooms.
We highly value your trust and patronage, and would like an opportunity to regain both.
If you would contact me directly, I would like to send you a gift certificate for a complimentary night stay, in one of our suites, should you get back to Taos.

Thank you once again for taking time to write, and we look forward to an early opportunity of showing you we are capable of better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    38
    38
    42
    55
See reviews for
68
63
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is one of the better hotels I have been at. What stays in my mind about this visit the most was the front desk service. These people go above and beyond what one would expect. I had a problem with my remote in the evening and the lady at the front desk went out of her way to try to fix the problem by finding other remotes. She eventually insisted on changing out the whole TV. She said she wanted to make absolutely sure everyone in our group was comfortable. And she was joyful about the whole thing. The price was a total bargain. I thought other places in Taos were good until I found this gem. There is a bar located in the lobby so if you want to relax and not worry about driving anywhere and have a drink then it is perfect.
Each and every time I go to Taos, I am staying here. Hands down this is a diamond in the rough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Don Fernando (mostly) because of the good rates. We had stayed here several years ago, too. However, we'll look elsewhere on our next trip through Taos. The furniture was worn and torn. The bathroom looked like it hadn't had a good cleaning in quite awhile and (the worst) I was getting into bed one night and spotted a bug/insect of some kind crawling up the wall right next to the bed. (Ugggg.) So, while the free breakfast and lower rates are a plus, I think we'll opt for a newer/better maintained facility.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarakay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle0919, General Manager at Hotel Don Fernando de Taos, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write TripAdvisor of your recent visit to the Hotel Don Fernando de Taos.

Needless to say, we were dismayed to learn of the problems you encountered during your stay.
We appreciate your bringing these issues to our attention, as it is the only way that we can correct and improve. We highly value your trust and patronage, and would like an opportunity to regain both.

Thank you once again for taking time to write, and we look forward to an early opportunity of showing you we are capable of better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

For the price this place cannot be beat. Sure, the plumbing was a bit noisy, and the rooms a bit dated, but they were clean and comfortable. Also, they were pet friendly. Our room was a suite with fridge, microwave, & fireplace. For the price, we got everything we needed and more. The complimentary breakfast was good (excluding the hashbrowns which were... off.) and the staff was very friendly. Would I stay here again next time I visit Taos? Absolutely.

Room Tip: An upstairs room might have less plumbing noise. Our room was a bit noisy whenever the upstairs neig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NissanDragger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Yes, its relatively old, but very inexpensive, and pleasant, it feels good. Rooms are quiet, large, very comfortable, clean, and spread out over large area in small buildings. The lobby and bar area is grand and very charming, its a great place to hang out, it has a nice big fireplace in the middle of the area. Great ambiance. Also has a pool table. The restaurant adjacent is large and very well appointed. Staff was excellent, and the free breakfast was outstanding. I can't wait to go back there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle0919, General Manager at Hotel Don Fernando de Taos, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Jake M,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback of your recent visit to the Hotel Don Fernando de Taos. We look forward to your return visit, and hope you can stay longer.

Sincerely,

Ed Shelton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Everything about the Don Fernando said, "this used to be a top of the line place". But, no longer, as it seems it's fallen upon hard times. The staff was very nice, the cook-to-order breakfast was tasty, the 'bones' of the place showed something that was once upscale. Beautiful tile floors in the lobby, attractive art on the walls of the main bldg, an indoor pool w/ hot tub, lovely grounds among the several detached room-complexes. Unfortunately, the stairs to our second floor room were in terrible condition, big chunks of concrete falling off some, very dangerous. The room seemed not to have been used in a while. Dusty, stained carpet, spills on the sofa upholstery, dust and dirt behind the bathroom door, explosed plumbing under the sink--drywall had been cut away & not replaced or covered in some way. Times are tough, understandably, but it seems some of these issues could be resolved at not great costs to make the hotel more inviting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gergiebru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle0919, General Manager at Hotel Don Fernando de Taos, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post feedback of your recent visit to the Hotel Don Fernando de Taos.

Needless to say, we were dismayed to learn of the problems you encountered in your room during your stay. There is no excuse for anyone to have this type of conditions in our guest rooms.

Gergiebru, we appreciate your bringing these issues to our attention, as it is the only way that we can correct and improve. We highly value your trust and patronage, and would like an opportunity to regain both. If you travel to Taos occasionally, I would appreciate your calling me directly and allowing me to personally assist in your next stay.

Thank you once again for taking time to write, and we look forward to an early opportunity of showing you we are capable of better.

Sincerely,


Ed Shelton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

A little farther from town/plaza but good price, clean, fun bar & bartender. Free breakfast was good, came with the price of the room. We asked for an extra blanket and staff was very accommodating and pleasant. Happy Hour was good came with free snacks. Bartender was a neat gal, made everyone feel at home. We would stay again. Pool was huge altho we didn't make it for swimming.

Room Tip: Ask for one not by parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverRazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.7 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.3 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
259 reviews
1.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,174 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Fernando de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Fernando de Taos

Property: Hotel Don Fernando de Taos
Address: 1005 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5969
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Fernando de Taos 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Don Fernando will be temporarily closed for business until further notice. We will post updates here and on our Facebook account. Sorry for any inconvenience and we look forward to re-opening soon. Bargain affordable Taos hotels, 1.5 mi south of plaza on Rt 68, the main street, free breakfast, indoor pool, long term stay, 1 and 2 bedroom suites, fireplaces, plus Stray Catt II Restaurant casual dining - traditional Northern New Mexican plus American favorites.Don Fernando Taos Hotel - sitting on the Camino Real - Route #68, 1.5 miles from the heart of town - the plaza,Now under new management:- with indoor swimming pool- free hotel breakfast- extended stay accommodation- pets welcome - lots of green space for walking- hotel layout is that of small versions of the Taos Pueblo "look" - set in grass courtyards and under trees.- 112 rooms, many with sleeper sofas or two twins, arranged in six courtyard like pavillions- Plus 12 suites with fireplaces - one and two bedrooms plus sleeper sofa - superior for a family get-away- 2 large boardrooms- restaurant space for catering functions- all rooms are in "pods" of 22 rooms - built to look like the Taos Pueblo- built around a small pueblo-like courtyard- Two floors onlyHeated Pool All Year Round at our Taos Hotel. We are the only Taos Hotel with an indoor pool all year round. It is a standard oblong pool but we do have blow-up toys, wading pool, water games and a family resort feel. Our pool is open year-round, heated, and under glass. As the one indoor pool at a Taos hotel, we see many of our guests with families taking a break here in Taos, taking advantage of our affordable one and two bedroom suites with fireplaces and, then, after a day of exploring mountains and gorges, spending the evening at the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Don Fernando de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Fernando De Taos
Don Fernando De Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing