We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business travel hotel.”
Review of Hampton Inn Taos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Taos
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good business travel hotel.”
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Stayed at this hotel several times on business trips. It's a nice respite from the chronic "folksiness" of Taos.

Typical to the Hampton chain with all the familiar ammenities. Good location just outside of town. Most of the leisure travellers are at the downtown hotels so you actually get some peace and quiet and can get some work done.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank us2travellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    190
    103
    73
    45
See reviews for
196
211
33
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
findingmyamerica.com
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

The Hampton Inn was one of my favorite stops in PA and MI during my year long road trip. I loved the beds and down comforters, the dark furniture, and overall relaxing ambience.

This was not one of those kinds of Hampton Inns.

Utilitarian in nature, the room was clean but not well-decorated or very comfortable. The bedding looked like it belonged in a more budget-type of motel and the furniture was blonde and laminated.

On the plus side, the room was clean, as I stated, and the staff was friendly. The hotel is quiet and the grounds are well-maintained. Coffee and popcorn is available 24/7 in the lobby, and while I didn't eat the breakfast, it looked like a decent, if standard, spread.

I would recommend this Hampton to families and travelers who aren't looking for anything truly special, but just a place to rest.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I usually like Hampton Inns and find them to be a good, reliable value, and when we first checked into this one I was pleased with the the cleanliness of the public areas despite the semi-friendly check-in clerk and the tiny, overcrowded room. Unfortunately we left immediately for dinner, turning the AC on as we left the hot room, and when we came back from dinner it became clear that the AC in the room was simply broken (unclear how long it had been broken or when/if the staff check it regularly to make sure it works). The air in the room was stuffy and hot, and the ground floor window had no screen. There is no way we could have slept in there comfortably that night, even if we had chosen to sleep with a screenless open window on the ground floor, much less used the hot jacuzzi tub that came with the room. The clerk claimed there were no other rooms to move to and offered no solution. After we complained and said we were leaving, her solution then was to call and say that the maintenance man "offered to send up a fan to help cool the room." When we expressed reluctance to sleep on the ground floor with an open window with no screen, as any hoodlum could climb in, she frostily stated "there are no hoodlums here." We advised her we would not pay $170 per night for a hot room without AC, and we left for the Super8 down the road, much cheaper, more spacious (king "suite" room) and with functional AC. To her credit, after the clerk knew we were leaving and we'd advised her we would complain to Hampton Inn customer service regarding the poor maintenance, she reversed charges on the room. I'm not sure if maintenance issues are a general northern New Mexico problem, or if this was an unusual problem for this Hampton and they are usually terrific.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skeptic54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taos hotels

Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

I stayed here for a night on a skiing trip to Taos in February 2010 and while it is pretty much your standard Hampton Inn, I thought it was very good value for Taos. It's certainly not right in the heart of Taos, but it's only a 5 - 10 minute drive to the center of town. Also, the staff were very friendly and helpful while I was there and the rooms were very clean, so I would certainly recommend this hotel for someone looking to stay in Taos on a budget and who doesn't necessarily have to stay very near the plaza.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoneNixNada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

they have a theft problem or terrible bookkeeping. Stayed one night june 30, 2010 on business, couldnt take cash at night so had to use my personal credit card to hold room. checked out the next morning, july 1, 2010 pd cash $160 received $2.89 cash back and a machine printed receipt saying cash paid, then I left
checked my card statement on July 3 and say a charge for $157.16 from Hampton Inn, Taos NM called manager Rita told her about it she read me something that said "Cash paid, Cash refunded, Card charged". I let her know that was false and she said she would have to review the tapes and let me know what happened.
Well it has been over a month, nothing has been done. Now the Better Business Bureau, the Attorney General's Office and the Credit card company are involved....What a shame, all Hampton Inn had to do was refund my money back to my card....Now they have alot of explaining to do. I will get my money back, but what a cost to them.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Djfoster6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

This was an average Hampton Inn, but the management and service were POOR.
I booked a non-smoking, King. I was given room #100. This room is IN THE HOTEL LOBBY, five feet from the check in desk. I asked for a different room, but was told they were completely booked. The lobby flooring, (ceramic tile) extended right to the door of my room, and channelled every sound right under the door.
I had to put up with the noise of guests in the lobby TV area, chatting and laughing until 2:00 AM. I was woken up at 5:30 AM by several loud patrons, who were talking, and telling jokes for 45 minutes. The desk clerk couldn't ask them to quiet down because they were IN THE LOBBY. When checking out I spoke to "Raymond" who told me he was the owner of the hotel.
I complained vigorously about the room and it's location. Raymond told me that the room was designed to be a meeting room, but the contractor goofed and built it as a guest room.
He conceded that it was their "worst room." I told him I was very unhappy with the situation and that the room should not be rented as a guest room. I also said I was unhappy about paying retail rates for such substandard lodging. Raymond offered no concession, or rate reduction of any kind. He simply smiled and said "hope you'll visit again." Clueless!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I won 2 free nights at another motel in Taos. After one "free" miserable night, we moved to the Hampton. The room was very clean and the bed was soft and comfortable. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. Very nice experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aspenglade22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
3.0 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,167 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Taos

Property: Hampton Inn Taos
Address: 1515 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Taos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of town, Hampton Inn Taos offers cozy, quiet comfort complete with a full hot breakfast, complimentary wi-fi, indoor pool and hot tub, and friendly, helpful staff to welcome you to Taos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Taos
Taos Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing