We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service in an Average Hotel”
Review of Hampton Inn Taos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Taos
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Service in an Average Hotel”
Reviewed October 18, 2008

The only thing that moves this hotel from average to above average is the staff service and attitude, which were outstanding. Otherwise, most other aspects of the hotel are pretty average. Location is good, on the edge of town. The room and bathroom were moderately clean. The lighting in the bathroom was dim, but the mirror was a nice full-wall thing. The commons area was small and cramped, and the complimentary breakfast was only Fair, which seems to be par for Hampton's breakfasts. As I said, however, the staff was very helpful and pleasant, and that goes a long way in affecting our ratings.

  • Liked — Staff Service and Friendliness
  • Disliked — Poor lighting in bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RouteRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    186
    99
    72
    44
See reviews for
190
205
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Excellent location - a short drive from downtown Taos. We stayed for 3 nights. Room was clean. The beds were extremely comfortable. The front desk staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Breakfast was available in the morning - Chips/Salsa and cookies served in the afternoon. I would recommend this location and would definitely stay there again. They had a nice workout room, but we didn't get the chance to use it.

  • Liked — Convenient location, friendly staff,
  • Disliked — Its on a busy road.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

As my wife and I were driving towards Taos we decided to call ahead and ask for the going rates at several hotels. The staff member on the phone was incredibly rude and abrupt and actually hang up on me part way through me asking a question. Apparently the "yes we have a vacancy" and "its $130 a night" was all the information I was allowed. We showed up anyway once we got into Taos as usually my AAA membership and having a decent chat with the late night hotel front desk manager gets you a better rate as its unlikely anyone else will be showing up at midnight.....

However, once I walked in and enquired about the rate, the lady behind the desk went from curt to just plain rude. I was quoted the same rate again (no issue there as I was just checking the options) however as I enquired if they had anything cheaper I was informed that "WE DON'T DO CHEAP" and was laughed at!

I decided that keeping my cool was better than anything else and left after informing the woman that as a Hilton Honours Platinum member I was well aware of the rates having stayed at dozens of different properties and for a vacant friday night with to parking lot empty I was surprised that she didn't have the sense to lower off the top rack rate.

Anyway - we booked into the confort suites just opposite for nearly half the price, got a full suite and had a great stay thanks to the front desk manager there.

Can't comment on the accomodation, but as always - don't expect it to be any better than the staff!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taos hotels

tucson az
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

This hotel needs serious cleaning up, starting with the filthy carpets throughout the hallways and a bit less dirty in our room.

The towels were thin and required at least 2 towels to dry ones-self after showering, with the thin half bar of soap. The soap was of the thin type offered in low end or economy motels, and half the width of a normal bar of soap.

We would suggest staying away from this Hampton Inn at any price and note their rates are not inexpensive.

  • Liked — Breakfast was fine
  • Disliked — room lighting poor, old bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank luckytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2008

After reading some of the horror stories of B&Bs and historical district hotels, my wife and I decided to make reservations at the Hampton Inn and stay there during our trip to Taos. Well, we got there just before 3pm and were told that our room was not ready yet but were assured that they were working on it and it would be done soon. Over the next hour my wife and I got to watch guest after guest (who did not have reservations) check in and go directly to their rooms while we were told repeatedly that our rooms were almost ready.

Finally, after waiting for over an hour the lady working the front desk told us our room was ready. When we told her this was not room we were promised she replied that "Well, you wanted a room that was ready". She then had the balls to explain the 100% satisfaction guarantee. How can anyone be 100% satisfied if they had to wait an hour for their room?

Also while waiting we got to hear the lady working the front desk bad mouth us to other guest who were checking in.

Instead of getting our quiet room we got the one next to the stairs and overlooking the parking lot. Also, while we had reserved a non-smoking room, the room next to us was not non-smoking and we got to breathe their smoke all night long.

My suggestion, don't stay here. Take a chance at another hotel rather than become a victim of this one.

  • Liked — Coffee was good
  • Disliked — Staff was rude, hotel was smoky, and too far downtown
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MerlinGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
247 reviews
244 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2008

This was the second hotel we stayed at during our long weekend in New Mexico. The hotel is south of the main strip but very convenient for the highway back out toward Santa Fe. The rooms were clean and comfortable and a decent price considering the other properties we looked at in the area. Very dependable for a Hampton. The workout facility was decent as well. The breakfast buffet was the same Hampton fare as everywhere else - ok but nothing special.

  • Liked — convenience with car
  • Disliked — not within walking distance to anything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DAL504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2008

In terms of affordable hotels in the area (around $115 per night), this is probably the best bet for Taos. I've stayed at several, and for the price, this hotel offers the cleanest, best rooms for the money.

Check in took a bit longer than at most Hampton Inns. Only one staff member was working the front desk. When I arrived, one other guest was checking in. I waited at least 10 minutes for that transaction to take place. My check in took less than 5 minutes.

The room was fine. It was the most dated Hampton Inn I've stayed at in the past five years, but it was fine. The bed was new--and very nice--but the room furniture and bathroom decor were in need of the update that most Hamptons have undergone in recent years.

Walls are very thin at this property. I was concerned after unpacking--I could hear every word spewing from my neighbor's tv. Within 30 minutes, however, the neighbor turned the tv off. At that point, it was relatively quiet.

The lobby offers free computer/internet service. Breakfast was typical of most Hamptons--satisfying and above standard.

The Hampton Inn is located on the western/southern outskirts of Taos. If you want to be near the plaza and walking distance to the small shops around the plaza, this isn't the location for you. But, if like most people, you have a car, this will do just fine. The plaza and local restaurants are only a short drive away.

If you don't want to spend the money to stay at La Fonda or El Monte Sagrado, the Hampton Inn is a good bet.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Muriel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
361 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
3.5 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Taos

Property: Hampton Inn Taos
Address: 1515 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Taos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of town, Hampton Inn Taos offers cozy, quiet comfort complete with a full hot breakfast, complimentary wi-fi, indoor pool and hot tub, and friendly, helpful staff to welcome you to Taos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Taos
Taos Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing